Cannellini Bean “Meatballs” and a winner!

We had a great, relaxing family weekend!  Birthday party, football games, church, and some shopping.  Also, this little guy decided to roll over!  At first I thought it was a fluke that he had turned onto his stomach, but then he did it again the next day…it’s so cute to watch him kicking his legs and trying to roll over, reminds me of a little turtle 🙂  I can’t believe he’s already starting to become mobile, it’s all happening so fast!

I’m starting to eat more vegetarian meals, and I love how eating more vegetables and lean proteins has given me increased energy!  Some of you have asked me to put more vegan and vegetarian meals on the blog, so I am really excited to share this one with you today.  My brother in particular, asked for main dishes that are high in protein.  These cannellini bean vegetarian meatballs fit the bill!  They’re really healthy and hearty with white beans, red pepper, fresh parsley, dried oregano, and a nice crunch from a panko coating on the outside.  We really enjoyed them with marinara sauce on top of spaghetti and as vegetarian meatball subs the next day!

Process the cannellini beans and roasted red pepper in a food processor or high powered blender until just chopped.  It’s okay to have some pieces of bean in there, it gives the “meatballs” some texture.  If you process it too long, the mixture will get too liquidy.  Then, transfer to a bowl and mix in the grated onion, garlic, dried oregano, breadcrumbs, egg, and fresh parsley.  If you want to make them vegan, you could use ground flaxseed instead of the egg.

Shape into balls and roll in some panko breadcrumbs.  I love how the panko gives it an extra crispy outside.  If your “meatballs” don’t hold together when you’re rolling them, just add more breadcrumbs to the mixture.

Bake at 350 F for 20 minutes or until just golden and firm.

Serve with your favorite marinara sauce and spaghetti.  Or put your cannellini balls atop french bread, top with marinara sauce and mozzarella cheese, and have a vegetarian meatball sub!  We did this for dinner the second night, and I think I liked it that way even more!!

Cannellini Bean “Meatballs”

slightly adapted from Cookin’ Canuck

1 1/2 cans cannellini beans (each can 15 oz), drained and rinsed

1 roasted red pepper (2 halves) or 1 fresh red pepper (I used fresh)

1/2 medium onion, grated

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 T fresh parsley, chopped

1 1/2 tsp dried oregano

1 egg (or a flaxseed egg)

1/2 cup dried breadcrumbs

1/2 tsp kosher salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 cup panko breadcrumbs

Process the cannellini beans and the red pepper just until chopped, pieces of bean are fine.  If you process it too long, the mixture will be too watery.  Transfer to a bowl and add in grated onion, garlic, parsley, oregano, egg, breadcrumbs, salt and pepper.  Form into balls (about 2 T each).  If the balls don’t hold together, add more breadcrumbs to the mixture.  Roll in panko breadcrumbs to coat.  Place on a parchment paper lined sheet pan and bake in a 350 degree oven for 15-20 minutes or until firm to touch, and golden brown on the outside.  Serve with marinara sauce and spaghetti, or on top of a toasted baguette with marinara sauce and mozzarella for a vegetarian meatball sub.

Finally, I’d like to congratulate the winner of the first giveaway on My Healthy ‘Ohana…Leah from Inspire and Indulge!  

SO excited about this! That’s fantastic that you contacted The Grow Box and they simply said, Yes! I would love to try this indoors and grow a multitude of herbs – basil, rosemary, cilantro, etc :)

Congratulations, Leah!  Excited for your herb garden!  Thank you to all who entered.  I loved reading about what you would grow…totally inspired by you all 🙂  

14 thoughts on “Cannellini Bean “Meatballs” and a winner!

  1. The picture of your “big” boy is nothing but cuteness. Adorable. The beanballs are a tempting recipe. And congratulations to Leah.

  2. Yay! Congrats Leah! These sound really interesting! I’ve never attempted to make a meatless meatball. Definitely sounds like something we would like though! Your son just looks so sweet! Time really does go by fast…we have one graduating next year and my little one is 3 1/2 already! Crazy!

    • They’re really tasty, Stephanie! I think you’d like them 🙂

      Wow, that must be an amazing feeling having a child so close to graduation, congratulations! That sounds so far away for us, but I’m sure the time will go by in a blink of an eye.

  3. Oh my goodness! I was just casually reading through your post thinking about how I NEED to try these meatballs and then when I reached the end of the post and read that I won… my jaw literally dropped. What a fabulous surprise! I’m so excited and grateful to both you and The Grow Box! Looks like Christmas is arriving a little early! 🙂

  4. Your little guy is such a cutie! How exciting that he’s rolling over now! Just think…walking comes next!

    I too have been cooking more vegetarian and vegan meals, so this will be a fun recipe to add to my “must-make” list. 🙂 Do you think gluten free breadcrumbs would work?

    Hope you’re having a great week, Maura!

    • Sara, you read my mind…I’m thinking time is going so fast and soon he’s going to be growing up and walking…just want to freeze time!!

      I think gluten free breadcrumbs would work! Let me know how it turns out 🙂

      Hope you’re having a great week too, Sara! So happy to see you here, I’m enjoying your blog too 🙂

  5. Yay Leah! Also these meatballs look FANTASTIC! I love using beans in veggie burgers and I do miss meatballs since I’ve been vegetarian–I will have to try these! They look totally like the real thing to me!

Leave a Reply

