Peanut Butter Oreo Cheesecakes

I’m so excited about the Christmas season already, are you?  We put up our tree over the weekend, and Malia is having so much fun decorating it with ornaments.  My mom brought over a whole box full of ornaments that she has saved for me all these years.  In it, were all the ornaments I remember from my childhood, even one as old as I am from my first Christmas!  I was feeling nostalgic about all the Hallmark daughter, sister, mister and mrs. claus ornaments…some of which I had picked out when I was a kid.  I never realized how many memories were stored in those ornaments, and am so thankful that my mom saved them for me!

This is a recipe that I meant to make over Halloween with Halloween Oreos and pumpkin cheesecake.  I could not find Halloween Oreos in Hawaii.  I called multiple stores, but none of them were carrying it!  So my mom bought me some peanut butter Oreos instead, thinking that was the closest color to the orange I wanted…you are so sweet, mom!  And that’s when I had the idea to make peanut butter Oreo cheesecakes…they were SO good!  The creamy peanut butter cheesecake with Oreo bits throughout…I could eat that every day of the week!The peanut butter Oreos are the perfect crust for these cheesecakes…and it looks pretty when you cut them in half…or bite into them if you don’t cut your desserts in half and photograph them like me 🙂

Beat the softened cream cheese and sugar together until light and fluffy.  Then mix in the egg, vanilla extract, and creamy peanut butter.  I’m so glad there was egg in here, otherwise I would have been licking this bowl clean 🙂

Fold in some crushed up peanut butter oreos into the batter.  Then, line a muffin tin with paper cups.  Place a peanut butter Oreo in each cup, and top with the cream cheese mixture.

Bake at 350 for 25 minutes.  Allow them to cool and then refrigerate.  I ate them warm, and I can attest they were good then too 🙂  These mini-cheesecakes would be a great treat to bring to a holiday party or cookie swap!

Peanut Butter Oreo Cheesecakes

adapted from Cake Batter and Bowl

Serves 12

16 Peanut Butter Oreos

8 oz cream cheese, 1/3 less fat, softened

1/3 cup sugar

1/3 cup creamy peanut butter

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 egg, large

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Line a muffin tin with paper cups.  Place an Oreo in the bottom of each cup.  Cream together the cream cheese and sugar until light and fluffy.  Add in the egg, creamy peanut butter, and vanilla extract and mix to combine.  Fold in 4 crushed Oreos.  Top each Oreo with the cream cheese mixture.  Bake for 25 minutes.  Allow to cool.

What are some of your favorite holiday memories?  

Do you have a favorite flavor of cheesecake?  I love plain cheesecake, oreo cheesecake, and white chocolate raspberry!

33 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Oreo Cheesecakes

  1. Aww, that’s nice about the ornaments. I’m the same way– I have a ton of ornaments from my mom that bring back a ton of memories. So nice. And nice to be able to give our kids memories like that, too.

    I love this recipe. (You knew I would though, didn’t you?!) I like all cheesecake flavors, although chocolate always has a special place in my heart. These look so yummy, and so delicious, and yep, a winner! 🙂

    • You are so right, it’s wonderful to be able to pass down those memories to our children!! I’m imagining Malia hanging up ornaments with her child someday…I hope I’m around to see that! Is that weird that I’m thinking so far in the future? 🙂

      Haha, I never knew you to not like a sweet recipe 😉 Ooh, chocolate cheesecake, the ultimate indulgence! My mom buys these mini cheesecake factory cheesecakes, and one time she got the godiva chocolate one…oh my goodness!!

    • Aw, I hope your nephews like them!! My daughter (almost 3) gobbled it up…actually she ate the oreo first and then the cheesecake part…priorities 🙂 You’re going to be the coolest aunt for making them!!

  2. These look and sound like an AMAZING indulgence. I can pretty much guarantee I’ll be trying these at some point since my boyfriend absolutely loves anything that contains chocolate and peanut butter!

