Whole Wheat Banana Bread Waffles

We had such a fun weekend!  Saturday we went to an air show at the Kaneohe Marine Corp Base.  There were a lot of stunt pilots doing cool tricks, and huge military aircraft.  We were hoping to see the Blue Angels, but had to leave before they started flying.  Luckily, we were able to see them from my cousin’s deck on Sunday.  We were there for my uncle’s 89th birthday party!  Malia had such a fun time playing in the pool with her cousins 🙂

A wooden spoon makes a great paddle 🙂
On the weekends, I try to make breakfasts that I don’t normally have time for during the week.  These waffles are super simple to make and I love the flavors of banana bread in waffle form!  The crispy edges and tender interior are just comfort on a plate 🙂  These are made with 100% whole wheat flour and sweetened only with honey and the natural sweetness from the bananas.  They were so delicious, especially with some maple syrup on top.  You can freeze them and toast them up for a quick and healthy weekday breakfast too!

Whole Wheat Banana Bread Waffles

1 ½ cup whole wheat flour

2 tsp baking powder

¼ tsp salt

¾ tsp cinnamon

¼ tsp nutmeg

2 bananas, mashed

1 ½ cups milk

2 T honey

1 tsp vanilla

1 egg

2 T melted butter

Mix dry ingredients together in a small bowl (flour through nutmeg).  Whisk wet ingredients together and add to dry.  Mix just to combine.  Pour 1/3 cup of the batter into each side of the waffle maker and cook for 5 minutes or until golden and crisp.  Serve immediately with maple syrup.

Do you eat differently on the weekend for breakfast?  What are your favorite weekend breakfasts?

29 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Banana Bread Waffles

  1. These look so delicious! I might try some to stockpile for weekday mornings. I tried a new waffle recipe this weekend–but they’re always best fresh from the waffle iron.

    • Thanks, Melissa! We just toasted some up for breakfast, and although you’re right that it’s best straight out of the waffle iron, you can’t beat how quick it was 🙂 What kind of waffles did you make?

      • I made a version of “Waffles of Insane Greatness” from Molly Wizenberg at Orangette. Loved the crispiness from the cornstarch in the batter. My theory on making toaster waffles is to undercook them slightly in the waffle iron. Then they don’t get so over done in the toaster.

  2. How good does that look! Yum! We eat much differently on the weekends – usually brunch instead of breakfast and usually more complex things like waffles, or specialty baked goods. It’s a nice way to start unwinding after a long week!

  3. I can’t think of a better use for a wooden spoon. Ha ha that little one cracks me up she’s so adorable.
    Those waffles are worth a try me thinks.

  4. 🙂 Malia looks like she’s having the time of her life in the pool. It looks so nice and warm out there! Summer has already faded into Autumn here! Banana waffles look amazing! Starting to think I need a waffle iron…

  5. Girl, you have my number! These look great. A little whole wheat flour, a little banana, a little honey, plus a ton of other stuff= a great breakfast!

      • Ugh. It’s going. I really want to bake though. And drink coffee. Next Friday is our last day and then you can bet I’ll be baking again! (and drinking coffee. heh)

      • Wow, you gave up coffee too? I’ve been off of caffeine since delivery, and have been doing ok…just had half a diet coke yesterday and was up til midnight, I’m so sensitive to caffeine, think I should just stay off of it entirely!

  6. These look perfect! If I were a bit more disciplined, I would freeze a huge batch of waffles once a month and then pull them out of the freezer for breakfast once in a while during the week. They’re so much better than cereal!

    • Yes, get it fixed!! 🙂 I never owned a waffle maker until we moved to Hawaii, and now I’m hooked. I’m acquiring all my mom’s unused kitchen gadgets. She’s given me her waffle maker, breadmaker, and Kitchenaid mixer. I feel so lucky!

  7. Pingback: Merry Christmas Eve and Christmas brunch ideas! « My Healthy 'Ohana

Leave a Reply

