Whole Wheat Pumpkin Waffles

Fall is upon us!  Well, not technically in Hawaii…but a girl can dream 🙂  That nip in the air, trees changing colors, apple picking, steaming pumpkin lattes!  I love fall.

My mom gave me this Belgian waffle maker when we moved to Hawaii.  She’s been collecting gadgets while I’ve been gone, but never uses them.  So now I am the lucky recipient of a waffle maker, Kitchenaid mixer, and breadmaker!  I’ve never used so many kitchen gadgets in my life!

I’ve been on a waffle kick ever since I made my whole wheat banana bread waffles.  This one has all the goodness of pumpkin and whole wheat, along with warm spices like cinnamon, cloves, and ginger.  It’ll make your whole house smell wonderful 🙂  Like my whole wheat pumpkin chocolate chip bread, I put some cornmeal in the batter to give it a nice crunch.  If you don’t have cornmeal, you can just add extra whole wheat flour.  One of my readers said they put Nutella on the whole wheat banana waffles instead of maple syrup…what a fabulous idea!  I think these pumpkin waffles would be great with some melted cookie butter (Biscoff spread) on top 🙂  I love getting feedback from you all on the recipes and hearing if you tried them…it really does make my day, so keep the comments coming!

Whole Wheat Pumpkin Waffles

1 1/4 cup whole wheat flour

¼ cup cornmeal

2 teaspoons baking powder

3 T honey or maple syrup

2 tsp pumpkin pie spice or 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, ¼ tsp cloves

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup pumpkin puree

1 tsp vanilla

1 egg, beaten

1 1/2 cup milk

2 T melted butter

Mix dry ingredients together.  Whisk wet ingredients together and add to dry.  Grease and preheat your waffle iron.  Pour by 1/3 cup measure into waffle maker for 5 minutes or until golden and crisp.

Note: if you don’t have cornmeal, you can do 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour instead.

What is your favorite kitchen gadget?

What are some of your favorite things about fall?

24 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Pumpkin Waffles

  1. Another yummy Fall recipe! These look great. I’m going to pin them to remember the recipe.

    I would love a Kitchenaid! And a food processor would be nice, also. Right now I really love my Ninja. It’s good to make lots of things, like smoothies and those cookie balls. Mmm…

    • I love my Ninja too 😉 It really does function like a food processor in many ways, and it’s so much easier to clean! Going to use it to make those cookie balls!

  2. Pingback: OPEN FORUM! | healingthymeproducts

  3. For real, I’m totally drooling over these – I can almost taste them (and some yummy bacon to go with)! I’m loving putting pumpkin in everything lately – I’m gonna be sad when this season is over!

    • Me too! I love that pumpkin is healthy and gives that extra moistness to baked goods so you can use a bit less oil/butter…and then eat bacon, of course 🙂 When I eat sweet breakfast items, I always crave a salty side dish, like bacon or sausage! I wish that turkey bacon could get that same crispness as regular bacon…it’s just not the same for me!

    • Haha, we always have bananas too! I like to have a supply of bananas in the freezer too, for smoothies and banana bread. We loved the banana version – let me know if you try it! Hope it’s been a good Monday so far 🙂

  4. Hi, Maura! Hope you had a lovely weekend! It was quite chilly here over here, and it sure got me excited. However, it’s back to summer weather today..so short-lived. Sigh. I really really want to get a waffle maker! I love my panini maker and can’t live without my Vitamix!

  5. Pingback: Kitchen Workout #6 « pugtato

  6. Those waffles look AMAZING! And I love pumpkin anything! Yummy! Wish I was sitting down to breakfast with you right now instead of trying to work while caring for a sick Seth!

    • Me too!!! I wish I could take care of you, so you could take care of Seth 🙂 Call me later and let me know how he’s doing!

  7. Oh yum! We used to always have waffles growing up. But, I do not have a waffle maker now, so we go the pancake route when I do something special for breakfast. As far as kitchen gadgets go, I think my stick blender…or my santoku knife – which really isn’t a gadget but gets the most use in my kitchen 🙂

    • I love pancakes too, there’s something so comforting about a huge stack of fluffy pancakes 🙂 You are right, a good knife is essential in the kitchen. My favorite knife is my Ginsu tomato knife…it cuts through tomatoes perfectly without squishing them 🙂

  8. Pingback: Trader Joe’s Favorites « My Healthy 'Ohana

  9. Pingback: Pumpkin Spice Pancakes for One (and my pumpkin bucket list) « Doctorate Housewife

  10. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Banana Bread « Every Waking Color

    • Hi Madie! Yes, absolutely use more whole wheat or all purpose flour. The final product won’t have that crunch to it, but I think it will still be really delicious 🙂 Thanks for the question!

Leave a Reply

