Whole Wheat Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread

One of my sweet friends, Lisa, served us this delicious pumpkin bread when we were over at their house for a playdate.  I asked for the recipe, and was surprised to find out that it’s made out of 100% whole wheat flour!  It’s dense, but in a good satisfying way.  It also has some cornmeal in it, which gives a wonderful crunch to the bread.  Although the weather doesn’t feel like fall here, I’m embracing fall flavors and recipes, and can’t wait to start making pumpkin everything 🙂

Start by mixing together the dry ingredients in one bowl.

Then, cream the butter and sugar.  Add in the canned pumpkin, eggs, and water.  Then slowly add in the dry ingredients and mix just to combine.  Fold in the chocolate chips and place in a greased loaf pan.

Bake at 350 degrees for 60-65 minutes for a loaf pan, 30 minutes for mini loaf pans.  I love how the little mini loaves come out and they’re perfect to give away as gifts 🙂

This pumpkin bread tastes like pumpkin pie in cake form with all the wonderful spices: ginger, nutmeg, cinnamon, and cloves!

This is definitely a keeper for this fall season!

Whole Wheat Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread

Makes 2 loaves

2 and 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
1/2 c. cornmeal
2 t. baking soda
1 t. ground ginger
1 and 1/2 t. ground cinnamon
1/2 t. cloves
1/2 t. nutmeg
1/2 t. salt
2/3 c. unsalted butter, at room temp.
1 1/4 c. sugar
2 c. pumpkin puree or canned pumpkin
4 eggs
2/3 c. water
1 c. chocolate chips

Preheat over to 350 degrees. Grease and flour 2 loaf pans.  Stir together dry ingredients (flour through salt).  In separate bowl, cream together butter and sugar. Add in pumpkin, eggs, and water and beat to combine.  Add dry ingredients just until blended. Stir in chocolate chips.  Pour into two prepared pans and bake until skewer inserted in center of loaf comes out clean, 60-65 minutes. Cool in pans 10 min, then turn onto wire rack to cool completely.

What are some of your favorite fall flavors?

30 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread

  1. Yum! That looks delicious. And I love that it has wholewheat flour and cornmeal in it! If I could but canned pumpkin I would totally try it out!

      • Seriously? You’re fantastic! But I totally want to pay you for the pumpkin/postage, so do you have like paypal? Or can I send it via western union?

      • How about if I get the pumpkin and you get the postage? They come in 15 oz or 29 oz cans, any preference on size and how many? What else are you craving from the states? 🙂

      • No I’ll pay for it all! Definitely the postage, it will be a killer! Would you send me a care package?! Please? 🙂 Because I would totally love some peanut butter chips, some toffee chips, and if you can get your hands on it, some Biscoff spread. And probably enough pumpkin to make a pie and your bread! Hahaha is that all too much? What can I send you from Australia? Tim Tams anyone? 😀
        PS. If it’s a hassle at all, just let me know!

      • Oh that’s so so lovely of you! Thank you so much! Let me know how much and how I can pay you! And if you want anything from this end of the world 🙂

      • Natasha, send me an email with your mailing address, please! I’m hoping to send it the package out early this week 🙂 I have paypal, but I’m not sure how much shipping is going to cost yet!

  2. Pingback: Whole Wheat Pumpkin Waffles « My Healthy 'Ohana

  3. Pingback: Baby Update and Streusel Topped Pumpkin Bread « My Healthy 'Ohana

Leave a Reply