  3. I had no idea there were peanut butter Oreos – that sounds like heaven! I couldn’t find the Halloween Oreos either. So I made the pumpkin cheesecake thingies with normal oreos last year. These are much more tempting!

  4. Oh. My. Word. They look so scrumptious! I may have to experiment with substituting sunflower seed butter for the peanut butter (we’ve got nut allergy issues in my house). Thanks so much for the recipe!

    • Ooh yes, let me know how they turn out with sunflower seed butter! I was just having a discussion with someone the other day about Sun Cups, or making our own peanut butter cups except using sunflower seed butter!

      • We tried making those Hershey Kiss peanut butter cookies (you know the ones I’m talking about) with a straight-up substitution of sunflower seed butter for peanut butter, but the cookies turned green! I kid you not. Tasted great — looked green. Funniest thing I’ve ever seen in my life.

      • I had to look that up!

        From the SunButter site:
        When using your own recipe that contains baking soda or baking powder, in combination with SunButter‚Ñ¢, you may notice a discoloration in your baked goods.

        This is not a problem! Simply reduce your baking soda or baking powder or add lemon juice to balance the ph factor and maintain proper color.

        This discoloration is the result of sunflower seeds being rich in Chlorogenic acid which is found naturally in all plants. Most plants only have Chlorogenic acid in the stems and leaves, but sunflower also has it in the seeds. This is one of the reasons sunflower is so good for you.

  5. Yes, I’d have to agree. It’s amazing how many memories are in those seemingly insignificant little ornaments! I haven’t thought about them in a long time, but now that I do, I can still remember a lot of the ones from my childhood! All those happy warm feelings of Christmas…sigh. I’ll have to go home to bring those out to Cali one day when I start putting up my own tree…

    • Aw, yes you should do that! Or have your mom bring some out when she comes to visit Ryan 🙂 I nearly cried when I saw the handmade ornaments that my great-aunt made, the ones that I had made when I was in school, and the ones that were my special favorites when I was a kid! Christmas making me weepy, or warm and fuzzy, hehe 🙂 Can’t wait to see you in a couple weeks!!

  6. Hi, my dearest friend! Sorry I’ve been MIA. Just two more weeks ;). I can’t believe your mom saved all those ornaments! I’m def going to do that too for my family….Growing up, we never really decorated our tree so I don’t have any that holds a special meaning. That’s going to change ;). Which reminds me, TIm and I need to bring out our tree from the attic hehe.
    This recipe looks amazing! Def pinning!!

  7. BTW, how do you get the pinterest button added? I manually do this every time I post a recipe, and it’s a hassle that I don’t need to deal with hehe. Thanks! Miss you! Let’s talk soon!!

    • HI! Sorry for the delay in responding!! I found the Pinterest button through dashboard –> settings –> sharing, and then I dragged the Pinterest button into my enabled services. Let me know if that works for you!

  8. The moment I read the title of this post, I knew I was in trouble. 😉 These look incredibly delicious, Maura! I love nothing more than the combination of peanut butter +chocolate… except the combination of peanut butter + chocolate + cheesecake. I wasn’t even aware that peanut butter Oreos exist; I’ll be hunting for them this weekend!

    The nostalgia you feel about your ornaments is the same way I feel every year I arrive home for Christmas. My mom still decorates our tree with all the special ornaments I grew up with, including those I made in elementary school. There are so many memories attached to each one! I’m hoping that someday she’ll pass them along to me. 🙂

    I hope you have a wonderful weekend! ❤

    • Haha, you are so sweet, Sara! I am such a sucker for PB and chocolate too 🙂 I hope you can find peanut butter Oreos! I’m hoping to find mint ones so I can do a mint version. I love the combo of mint and chocolate too, for a long time my fav ice cream flavor was mint chocolate chip, but my mom wouldn’t buy it very often because everyone else in my family thought it tasted like medicine!!

      Isn’t it wonderful to come home and share the holidays with your family? Are you going back for Christmas this year?

      Hope you’ve had a productive and relaxing weekend!

  9. Pingback: Easy Oreo Donut Bites « LauraLovingLife

Leave a Reply

