100 calorie egg cups

I have a confession…I used to eat quesadillas every morning for breakfast during medical school.  I would just put a piece of cheese in between two tortillas, toast it up in my toaster oven, and take it with me to class.  I’m still not quite sure why I kept doing it, as it didn’t have enough protein to give me staying power.  Maybe it’s because I like eating carbs in the morning? 🙂

Since then, I’ve been trying to get more protein in my breakfast to keep me going all morning.  One of my best friends suggested that I try this recipe for baking eggs in a cup made of deli ham…it’s such a cute presentation.  These egg cups are a protein-packed portable breakfast that you can feel good about eating!

I used deli turkey instead of ham, and did some plain and some with fillings.  The ones to the left have tomatoes and feta, the ones in the middle are broccoli with pepper jack, and the ones to the right are just plain egg 🙂

The process is so simple.  Just grease your muffin cups, and place a piece of deli turkey or ham in each cup.  Then, crack an egg into the center of the cup.  Add in whatever toppings you have on hand.  Or just keep it simple, and just add salt and pepper on top…my favorite was actually the plain one! 🙂  This is what it looked like before cooking.

Bake in a 400 degree oven for about 12 minutes.  This gave me a perfectly cooked egg with just a slightly soft interior.  The turkey gets crispy around the edges and holds the contents perfectly!  Be creative and put in your favorite omelette fixings 🙂  This would be a great addition to a lunch box too, or an afternoon snack.

Baked Egg Cups

6 slices deli turkey or ham

6 large eggs

salt and pepper

toppings of your choice (tomato and feta, broccoli and pepper jack)

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.  Grease your muffin tin.  Place a single piece of deli turkey or ham in each cup.  Carefully break an egg into the turkey cup.  Add salt and pepper.  Top with the fillings of your choice.  Bake for 12 minutes.

What are some of your favorite breakfast foods?

36 thoughts on “100 calorie egg cups

  1. I totally saw this on Pinterest last week and REALLY wanted to try it (I even printed out the recipe!!). Glad they turned out well…. not one of the pinterest posts that are horrible haha. Definitely gonna try this SOON!

    • Awesome!! Yeah, I totally start snacking around 4 pm, and this would definitely be a healthy choice that would fill you up just enough 🙂 I think you could make them ahead of time and just reheat or eat cold!

  2. These look lovely. I used to make a yucky equivalent using a coffee cup in the microwave. The egg was awfully rubbery. This way will be WAY better!! Thanks!

  3. Oh! I love miniature things and these look perfect for a brunch party because you can just grab a portion full. I’ve had trouble incorporating protein into my breakfasts in the past as well… Great idea!

  4. Glad to have the review. Recipes like this always look so cute, but you never know whether they really taste good! I think I’ll try some egg and cheese ones for my 9-yr-old for breakfast (and for me, too!).
    By the way, I made your banana waffles the other day, and though they were delicious, I had real trouble with them sticking to my waffle iron. I tried it both greased and not. Maybe I didn’t mash the banana smoothly enough (I thought the chunks would be tasty, but maybe they contributed to the stickiness). Any suggestions? (Nobody cared what they looked like, though–they ate them up with peanut better and Nutella! So healthy! 😉

    • Yes, they’re great with some cheese in them 🙂

      I’m so glad you made the waffles, and topped with PB and nutella, yum! Hmm…I didn’t have that problem with the waffles sticking, but maybe it’s because there isn’t much butter/oil in the recipe? Or maybe because of the bananas. That’s interesting that it happened whether it was greased or not though, so maybe it was because the chunks of banana were getting caramelized.

  5. LOVE this idea!! I love the taste of deli meats with eggs, so this is perfect. But I agree about enjoying carbs in the morning… I always have to have some toast with my eggs 🙂

  6. Pingback: WIAW#22, Featuring Red Cabbage and Apples–Apfel Rotkohl « T h e F o o d e r y

  7. Pingback: Merry Christmas Eve and Christmas brunch ideas! « My Healthy 'Ohana

Leave a Reply

