Cherry Lime Pie

When my sister-in-law came to visit recently, she made us this delicious cherry lime pie.  Colleen blogs over at The Great Migration about her adventures living in Brazzaville, Congo.  She is a self-taught cook, and I’ve been so impressed that she went from not really cooking at all just a short while ago, to making her own bagels and yogurt!  She and I had so much fun in the kitchen during her visit, and I miss her already!  Although I sometimes enjoy the peace of cooking by myself, I absolutely prefer to cook with my little sweetie, friends, and family.  It’s so fun to chat and work together on creating something delicious!

I would never have thought of combining cherry and lime, but the combination of sweet cherry and tart lime in this pie is perfect.  And I love that the lime filling is made with greek yogurt!  You’ve got to try this 🙂

Wouldn’t this be perfect for Christmas?  Or top it with meringue instead of cherries and have a festive St. Patrick’s Day dessert.  Or make it any day, just because it’s delicious 🙂

Check out Colleen’s original post for the recipe and her mini-pie version, especially the ones with a lattice top – they are too cute! 🙂

Cherry Lime Pie

Your favorite prepared 9 inch pie crust (she uses this recipe from Martha Stewart)

Lime Filling

2 eggs

5 egg yolks

1 cup brown sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 T flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup greek yogurt, plain or vanilla

1/4 cup freshly squeezed lime juice

1 T lime zest

3-4 drops green food coloring (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Whisk together all of the ingredients.  Pour filling into prepared 9″ pie crust and bake for 18-21 minutes or until set.  Cool in refrigerator for at least 20 minutes.

Cherry Topping

From all recipes OR use already prepared cherry pie filling

4 cups pitted tart red cherries

1 cup sugar

1/4 cup cornstarch

Place cherries in a saucepan and heat covered over medium heat until it comes to a simmer, about 10 minutes.  Stir often.  In a separate bowl, whisk sugar and cornstarch together and pour that mixture into the saucepan.  Turn heat down to low, and bring to a simmer, cooking untli thickened, about 2 minutes.  Cool completely.  Pour over chilled pie just before serving.

Do you prefer to cook solo or with others?  

What are some new food combinations that friends or family have introduced you to?

12 thoughts on “Cherry Lime Pie

  1. Oooh, yummy! I haven’t had pie in awhile. I think it’s time to remedy that!

    I think I like to cook/bake alone but more because it’s so soothing to me than anything else. But when there are other people cooking with me, it’s fun!

    • Yes, I love pie…really looking forward to my first pumpkin pie of the season!! I also love apple and lemon meringue pie. My mom used to bake those a lot growing up. I appreciate all the time and effort that goes into making a good pie, the crust and the filling, and sometimes the meringue topping 🙂

      There’s something so therapeutic about creating a wholesome meal or a sweet treat for the family. Wish we could bake in the kitchen together! 🙂

  2. I also generally like cooking by myself – but I agree, with friends and family it can sometimes be so fun. Especially with desserts! My sister and I always have a big cookie baking day before Christmas and I look forward to it so much!

    • Aw, that sounds like so much fun!! I love those kinds of traditions. Are you and your sister very close? I always wanted a sister 🙂 Now that I have kids of my own, I keep thinking about what kind of traditions and memories I want to help create for them…baking cookies before Christmas sounds like a good one!

  3. Tim LOVES key lime pie! I haven’t baked a pie in…oh goodness..I can’t even remember the last time… but I def want to make this for him one of these days…I like to cook by myself because it’s me time. I get to zone out and just do my thing. I get into my groove so to speak 😉 Tim tried cooking with me once…he just got in my way haha. However, come holidays, more people the better! It’s how I get to catch up and spend quality time with people I’ve missed so much!
    Wow! Congo? I’m def checking out her site now! Bet she has so many incredible stories and experiences to share!

Leave a Reply

