Lemon Crinkle Cookies

This was a big weekend for my husband.  He’s a Notre Dame graduate, and their football team has gone undefeated this season.  They just moved up to #1 when the #1 and #2 teams in the country both lost on Saturday!  Some of you know how my own father is a huge Notre Dame fan, and how we were raised watching Notre Dame football, so let’s just say we’re all pretty thrilled and excited for the team!

During halftime, I whipped up these lemon cookies as a snack.  I’ve been seeing these cookies all over the internet, and ever since my friend Lisa gave me some of her huge home-grown lemons, I knew I had to try them!  The cookies are buttery with lots of bright lemon flavor and crunch from the powdered sugar topping.  I love how they are slightly crispy on the edge, but nice and soft on the inside.  They would be a great unique addition to your Christmas cookie list, as the powdered sugar gives them a very festive and “snowball” like effect!

First, cream together the butter and sugar.  Then, mix in lemon juice, lemon zest, egg and vanilla extract.  Can you believe the size of these home-grown lemons?  Each one gives about a CUP of lemon juice!

Then, add in your all purpose flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.  I accidentally added in too much baking soda, but the cookies came out great, so I think I will just make it that way from now on!  Have you ever done that before?  The recipe called for 1/8 tsp of baking soda, but I only have a 1/4 tsp measure, so in my head I’m telling myself to just fill it up half way, but my hands are already measuring out the 1/4 tsp and adding it into the mix.  Sigh.  I remember one of the first times I made chocolate chip cookies I put in a Tablespoon of vanilla extract instead of a teaspoon…don’t do that.  It will not turn out well 😉

Roll the batter into teaspoon size balls and then dip them in powdered sugar.  This part will be very sticky!  My powdered sugar had lots of lumps in it, but it actually turned out great because it gave the cookies such a pretty snowball like appearance when they are done!

Bake in a 350 F oven for 7-9 minutes if you have a dark sheet pan like mine, or 9-11 minutes if you have a light baking sheet.  The cookies will spread, so leave room in between.  The smell of buttery shortbread cookies will fill your house, it’s heavenly!  I love the slight tang from the lemon that is balanced by the sweet powdered sugar – these would be perfect with a cup of tea or some milk if you’re like my daughter 🙂

Lemon Crinkle Cookies

Makes 24-32 cookies (I made 32 smaller cookies)

from Lauren’s Latest

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened

1 cup sugar

1 T lemon juice

1 tsp lemon zest

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 egg

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda (or 1/8 tsp if you want to follow the original recipe!)

1/4 tsp kosher salt

1/2 cup powdered sugar (unsifted)

Preheat your oven to 350 F.

Cream together your softened butter and sugar.  Then mix in the lemon juice, lemon zest, vanilla extract, and egg until fully combined.  Stir in the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt until just combined and the batter is light and fluffy.  Pour the powdered sugar onto a plate.  Roll the batter in teaspoon size balls and dip in the powdered sugar to coat.  Place on a greased or parchment paper lined baking sheet and bake for 7-9 minutes if using a dark sheet pan, or 9-11 minutes if you are using a light sheet pan.  Check at the earliest time.  You want the cookies to be just light brown on the bottom.  Allow to cool on the baking sheet for 3 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to finish cooling.

Have you ever made any blunders in the kitchen? 

Do you follow any sports teams?

27 thoughts on “Lemon Crinkle Cookies

    • You will like these if you are a lemon fan, for sure!! I didn’t use to pick lemon desserts first, but all of a sudden I can’t get enough lemon cookies, lemon blueberry cake, lemon meringue pie 😉

  1. These look really yummy! I just feel like sharing… before I knew much in the kitchen, one of the first recipes I made called for confectioners’ sugar and I didn’t realize what that meant; so, when I put regular ‘ole granulated sugar in… well, the peanut butter balls they were supposed to be didn’t end up being peanut butter balls! If only it’d said powdered sugar! That I knew, haha! 🙂

  2. Oh goodness. Anything lemon or coconut – yum!!!! I miss going into my backyard and picking nice fresh lemons, oranges, grapefruit, avocados and mangos. Can’t do that where I live now. I’m definitely making these cookies – tomorrow – yes sir. Wishing you and your family a wonderful happy healthy thanksgiving.

    • Thanks, Carol! I hope you all like them 🙂 Let me know how it turns out! Yes, it’s so nice to be able to get fruit from the trees year round, I’m trying to appreciate it and take advantage of the long growing season here 🙂 Where do you live now?

      Hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving!!

  3. Haha! I’m glad Notre Dame is doing so well! I went to one of my closest friend’s wedding this weekend which worked out perfect bc UT wasn’t playing this Sat. Tim wouldn’t have accompanied me.. Well he would have, but ya know..reluctantly hehe. These cookies look so yummy! I want one now!! I LOVE adding lemon zest to baked goods! Such a burst of unexpected brightness!
    Oh, guess what! I had another presentation today, and I got voted as the favorite presenter again!! I just found out so I had to tell someone and of course it’s you ;). Time to work on my next paper…Thanksgiving…3 days!!!

    • Hooray!! Congratulations, Min!! I am so proud of you and I know that recognition is well deserved 🙂

      So glad you were able to go to your close friend’s wedding, that must have been a really special time. Can’t wait for Thursday to get here, hope you and your siblings have a wonderful time together and good luck with all the preparations and cooking!! I bet it’s all going to be delicious 🙂

  4. I, of course, make mistakes all the time in the kitchen. Nothing like my sister did once though. When she was still in grade school, she and my cousin made cookies one day. My cousin read off all of the ingredients while my sister measured and mixed. My cousin calls out, “one cup of salt.” They raided the cabinets trying to find more salt to meet the recipe requirements. Needless to say, those cookies were so gross and made for some great practical jokes. Very cute! My sister never made that mistake again and now she’s one of the best cooks I know. 🙂

  5. Wow, a CUP of lemon juice from that one lemon?? That’s a ton! Wish I could grow my own lemons! These look so delicate and delicious and perfect despite your accidental extra ingredient 🙂 I definitely have those baking flukes all the time! The worst is when I’m trying to halve or third a pancake recipe and I don’t even realize what I did wrong because I can’t remember whether I halved or thirded something! Luckily that doesn’t happen often 🙂 But when it does, it’s so sad! Haha.

  6. YES! I always make a mistake when I halve a recipe or try to double it, somehow one of the ingredients gets messed up! I almost need to rewrite the recipe, so that I can physically look at the right numbers 🙂

  7. I’ve been seeing the links to your blog on FB and so glad I checked it out! These cookies look so great – I loved that you “whipped them up at halftime” 🙂 We are avid Michigan State fans, so I do admit to hurrying through the chores during time outs too! Thanks too for the reminder to get back to blogging!

    • Aw, thanks Tracie! Don’t you love college football season? I’m always a little sad when it’s over. Patrick is so excited/nervous about the game tomorrow!! Hope to see you on Sunday 🙂

    • Haha, that wasn’t even the biggest one she gave me! We’ve been gifted huge home-grown lemons, avocados, and pomelo since we’ve been here! You will love these if you like lemons 🙂

  8. Pingback: Red Velvet Crinkle Cookies | Can't Stay Out of the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

