Cozy White Chicken Chili

Hope you all had a wonderful weekend!!  I don’t know about you, but if I don’t see another cookie for a while, that’ll be just fine with me!  I think I overdid it on the sweets this Christmas.  I finally decided to freeze most of our cookie collection, so that we can have a treat on a rainy day.  Speaking of rainy days, we’ve been having a LOT of rain here in Hawaii recently.  I love it.  The days and nights have been quite cool for us…it’s amazing how your body adjusts to the temperatures wherever you are.  We have been dipping into the 60s at night (don’t laugh!) and I’ve been wearing my sweatpants and craving warm, comforting meals like this creamy white chicken chili and cornbread.

white chicken chiliThis chili is so perfect for a wintry evening.  It’s got just the right amount of creaminess and spiciness to make you feel all warm and cozy inside!  I think this will be my new go-to chili recipe!

First, saute your chicken and onion in a little olive oil, until just brown.  Add garlic and cook for just a couple minutes.  Then, add in your white beans, cumin, oregano, cayenne, salt, green chiles, and chicken broth.

creamy white chicken chiliThen you simply let this mixture simmer and simmer away, until the flavors are really well developed.  The original recipe says 30 minutes, but I had extra time, so I let it simmer for over an hour.  Take your pot off the heat, and add in your half and half…this is what makes the chili so creamy and comforting!  The original recipe also calls for sour cream to be added in with the half and half at the end, but my husband doesn’t like the taste of sour cream, so I just omitted it.  We didn’t miss it at all!

creamy white bean chicken chiliMake this and you will be so delighted by the balance of creaminess and spiciness.  It’s comfort in a bowl 🙂

creamy white bean chicken chiliWhite Chicken Chili

slightly adapted from Eat, Live, Run

1 lb chicken breast, cubed

1 onion, diced

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 tsp olive oil

2 cans cannellini beans

2 cans green chiles (4 oz each)

14.5 oz chicken broth

1 tsp salt

1 tsp oregano

1 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp cayenne (I would cut this in half or less if you don’t like it spicy)

1/2 cup half and half

Saute chicken breast and onion in olive oil until just brown.  Add in garlic cloves and cook for 2 minutes.  Add in beans, chiles, chicken broth, salt, oregano, cumin, and cayenne.  Stir to combine and allow the mixture to come to boil, then turn down to a simmer.  Simmer uncovered for at least 30 minutes (I simmered it for over an hour).  Take the pot off the heat and add in the half and half.  Serve immediately with your favorite side (ours is cornbread!)

What’s your favorite wintry comfort food?

What is the weather like in your neck of the woods?

22 thoughts on “Cozy White Chicken Chili

  1. 1 degree C is the max here today bbrrrrr. All I’m craving is thick socks, huddling under ny goosedown comforter with a bottomless mug of milo. Instead I’m making an inventory of my kitchen for insurance for shipping it around the world. Eek

    • Oh wow, I’ll be sending you warm thoughts 🙂 I’m ignorant, but what is milo? Huddling in bed and reading a book is one of my favorite past times…haven’t had as many opportunities to do that post-kids!

      Where are you moving to???

      • Hi there,
        We are emigrating to New Zealand! Packing is getting stressful, hence the limited blogging recently.
        Milo is sort of like a hot malted hot chocolate drink. It is amazing!
        I also miss huddling in bed with a good book. One day they will be teenagers and we will get the chance again 😉
        x

      • Whoa, that’s amazing!! I hear you…packing is the worst! Hope it gets easier or you can recruit help 🙂 One of our dreams is to travel to New Zealand! It has moved up in priority since we moved to Hawaii, since flights are a bit more reasonable!

        Haha, yes, but once they are teenagers, we will be reminiscing about them as innocent toddlers and infants!

      • NZ is gorgeous, you should do it! We nearly opted to fly to NZ via Hawaii, but have opted for Singapore instead. Scary how flying around west or east is basically the same amount of time, we literally are moving to the opposite side of the world.

  2. Looks so great! My kids would say mac and cheese is their favorite comfort food, but I’m not a fan of it. I’d go for pizza any minute of any day.

    I can’t even imagine what winter is like in Hawaii! It’s freezing here in Chicago, but there still isn’t any snow. For my family that’s a supreme bummer — no sledding, no snowball fights, no snowboarding. (I’m okay with it because it means no shoveling, but don’t tell anyone!).

    • I remember those Chicago winters, brutal! I love snow when it’s freshly fallen, but after it starts melting a bit and getting dirty, then I could live without it 🙂 Hope you get just enough for your family to have some fun!

  3. MMMMmmm, this is exactly the food I crave during this season. I hear you on the cookies! I just baked some chocolate chip cookies with O and I I just keep eating them! So good, but so bad. I feel sick to my stomach. Also, what a beautiful bowl that you have your chili in! 🙂 Hope you guys are enjoying your winter together.

    • Yes, it’s so hard to not eat them when they are sitting out on the counter!! Those bowls are Japanese ones that a friend gave to me, the set comes in five different colors (all with the same pattern).

      How are you holding up with the cold weather? The girls always look so nice and bundled up and cozy in their stroller 🙂

  4. Mmmm…I can go for a big bowl of this chili right now. The temp has been in the 30s and 40s lately, and I am feeling quite miserable. Brr… Thank goodness our heater finally got fixed today! Hallelujah!! We were without it for almost a week and a half! That’s what we get for going the economical way.

    Tim and I aren’t big fans of sour cream either. I honestly don’t think it adds anything to the dish. When I think of chili, I think tomato based so this sounds like a great alternative. I’m def going to make this soon! The cornbread looks perfect too. I hope you’re having a wonderful week, Maura. Thinking of you…

    • Yay for a working heater!!! Oh, I’m so glad you’ll be warm tonight 🙂 Wish I could drop off some of this chili and cornbread!

      When we lived in Philadelphia, we owned a house that was four stories high. The bottom floor was freezing during the winter (always in the 40s), and so we hung out on the fourth floor. Then, in the summer, the fourth floor was unbearably hot, so we hung out on the first floor! It was kind of a crazy arrangement, but for an old house, it served us well 🙂

      It’s been a good week. I started my job on Saturday, and it went well! Malia also started preschool, and that’s been a bit of a hard transition, but I’m hoping she’ll get used to it soon!

Leave a Reply

