Homemade Cashew Butter

I love the idea of making things from scratch.  Don’t get me wrong, I use a lot of convenience foods, but I’m trying to make an effort to bake my own bread, english muffins, and pizza dough, make my own pudding mix, ice cream, greek yogurt, strawberry jam, and now make my own peanut butter…or cashew butter as it were 🙂  There’s something so satisfying about making things by hand, and knowing all the ingredients that go into the final product, and usually they are a lot less than your average convenience product!

The process couldn’t be simpler…emphasis on the word “process” as the work is totally done by the food processor!  I just threw two cups of roasted and salted cashews into the food processor and let her go for 15 minutes, scraping down the sides every 5 minutes or so.  Here it is after the first five minutes:

After 10 minutes…starting to get nice and creamy!

And after 15 minutes…silky and creamy and delicious!  The cashew butter actually comes out warm from all the processing…perfect to use as a topping for ice cream, one of the perks of being the cook 🙂

I’ve been enjoying it on a toasted english muffin with some honey drizzled on top!  I’m already thinking of different variations on this cashew butter…perhaps maple cinnamon or dark chocolate?  Will let you know how my taste tests turn out!  Any other suggestions?

Homemade Cashew Butter

2 cups cashews, roasted and salted

Pour cashews into your food processor or high powered blender.  Process for a total of 15 minutes, scraping down the sides every 5 minutes until you have a silky, creamy consistency.  If you’d like it chunky, add in a few cashews at the end and pulse to combine.

It’s another week that has just flown by.  I took Ryan for his 2 month checkup yesterday…he is already almost 12 pounds!  He got his 2 month shots and both Malia and I got our flu shots.  We all survived, although Ryan was pretty sad all day.  Good thing he has a silly older sister to make him laugh 🙂

I am so thankful for these two lovely children!  We are going to have another relaxing weekend watching football, continuing the couch to 5K program, and having a get-together with some of my friends from high school and their children!  Hope you all have a great weekend 🙂

What are your favorite things to make on your own, or what is a convenience food that you would like to learn to make on your own?

I would like to learn how to make my own tortillas, pita bread, and pasta!

What are you doing this weekend?

13 thoughts on “Homemade Cashew Butter

  1. Hey, this one doesn’t sound too far. I may just have to give it a try. I’ve always wanted to try almond butter…maybe I’ll just try making my own! Thanks as always for the inspiration, Maura!

    • Ooh, yes almond butter would be great!! If you use raw unsalted almonds, then I would recommend toasting them beforehand and adding in some kosher salt to taste. I loved using the already roasted and salted nuts, because it cut down on that step 🙂 You can add in some canola oil if you want to make it more spreadable, but I found that I didn’t need it! Super easy and Malia loved it too 🙂

      What are you guys up to this weekend? Big hugs to Seth 🙂

Leave a Reply

