Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

I’ve been wanting to try this recipe FOREVER!  I’m not sure why it’s taken me so long to try it, but it was worth the wait.  I grew up eating crispy cookies (because that’s what my mom liked), but when I married Patrick, I realized that I would have to learn some chewy cookie recipes, as those are his favorite. What’s my favorite?  I’m definitely a flavor over texture kind of girl.  If a crispy cookie has amazing flavor, I’ll love it….same with a chewy cookie…I guess I’m a non-discriminating cookie lover 🙂

chewy chocolate chip cookiesThis recipe is from Cooks Illustrated.  They extensively research and taste-test their recipes, so you know it’s going to be good!  I love that this recipe uses melted butter, as I’m always forgetting to set the butter out to soften.  This way, you can just take the butter out of the fridge or freezer, pop it in the microwave, and you’re ready to bake cookies at a moment’s notice!  These cookies come out slightly crispy on the edges and perfectly chewy on the inside!  A great one to add to your Christmas cookie list…everyone appreciates a good chocolate chip cookie!

chewy chocolate chip cookies, cooks illustratedMix the melted butter with the brown and white sugars.  Then mix in the eggs, egg yolk, and vanilla extract.  I had a very eager 2 year old who wanted to crack eggs…I was a bit nervous that this was going to end badly, but she did a great job!

malia cracking eggsSlowly incorporate the flour and baking soda into the wet ingredients, and stir just until combined.

cookie doughThen add in your chocolate chips.  You could do whatever kind of chocolate candy you like in here, red and green M&M’s would be perfect for Christmas!  I let my dough sit in the fridge for a bit before rolling into balls.

IMG_6990Now here’s the Cooks Illustrated trick.  When you roll your dough balls, you split them in half.

Then, stick them together again so the rough edges are facing up.  This technique that allows the cookie to get extra chewy in the center!

IMG_6993Bake at 325 for 8-12 minutes, or until just golden on the outside and soft on the inside.  Allow to cool and devour!

Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

from Cooks Illustrated

Makes 24 medium sized cookies

1 1/2 sticks butter, melted

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 egg

1 egg yolk

2 tsp vanilla extract

2 cups + 2 T all purpose flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 cup chocolate chips

Mix together melted butter, brown sugar, and granulated sugar until combined.  Add in egg, egg yolk, and vanilla extract.  Mix until light brown in color.  In a separate bowl, mix flour and baking soda.  Add the dry ingredients slowly to the wet ingredients until the dough comes together and the ingredients are just combined.  Stir in the chocolate chips.  Roll dough into balls.  Break the balls in half and stick the two sides together so the rough edges are facing up.  Place on a greased baking sheet, leaving about 1-2 inches between cookies, as they will spread.  Bake at 325 F for 8-12 minutes, or until edges are just golden and inside is still quite soft.  Allow to cool completely.

Do you like chewy or crispy cookies, or are you an equal opportunity cookie lover like me? 🙂

What kind of cookies are you baking these holidays?

27 thoughts on “Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. I found this recipe a couple years ago. It’s awesome and the only one I use! I’m definite a soft and chewy cookie purist:)

  2. What an interesting tip! I’ve never heard of doing that before. Whether I make chocolate chip cookies or a different kind, I’m going to give it a try and see what happens. 🙂

  3. I hadn’t heard of that tip either! I’ll have to give it a try!

    You know me… I’m a cookie lover at heart. As long as it tastes good, I love it!

    • I totally agree – Cooks Illustrated always has the best recipes! I love reading through how they come up with and adapt recipes to make them the absolute best they can be. Hope you’re having a wonderful holiday season, Carol 🙂

  4. I love cookies. I love chocolate chop cookies. This recipe looks so yummy. I am sorry to say your photograph of your two year old is the highlight of this blog rather than the photographs of the cookies. What a precious memory you have recorded virtually! Thank you! ~ Thea

  5. I am completely not equal opportunity person – I am biased through and through, and all about textures. So glad you made these! A fave 🙂

  6. Chewy cookies all the way for me hehe. Malia looks really focused and determined hehe. Love her pink nails ;). I always forget to take out the butter from the fridge too. I try not to melt it in the microwave, but I like that it’s ok to do so with this recipe. Hope you’re having a wonderful week! It’s been pretty hectic for me. So much for resting now that school’s out haha. Love you!

    • Haha, yes she has her mouth open trying to concentrate so hard 🙂 And yes, she insists on painting her nails either pink or purple…I let her paint my toenails the other day, that was a bit messy! She was so proud of herself though 🙂

      I guess the week before Christmas is always hectic, huh? I hope it’s been filled with some fun activities and catching up with friends for you 🙂 Love you too!!

    • Aw, thanks Erika!! Yes, that’s my daughter, Malia 🙂 I baked up half the batch, and they were gone within a day! The other half of the dough went into the freezer, so that we could have chocolate chip cookies whenever the craving strikes…I love having dough in the freezer!

  7. I vote chewy definitely chewy cookies, every time =) Actually this was my go to recipe, but then I tried this one and I think i’m going to have to make the switch. The NY Times chocolate chip cookie recipe also competes with Cook’s Illustrated in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

