What to do with leftover turkey and mashed potatoes – Baked Turkey Croquettes!

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday!  We had a great time at my cousin’s home – eating our fill, swimming in the pool, and then coming back to the table for dessert!  I really loved getting some activity in, so that it didn’t feel like we just gorged ourselves all day.  Also, I haven’t gone swimming as part of Thanksgiving in a very long time 🙂  The food highlights for me were the stuffing and my mom’s sweet potatoes.  She makes them with sweet potatoes, yams, and purple Okinawan sweet potatoes, layered with apples and a sweet orange maple sauce.  They were delicious!  Some of the family highlights were seeing my aunts, uncles, and cousins!  This is my dad (on the left) and his older brother…can you believe they are 81 and 89 years old??  They are some of the most youthful and energetic 80 year olds I know!  I’ll have to do a post on my dad another day, he’s a really special man and I love him so much!

I love my little family too 🙂

We had a mini-thanksgiving last week, and this is what I made with the leftovers.  If you’ve got some leftover turkey and mashed potatoes, this is a great and healthy way to give them new life!  I love croquettes…normally they are fried, but this recipe is made healthier by baking with a breadcrumb and panko crust.  The outside is crispy, and the inside is tender with the mashed potatoes and pieces of turkey…so comforting!

Start by sautéing some onions and garlic in a little olive oil until softened.  I also added in some cannellini beans for extra protein, since I had some on hand.  This is one of those recipes where you can adapt it to whatever you have in the fridge, so feel free to change it up!

Then, add in whatever leftover herbs you have on hand…I used thyme and sage, but you could also use parsley or rosemary.  Season with salt and pepper.  Add in your turkey and chicken broth.

Then transfer to a bowl and mix in your mashed potatoes.  I added mashed potatoes until all the liquid was absorbed.  Taste for seasoning.  Form into small croquettes, dip them in an egg wash, and then roll in breadcrumbs and panko.  Place on a parchment paper lined sheet pan.  Spray with olive oil (I use my misto), so they will get nice and brown.

Bake at 450 F for about 15 minutes or until the outside looks golden and crispy.  Enjoy with more yummy Thanksgiving leftovers – we’ve got stuffing and green bean casserole 🙂

Baked Turkey and Mashed Potato Croquettes

adapted from Skinnytaste

12 ounces of turkey (dark and white meat), chopped finely

1 tsp olive oil

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 medium onion, diced

1/2 cup white beans, mashed

1/2 cup chicken broth

1 tsp fresh thyme, chopped

1 tsp fresh sage, chopped

1/2 tsp kosher salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1.5 cups mashed potatoes (or enough to absorb all the liquid)

1 egg, whisked with 1 T of water

1/2 cup seasoned bread crumbs

1/2 cup panko

Preheat oven to 450 F.

Saute onions, garlic, and beans until softened.  Add in herbs (I used thyme and sage, feel free to substitute with what you have on hand).  Add in salt and pepper.  Cook for 2-3 minutes.  Then add in turkey pieces and chicken broth.  Turn off heat and transfer the mixture to a bowl.  Add in mashed potatoes until the liquid is absorbed and the mixture comes together.  Taste for seasoning.  Then form into croquettes.  Dip in egg wash, followed by mixture of breadcrumbs and panko.  Place on a parchment paper lined baking sheet.  Spray with olive oil spray (I used my misto).  Bake for 15 minutes or until golden and crispy on the outside.  Enjoy!

What were the highlights of your Thanksgiving day – food, family, or otherwise?

What kind of leftovers do you have?  

Are you doing any Black Friday shopping?  I don’t really relish braving the crowds, it’s just not my thing.  I can barely get myself to go shopping on a normal day, let alone on Black Friday!  I actually do most of my shopping online these days.  I’d love to hear about the kind of deals you’ve gotten!

18 thoughts on “What to do with leftover turkey and mashed potatoes – Baked Turkey Croquettes!

  1. What a great idea for leftovers! I roasted a chicken instead of a turkey, and I was planning to use the leftovers for either chicken pot pie or chicken enchiladas, but we have so much leftover cranberry sauce and stuffing as well, that now I think we’ll just have Thanksgiving dinner, part 2 (and part 3…) instead of trying to transform them. I will definitely keep this recipe in mind though– I love croquettes! : )

    • That is so smart to roast a chicken instead! We aren’t huge fans of turkey, so we usually end up eating more ham, but a roasted chicken would be nice too! I know, we’re going to be having Thanksgiving dinner part 2 and 3 this weekend 🙂 No complaints here!

  2. Yum! What a great leftover idea! I’ll have to give it a try.

    I did a little black friday shopping last night. I went in knowing it would be crazy, so it wasn’t too bad. Saved a little money, and spent a lot! Haha!

    • Haha, yes, that always happens to me! I go in search of one deal, and then I leave with much more than I intended! At least you’ve got a head start on your shopping though…I’ve bought a total of zero Christmas gifts so far 😉

  3. It sounds like you had a beautiful Thanksgiving, Maura! It sure looks like it too; you can’t beat blooming flowers and warm weather! I’d love to jump in a pool for a refreshing swim after gorging on turkey, however, when it’s 30 degrees outside, a hot bath sounds much more appealing. 😉 I actually spent Thanksgiving in Maui in 2004 (my uncle lives there), and it remains one of my favorite holiday memories ever. 🙂

    Your grandfather and his brother certainly do look youthful! I bet the secret is all that Hawaiian sunshine. I’m so glad that you were able to spend the day surrounded by the people you love!

    We have quite a bit of leftover turkey in our fridge, despite the fact that we ate turkey salads for lunch and a Thanksgiving #2 (turkey and all the sides) for dinner tonight. I head back to DC tomorrow, but my mom was asking what I thought she should do with the leftovers. I’ll definitely be showing her this recipe in the morning before I leave because she loves croquettes!

    • I hope you have a safe trip back to DC! It’s wonderful that you could spend the holidays with your family…looked like a lot of fun! How was Skyfall? We watched the Avengers on DVD last night…I really liked it!!

      Hope your mom likes the croquettes, my mom and grandma loved them! I think we’re going to have Thanksgiving dinner #3 tonight 😉

      Maui is so beautiful…does your uncle like living there? We went there for our honeymoon. I think you deserve a trip back to Maui soon 🙂

  4. great idea for leftovers, I can’t imagine eating turkey for days, but this way you get a new meal every time! 😉

    your dad and uncle do look great for their age! I wish my dad will be like that when he gets older. what are their secrets?

  5. Very nice family. Do you think you can share your Mom’s sweet Potato recipe? My family is tired of the regular candied sweet potato I make especially the marshmallow topping. I always have sooo much leftover of this dish. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

