Christmas Sugar Cookies

We had an amazing time with family this past week!  A special treat was getting to see our nieces and nephew…Malia LOVED playing with her cousins.  I wish we lived closer to them, so the cousins could play together all the time!  Did you grow up spending time with your cousins?  My cousins are all 20-30 years older than I am, so I always thought of them as my aunts and uncles, rather than cousins!

Christmas sugar cookiesI thought it might be fun to cut out Christmas sugar cookies together, so I made a batch of dough, rolled it out, and let the kids cut out their own cookies and decorate with sprinkles.  They had SO much fun!  We even ran out of sprinkles, and had to ask their mom to run to the store for more 🙂

making sugar cookiesThis sugar cookie recipe was really easy!  I made the dough a day in advance, wrapped it in plastic wrap, and then let it warm up a bit before rolling it out.  The kids begged me to roll it out thicker, so they could have really FAT cookies, haha!  I have to agree that the thick cookies came out soft and warm from the oven, and were so delicious 🙂

IMG_6801Christmas Sugar Cookies

from Bon Appetit

Makes about 24 cookies

10 tablespoons (1 1/4 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 large egg

1 1/4 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 cups all purpose flour

Sprinkles or royal icing for decorating

Using a mixer, beat the butter for 2 minutes, or until smooth.  Add in sugar and salt, and beat for another 2 minutes, until light and fluffy.  Add egg, and beat for another minutes.  Scrape down the sides.  Add in vanilla extract and beat on low speed to incorporate.  Add flour and beat just until dough comes together.  Gather into a ball and divide the dough in half.  Form each half into a ball, and flatten to form a disk.  Wrap in plastic wrap and chill for at least 4 hours, or up to 2 days ahead in the refrigerator.

Preheat oven to 350 F.  Grease your cookie sheet or line with parchment paper.  Roll out dough to about 1/4 inch thick.  Cut out cookies with cookie cutters and transfer to sheet pan, about 1 inch apart.  Gather the scraps together and roll out again, repeating the process.  Decorate with sprinkles.  If using icing, bake the cookies first, then top with icing and sprinkles.  Bake for about 10-14 minutes, or until the edges are just golden.  I underbaked mine a bit, because I like softer cookies, and let them cool for a few minutes on the sheet before transferring to a rack to finish cooling.  Store in an airtight container, in layers separated by waxed paper.

What are you baking this Christmas?  

 

 

29 thoughts on “Christmas Sugar Cookies

  1. How fun! I haven’t done sugar cut outs with my kids yet, but I think I need to. I know they would love it!

    I am making everything this year, mainly cookies. Not that you’re surprised. 😉

    • I am shocked, you baking cookies?? 😉 I made your chocolate chip cookies the other day, and they were a huge hit!

      The kids loved doing the sugar cookies, and it made my heart happy to see them working together to decorate and cut them out 🙂 Hope your kids have fun with it too!!

    • I totally agree, I’ll always remember that moment 🙂 The kids loved having a bit of independence cutting out the cookies and decorating them too…they were definitely generous with the sprinkles, and kept repeating, “the more the better!” 🙂

  2. So glad to hear that you had a great time. I have a couple cousins that are similar in age but I’m like you — most of my cousins were closer to my parents age than mine. It’s great that you posted this since it means we must be on the exact same wave length. Made sugar cookie dough earlier today that is being used for a gathering tomorrow that will be part of my ‘Joyful Edition’ post for the Collectively Creative. The sugar cookie dough is specifically to keep the kids happy and occupied 🙂
    Kenley

    • Haha, yes we are on the same wave length! I didn’t think anything of it when I was growing up, but then when I hear my husband talk about how he basically grew up playing with his cousins, it makes me wistful for that, you know?

      Can’t wait to read your Joyful post! Those cookies kept them occupied for at least an hour and they were so happy to eat their creations 🙂

  3. Glad to hear that you had a great time with your family! Malia looks so happy with her cousins! I have a lot of cousins who are around my age. However, they are all in Korea. I sure do miss spending time with them. Screaming for fat cookies hehe so adorable! They sure did a great job decorating them!

    • Thanks, Min! We had such a great time, but I’m so glad to be home, you know?

      My sister-in-law just had her fourth baby in October, so that was our first time meeting baby Ellie, and their first time meeting Ryan. It was a really special time.

      How are you holding up, my dear friend?

      • Hi, Maura! Yes, I remember you telling me about Ellie! Fourth baby..wow! And I know exactly what you mean…there’s no place like home! That’s why Tim and I never travel much. I am such a homebody..but we’re really trying to go out and make memories ;). I’m doing really well! The semester is over and now I am trying to catch up with all my friends…and my Korean dramas haha. I stayed up all night watching this one drama that I’m hooked on! Oh boy, I’m in trouble…

    • Ooh, I love egg casseroles…so comforting 🙂 I’m glad you think the cookies were pretty, they were definitely a mish mash of all the sprinkles the kids could get their hands on…I loved watching their abandon with the sprinkles!!

  4. Sugar cookies are a huge family tradition for us! We have competitive decorating contests that are quite humorous 🙂 For frosting we use powered sugar, almond extract and a little water- you mix it all together and it becomes a super light glaze that you can decorate w sprinkles/etc. afterwards!

    • That sounds like so much fun!! What have the winning cookies looked like in past years??

      I will try that glaze, I love almond extract! I even thought about substituting some of the vanilla extract for almond extract in this recipe 🙂

      • well, usually the winners are the cookies designed by my sister, who always had this fantasy of opening up her own bakery. she makes really intricate decorations w frosting/sprinkles on her santa/stocking/star/tree cookies and mine looked more like a 3 year old’s art project! haha.

  5. Yay sugar cookies! Have never tried to bake these but looks fun!! I also like them slightly underdone 🙂 I am thinking of baking lots of cookies this Christmas and maybe some chocolate cupcakes that I saw on a blog. Gotta love blogs 🙂 Do you know there is a show for kids coming out called “dog with a blog”? Yeah..talking dog. Haha

  6. My cousins were way older too and I only have 2 of them. They lived half way across the country so we only saw them once or twice a year. Oddly enough now that we’re (all) adults I see them more.

Leave a Reply

