Pear and Apple Crisps for your Thanksgiving Table

When I moved away for college, I could never go home for Thanksgiving.  The flight from Chicago to Hawaii was too long (and expensive) to justify going home for only a few days.  Luckily, I was blessed with wonderful friends and family who invited a home-sick Hawaii girl over to their homes, and made me feel so welcomed and loved!  One of my favorite parts about Thanksgiving is sitting around the table, feeling the warmth and love of family and friends gathered together 🙂

This will be one of the first Thanksgivings in a long time that I will spend with my family in Hawaii, and I’m so excited!  I’m in charge of bringing a dessert this year for Thanksgiving.  When you are faced with all those delicious Thanksgiving desserts, what are the ones you go for first?  Pumpkin, apple, sweet potato or pecan pie?  Those are the traditional ones I think of as gracing a Thanksgiving table.  If you’re bringing or making dessert this year, think about bringing these healthy pear and apple crisps…they are so cute and very delicious 🙂

They’re really easy to make too.  All you do is cut your pears or apples in half and remove the core so you have a bowl to put your crisp topping inside.  Then mix together your oats, flour, brown sugar, spices, and salt.  I added in some ground flaxseed for some omega-3s!  The topping doesn’t have that much butter in it, because there’s greek yogurt and maple syrup!  Press the crisp topping into the fruit halves and mound up so it will look pretty after it has baked.

Bake in a 400 degree oven for 20-25 minutes.  The fruit will soften and get really juicy, and the topping will get nice and crispy.  It’s a nice, light dessert that won’t weigh you down and the presentation is really pretty!  Serve warm right out of the oven, topped with some vanilla ice cream or whipped cream.  It’s also good eaten cold the next day for breakfast 🙂

Pear and Apple Crisps

Slightly adapted from Cookie and Kate

Makes 12 halves

3 D’Anjou Pears

3 Honeycrisp apples or any other variety

1 cup oats

1 cup flour

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp ginger

1/4 tsp kosher salt

1 T ground flaxseed

4 T butter, melted

4 T vanilla Greek yogurt

4 tsp maple syrup

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Line a sheet pan with parchment paper.  Cut the pears and apples in half and remove the core.  Mix together the oats, flour, brown sugar, spices, salt and flaxseed in a bowl.  Then add the melted butter, greek yogurt and maple syrup.  Stir to combine.  Spoon this mixture into each of the eight fruit bowls.  Bake for 20-25 minutes.  Serve immediately with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream!

What are you looking forward to eating this Thanksgiving?

I always look forward to the sides, especially stuffing (I’ll be posting a healthy version next week) and sweet potatoes!

What are you having for dessert this Thanksgiving?

17 thoughts on “Pear and Apple Crisps for your Thanksgiving Table

  1. These look so fun, Maura! I will have to give them a try :). We always make a much less healthy dessert at Thanksgiving – Paula Deen’s Pumpkin Gooey Butter Cake. If you’ve not tried it, you definitely should – although be warned, you’ll never want traditional pumpkin pie ever again!

    • Kim, I actually have that one bookmarked to try!! If you give it the stamp of approval, then I definitely have to make it 🙂 I mean, how bad could something called gooey butter cake be?? 😉

  2. The cook always deserves an extra portion. For quality control you understand 😉 These look great and super easy. Will give them a shot for our dinner guests on Sunday!

  3. Lovely! I think edible vessels are awesome! I am looking forward to eating my Mother-in-law’s green bean casserole, and my new recipe for Crunchy Apple Salad & Scallop Lettuce Cups. I’ll be making some pies for Thanksgiving dessert as requested, though I may sneak these cute crisps in the Thanksgiving spread 😀

  4. I’m so excited that you’ll be spending this Thanksgiving with your family! For the first time I won’t be spending the day with my whole family, as my parents are in Korea. However, my sister and brother are coming over to our house so guess I’m in charge of..well EVERYTHING! I would LOVE your stuffing recipe! It’s my fav side dish as well! Hands down..but the one I make is not that healthy. That never stopped me from enjoying one, two, or three servings ;). However, I do want to try something diff this year. I know that my sister really likes my stuffing so I’ll make both just in case haha.

    And how cute are these pear, apple crisps! What a wonderful idea!

    • Ooh, I want your stuffing recipe too…like we talked about, it’s nice to indulge on Thanksgiving 🙂 I’m just about to put my stuffing in the oven…we’re having a mini Thanksgiving tonight! My mom made turkey, mashed potatoes, and pumpkin pie, and I’m bringing the stuffing and salad 🙂

Leave a Reply

