Halloween Fun and Pumpkin Brownies!

Happy Halloween!!  In honor of sweet treats for Halloween, but also trying to keep things somewhat healthy, I decided to try out these pumpkin brownies using only 2 ingredients…well 3, if you count the Reese’s Pieces, which are an absolute must in my opinion!

All you need is a box of brownie mix and a 15 oz can of pumpkin, plus some chocolate chips or reese’s pieces or whatever chocolate candy you like best for the topping.  There is no added oil or eggs in this recipe!  All the moisture comes from the pumpkin, so you can feel good about eating these!  That’s what I keep telling myself 🙂

Simply mix together the brownie mix and the pumpkin, place in a greased 9×9 pan, and bake at 350 for 30-35 minutes!  My brownie mix had a fudge packet that you poured over the top after the brownies had baked, so the candies adhered easily to the top.  If you don’t have a fudge topping, I would top the brownies with the candies before baking.

These brownies are ooey gooey fudgy goodness!  They are so delicious and you would never be able to tell there is a whole can of pumpkin in there!  I love sneaky desserts 🙂  If you’re pressed for time, this is a great, quick and easy dessert to take to a party too.

Pumpkin Brownies

1 box brownie mix (I used Ghirardelli Ultimate Fudge brownies)

1 15 oz can pumpkin

1/2 cup chocolate chips or Reese’s pieces or whatever candy strikes your fancy

Mix together the brownie mix and pumpkin until fully combined.  Top with the candy pieces and bake at 350 F for 30-35 minutes.  The brownies will be very fudgy.  Allow to cool completely and refrigerate before cutting.  Enjoy!

We carved pumpkins this weekend with the kids…it’s so fun watching Malia get excited about the pumpkins, trick or treating, and the costumes!  She requested a happy pumpkin and a SCARY pumpkin, didn’t Patrick do a good job?

Malia wanted to be a butterfly for Halloween this year, and Ryan is going to be an elephant 🙂  I’m not going to lie, I’m excited about going trick or treating tonight.  There’s something about it that makes me feel like a kid again!

Are you going trick or treating or dressing up this year?

What are your favorite Halloween candies?

Mine are Reese’s PB cups and Nestle crunch bars!

18 thoughts on “Halloween Fun and Pumpkin Brownies!

  1. I can’t believe you only need two ingredients – love that there’s no oil or butter added! I must try this, especially since the pumpkin & chocolate combo are so popular right now 🙂

  2. Aw your kids are total cuties! I love this baking idea, including pumpkin into it and adding more moisture in the process. I love milky way and kit kats. Funny story, when trick or treating as a kid in Canada, one woman answered her door and asked me if I would like any “kitty kats.” I thought she was just being daft or something so I said yea, ill have some kit kats. She comes down with a basket full of kittens. True story. I couldn’t take one home but I so wanted to!!

  3. Pingback: Reeses Owls | Holiday Party Entertaining Ideas

Leave a Reply

