Trader Joe’s Favorites

My mom just came back from a trip to Boston to spend time with my brother and sister-in-law, and their new baby!  She knew that I would love some treats from Trader Joe’s because we don’t have one here in Hawaii, and these are some of the goodies she brought back.

Oh my goodness, I know I may be late on the bandwagon, but have you guys tried this dark chocolate caramel and black sea salt bar?  It is so delicious.  The dark chocolate encases a layer of rich, sweet caramel and then you get the hint of saltiness at the end, it’s an incredible combination!  And those snickerdoodles…so chewy and soft, with lots of cinnamon goodness!  Those were my two favorite things so far, I think 🙂  The meyer lemon cookies are really thin, crispy cookies with a punch of lemon flavor…perfect with a steaming cup of tea in the evening!  Thanks, Lisa, for suggesting those!

Ah, cookie butter!  Do you guys see that this jar is already broken into? 🙂  I’ve been dying to try it after seeing it all over the internet, and it definitely did not disappoint.  I love the gingerbread flavor and the cookie texture.  It’s been great on a toasted english muffin with honey, melted on top of my whole wheat pumpkin waffles and ice cream.  I asked my mom to bring back the Fleur de Sel caramel sauce, but she brought these actual caramels instead…so glad she did!  Can’t get enough of that sweet and salty combination.  As you can tell, I’ve been on a bit of a sweet kick lately…bring back the vegetables…well after I have another scoop of cookie butter please 🙂  This little girl couldn’t wait to dig in!

These honey roasted peanuts are the perfect snack.  I am thinking about making my own peanut butter out of them, maybe mixed with some cookie butter for an added twist?

And last, but certainly not least, trader joe’s thai yellow curry sauce!  I normally love the thai red curry sauce, and am excited to try the yellow again.  It’s going to be dinner tonight, with chicken, broccoli and eggplant!

What are some of your favorite Trader Joe’s products?

I’m dying to know.  My brother said he will send more if we tell him exactly what to buy, so please share your favorites!

32 thoughts on “Trader Joe’s Favorites

  1. We drive an hour to go to HT. Their ginger snaps are amazing and I don’t even like ginger snaps! Awesome with coffee!

    • Wow, that’s dedication!! Totally worth it though 🙂 I think I’ve had their ginger snaps before, they really taste like ginger, right?

      • Yup. Very simple ingredient list and they have candied ginger, powdered ginger, and fresh ginger all added. They were especially amazing when I had morning sickness.

  2. thanks for those recs, i’m going to get them next time. the trader giotti’s spicy arribiatta spaghetti sauce and the three cheese sauce are good pasta sauces. the cheddar cheese puffs are a yummy salty snack (like pirate’s bootie), and i agree the sea salt pita chips and mediterranean hummus are great. hawaii needs a trader joe’s!

    • Oh yes, we love those cheese puffs, have you had the sour cream and onion one? I haven’t tried any of their pasta sauces, great suggestion! Yes, Hawaii needs a trader joe’s…but then what would people bring home as gifts? 🙂

  3. Oh my goodness! I am obsessed with their cookie butter but I’ve never seen that chocolate caramel with black sea salt before! Must try! Sweet + Savory = best thing ever.

  4. When I’m too lazy to make my own hummus, I really like TJ’s. I also like their eggplant wrap sandwich. It’s one of the few pre-made sandwiches that are not crazy in the fat content area. It has a great tahini sauce to pour over it. And I’m so glad I read this because I had heard of the cookie butter & then completely forgot!! I’m going there tomorrow & will add that to my TJ list! Thanks!!

    • Ooh, that eggplant wrap sounds really yummy, I love tahini sauce. Let me know what you think of the cookie butter! You are so lucky that you have one near you 🙂

  5. We trek all the way across Manhattan just to get our TJs. My favs: Temptations Nut/Chocolate/Peanut/Dried Cherry Mix, Roasted Red Bell Pepper Hummus with their Tandoori Naan, Toscana Cheese, Pumpkin Bread mix (seasonal), Dark Chocolate Covered Jojos (seasonal), Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies, Orange Chicken! (my new fav)… and so many more!!!

    • Have you tried the Jojos ice cream? It’s SO good! We used to buy that orange chicken weekly when we lived in Philly, that and the frozen microwavable brown rice 🙂 Let me know if you see anything else worth trying!

  6. I totally had a major sweet tooth while breastfeeding. Maybe that’s kicking in for you now, too? Enjoy your goodies! Any time you want any more items let me know. I’ll send them to you!

    • I definitely had a sweet tooth last time while breastfeeding, but not so much this time! It’s more like all those treats are staring at me from the cabinet, and I can’t help but have a little here and there 🙂

  7. Love Trader Joe’s. So funny, I wanted to stop there tonight, but had too many other obligations! I’ll have to get there soon. Snickerdoodles are also a favorite of mine!

    • Ooh, I think you will love those snickerdoodles, they are so soft! For some reason, a trip to Trader Joe’s was always a fun errand, as opposed to normal grocery shopping!

  8. Those caramels sound awesome! And I am so curious to try out the cookie butter since I’ve been seeing it everywhere. My fave TJ treat is their triple ginger cookies. They are super crunchy, yet still a little chewy and utterly addictive.

    • Ooh, I’ve never had those cookies!! That will be on my must-try list for next time 🙂 Definitely try the cookie butter!

  9. Congrats to your brother and his family! first baby? What an exciting time 🙂
    Aww and your mom is so sweet! My mom just went back to Korea last week, and I miss her terribly. We cried our eyes out while doing FaceTime…I need to grow up, huh?
    We don’t have Trader Joe’s here either…I know, I’m so deprived. Naturally, I’m feeling quite jealous right now! Oh, the chocolate sounds fabulous! And look at Malia’s mischievous face! Or is that her trying to melt your heart so she can have another one? hehe
    Hope you have a blessed Sunday..I’m going to try to finish this paper and spend some time with Tim. I’ve neglected him long enough =)

    • Yes, it’s my brother’s first baby!! Ryan and Natalie are only 6 weeks apart 🙂 My parents went from having one grandchild to three in the past few months!

      Moms are the best, aren’t they? I was sad when my mom was gone too. How long is your mom going to be in Korea?

  10. Hi Maura! So glad you got a care package from the mainland! I LOVE the Speculoos butter, and the identical Biscoff spread they sell at other grocery stores. I almost can’t keep it in the house because I will eat it by the spoonful all day long. 🙂

    Hope all is well!

    • Thanks, Liz! Hope you guys are doing well too! I have been guilty of eating the cookie butter with a spoon way too many times…I just made some cashew butter yesterday and now I’m having to keep my spoon out of that one too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

