Perfect Holiday Appetizer – Stuffed Mushrooms

We had a cookie exchange with a very special group of ladies this past weekend!  We each brought our cookie plus a “pupu”, the Hawaiian way for saying appetizer 🙂   I went to Annie’s Eats for inspiration, as I always love her recipes!  This one did not disappoint.  I’ve always loved eating stuffed mushrooms, but never knew they were so easy to make!  I made them a bit healthier by reducing the oil, and using 1/3 less fat cream cheese, and they were still absolutely delicious.  Garlicky and creamy, with a kick from the cayenne pepper…I could have eaten a dozen.  In the recipe, I actually halved the normal amount of cayenne pepper, as my husband said they were really spicy, but if you like the heat, feel free to double that amount!  I will be making these again for our Christmas Day meal!  {this picture is pre-baking, as I didn’t think to snap a picture at the party!}

healthy stuffed mushrooms

Stuffed Mushrooms

Adapted from Annie’s Eats

2 packages fresh button mushrooms

4 garlic cloves, minced

1 tsp olive oil

8 oz. cream cheese, 1/3 less fat, softened

¼ cup grated Parmesan cheese

¼ tsp. pepper

¼ tsp. onion powder

1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper

Bread crumbs and minced parsley (optional)

Preheat the oven to 350° F.

IMG_7021

Clean the mushrooms using a damp paper towel.  Do not submerge in water, as they will get too soggy.  Remove the stems from the mushroom cap, and place in a food processor or high powered blender (I used my Ninja blender).  Pulse the mushroom stems with the garlic cloves until they are very finely chopped.

IMG_7022In a pan, heat the oil over medium heat.  Add the mushroom and garlic mixture and cook until all the moisture is gone, about 5-7 minutes.  Lower the heat to medium-low and stir in the cream cheese, parmesan cheese and spices.  Stir until it is smooth and remove from the heat.

stuffed mushroom fillingPlace the mushroom caps on a greased baking sheet.  Fill with the cream cheese mixture.  Top with bread crumbs if using (I did half and half and didn’t notice much of a difference).  Bake at 350 for 20 minutes, or until just golden.  Garnish with parsley if desired, and serve immediately.

healthy stuffed mushrooms

What are you making for the holidays?

What are you especially looking forward to this holiday season?

27 thoughts on “Perfect Holiday Appetizer – Stuffed Mushrooms

  1. Stuffed mushrooms are my favorite appetizer ever. I don’t think I have ever tried one I don’t like! Good choice!!

    • Wow, I didn’t even know there was such a thing as a mushroom brush! First, revolving tree stands, now mushroom brushes…you’re teaching me a lot today 😉

      And yes, that sauce was SO good, I sauteed some caprese chicken sausage and then added in the filling, some crushed tomatoes, and the gnocchi! I’m going to make the filling by itself very soon, just to have that sauce 🙂

      • Ha! Never thought I’D be the gadget-girl, but that’s what happens when you marry a man who thinks there’s a gizmo for every situation. Seriously though — don’t waste your money on the mushroom brush. Buy good chocolate chips instead! 🙂

        Wow — that sauce sounds absolutely killer. You’ve got a gift for putting ingredients together to make a whole new delicious dish. That’s impressive.

  2. Pingback: Friday Things |

  3. Pingback: Our First Ugly Sweater Christmas Party |

Leave a Reply

