Baby Update and Streusel Topped Pumpkin Bread

At just over 2 months old, this is what my little guy does most of the time:

He’s a champion sleeper!  At least during the day, the nights are a little bit harder.  At 2 months, he’s starting to give us these huge smiles when we make eye contact with him and coos!  He open his whole mouth and shows off the dimples he got from daddy!

This is when all the exhaustion from waking up to feed him seems all worthwhile!  I mean, how could I resist this sweet face?  Kona is patiently waiting for his dinner here 🙂

Ryan really loves Malia, and tries to look at her and talk to her whenever she comes around him.  Malia adores him and is always trying to give him love, sometimes a bit too much!  Second babies have it rough sometimes, but I like to think it’s making Ryan tougher 🙂

And then sometimes we get moments like this that melt my heart!

It hasn’t all been roses for the past two months.  There have been times when I’m so exhausted that I can’t even think straight.  I’m so thankful for my husband who steps up and helps out with the kids so I can get a quick nap or just time to myself.  He really is a wonderful father and I feel so lucky to be married to such a wonderful man 🙂

On the running front, I’ve been doing a lot more walking than running lately.  I actually got out and exercised almost every single day last week!  Having those evening walks definitely increased my energy level and helped my mood.  I’m hoping to keep it up and eventually add in some more running.

I’ve been obsessed with everything pumpkin recently, especially this whole wheat chocolate chip pumpkin bread.  And because everything is better with streusel on top, here is a quick and easy streusel topping that you can put on muffins or breads to make them extra special…and delicious 🙂   You can adjust the recipe to add in whatever you like best.  Old fashioned oats would give it a nice texture.  I thought about putting some candied pecans in this one, since it would go nicely with pumpkin bread, but decided to just keep it simple.  Next time!

I love the crunchy and buttery topping!!

Streusel Topping

3 T all purpose flour

3 T granulated sugar

1/2 tsp cinnamon

2 T butter

Mix first three ingredients together in a small bowl.  Cut in the butter with a pastry cutter or two forks.  Crumble it on top of your (un)baked goods, and bake as usual.

What are your favorite muffin or bread flavors?

My favorites are blueberry muffins (with streusel topping, of course!)and banana bread.

39 thoughts on “Baby Update and Streusel Topped Pumpkin Bread

  1. So beautiful! And the recipe – YUM! Walking helps me too – keeps my head in the right place and keeps me from feeling down. I’m not sure about running, I’ve yet to do it!

    • Haha, I’m doing baby steps…walking just to get my heart rate up and be outdoors…then I’ll tackle running later 🙂 Isn’t it amazing how just a short time spent getting some exercise and fresh air can make such a difference? I feel so much better!

  2. Maura, your family is beautiful. Your daughter makes me giggle – she is so sweet. Never thought to make a topping for banana bread – must try that.

  3. What a happy family! Bet they’re even happier with your streusel-topped pumpkin bread, yum! I’ve been bitten by the pumpkin bug, too. Roasted pumpkin/pumpkin puree is a great addition to muffins to add moisture, flavor and healthy stuff, too. But I have to say my all-time favorite muffin recipe would have fresh apples! 🙂

  4. Ryan is do lovely, really nice smiles! It’s great that Malia gets along with him so well. I guess the little age difference helps.

    • Yes, I think the age difference definitely helps, they are about 2.5 years apart. She really wants to help out and take care of him, maybe the maternal instinct in a girl 🙂 Hope your little Sophia is doing well!!

    • Thanks, Leah!! My husband is mostly Irish (Patrick O’Donnell, hehe), and also German, English, French. It’s funny because Maura is also an Irish name, so when I became Maura O’Donnell, many of my patients were surprised when an Asian girl walked into the room, haha!

      • Haha, very ironic! Being Asian (Korean) myself, I absolutely adore mixed babies. My boyfriend is Eastern European (Slovak) which is why I was curious about your husband. 🙂

  5. get as much rest as you can maura. little babies and kids can be so cute, but also exhausting. i’m trying to get ready to head back into the zone of sleepless nights and fuzzy days of exhaustion…

  6. Yum… you always post the coolest recipes with additional pictures. I love that I can add to my Pinterest so I can save for later. 😀 Your pictures of the family and kids are so cute! It’s nice to see such love in their eyes… 😀

  7. Aww, Ryan and Malia are so cute! And you are amazing for being as sleep deprived as you are and still finding the time to exercise and bake! Goooo, super mom!

  8. Ryan is the cutest thing in the WORLD in the photo where he’s sitting with Malia. I want toi eat. him. up.! You are so lucky!
    And isn’t it funny how exercise gives you energy? Crazy. Good on you for going out everyday!
    The streusel looks amazing too! Great idea for the top of your pumpkin bread 🙂 I can get excited now that I have pumpkin (thanks to you!!)!

    • LOL, thanks Natasha!! Yes, it’s interesting how exercise actually pays it forward by giving you more energy than before…I love feeling stronger too and having more endurance!

      I couldn’t be more excited to see what you do with the pumpkin, knowing you it will be an amazing creation 🙂

  9. Oh my goodness, you have been denying us baby photos!!! More please! He is so adorable. And so is your little girl. You have such a beautiful family! I love that your little ones love each other. That is too cute 🙂

    • Michelle, you are so sweet…I never know if people mind my excessive love for my babies…thanks for the encouragement 🙂 The kids really do love each other, it’s amazing how Ryan looks for Malia and start smiling right away when he hears her voice, even at 2 months!! Hope school is going well…it’s almost the weekend 🙂

  10. Oh Maura! Please please please keep the pictures coming! Ryan is so precious and handsome! And I’ve actually never ever called a baby handsome before! Cute? yes but handsome? Ryan’s the first one ;). And the picture of Malia and Ryan together just made my heart melt!
    I’m glad to hear that couch to 5k is going really well! Good for you! I actually haven’t been exercising as much as I’d like to. My life will be blissful come December. Until then, I shall press on. Hope you have a wonderful weekend!!

    • You are so funny, Min! Your comment made mine and Ryan’s day…I won’t let it go to his head 😉

      Thinking of you and praying for you…you can do it!! Hope you get some time to relax this weekend…you deserve some down time so you can keep going during the week 🙂

Leave a Reply

