A Fish Story – Teriyaki Mahimahi

When Patrick’s parents were in town, the one thing his dad wanted to do was go deep sea fishing.  They set out very early in the morning and trolled around for hours without a single bite.  The captain decided to head out to where some birds were congregating (apparently where there are birds, there are fish).  Patrick said it was a huge bird convention, and somewhat scary.  Then, all of a sudden, one of the crew members spotted a mahimahi, and within a few minutes, they had a bite.  Patrick’s dad reeled in this 45 pound beauty of a fish!  I was so impressed!  The only thing I’ve caught was a small trout in Breckenridge, Colorado when I was a kid.  My parents froze it and brought it all the way back to Hawaii 🙂

Needless to say, we now have a ton of mahi filets in our freezer and I can’t wait to cook with them!  We’ve been enjoying it simply grilled with salt and pepper, and with this delicious teriyaki glaze.  I love the combination of sweet and salty in this dish from the honey and soy sauce, and the ginger and garlic really complement all the flavors.  I usually buy a large piece of ginger, peel it and cut it into small pieces, and store them in the freezer.  Then, whenever I need fresh ginger in a recipe, I just take a piece and grate it into the dish.  It grates very easily even straight out of the freezer.  The marinade gets reduced down to a glaze that you brush on top of the fish to give it a golden, caramelized finish.  It’s so delicious on this flaky white fish.  My mother-in-law and I agreed that the marinade would go great with chicken or pork as well!

Teriyaki Glazed Mahimahi

from All Recipes

3 T soy sauce

3 T balsamic vinegar

3 T honey

1 tsp grated ginger

1 garlic clove, minced

2 teaspoons olive oil

4 mahimahi filets (6 oz each)

salt and pepper to taste

Stir together the soy sauce, vinegar, and honey, ginger, garlic and oil.  Marinate filets for about 30 minutes.  Heat a small amount of oil in a skillet over medium-high heat.  Fry the fish for 4-6 minutes per side, turning once.  Pour the rest of the marinade into a small saucepan and heat over medium heat until the mixture reaches a glaze consistency.  Brush glaze over the fish and serve immediately.

Have you gone fishing before and what have you caught?  

13 thoughts on “A Fish Story – Teriyaki Mahimahi

  1. Woah! That is one big fish! Haha!

    Great tip about the ginger. I just bought some fresh, and wasn’t sure what to do with it.

    This looks delicious. I don’t think I’ve had mahimahi before, but it looks good!

  2. How awesome is that?!?! If we lived near the water, I’d send Tim out every weekend to catch me some fish! My dad loves to fish and he used to drag our family every weekend to a nearby beach, Galveston so that we can all learn and enjoy family time. Yes..I say drag bc at that time, I was just not into it. One of my many regrets…I’d love to go fishing with my dad like we used to..

    • Haha, does Tim like to fish? We are trying to learn how to go shore fishing, because the deep sea fishing is way too expensive to do on a regular basis.

      Aw, that is so sweet that your dad used to take you fishing. I can see how as a kid it didn’t seem so much fun as it involves touching bait and waiting a long time before catching anything 🙂 Now I can see how it’s actually good bonding time, as you can just sit there and talk to the other person!

  3. Pingback: Skinny Basil Pesto « My Healthy 'Ohana

Leave a Reply

