100 Ways You Know You’re A Mom

Lisa-Jo Baker recently posted her list: here are some of my favorites 🙂

1.  You feel naked if you leave the house without Cheerios. (I always have snacks and water in my bag in case of hunger emergencies!)

2.  You cry with happiness when one of your children consents to eating broccoli. (Malia is a super picky eater, but broccoli is one of the few veggies that she actually likes)

3.  Your kids ask you what the iron is for (I never iron anything and only buy clothes that I think won’t require an iron, is that sad?)

4.  You would rather have someone help you with the laundry than anything else in the world. (The other day, Patrick unloaded the washer and put the clothes in the dryer…and he did the dishes in the sink, I could have kissed his feet 🙂

5.  Having kids has taught you how to love and be loved like nothing else on earth. (So true – I didn’t know I was capable of this kind of sacrificial, unconditional love until I had kids, and I have received so much love and joy in return!)

6.  You pray. About everything. Because you’ve learned you can hardly control anything. (Amen.  Most of the time my life is on the brink of chaos, and I am NOT in control, no matter how much I want to be!)

7.  You know how bad stepping on a piece of Lego can feel (So painful!)

Check out the whole list: they are hilarious and touching!

What would you add from your own experience or from your mom’s experience?  

16 thoughts on “100 Ways You Know You’re A Mom

  1. 1. As much as you hate to admit it, some days Dora and Diego on Netflix are your best friends.
    2. Staying up past 10pm is late and sleeping in until 8AM is a treat.
    3. Driving has never been so relaxing.
    4. How easily you give in just to get them to stop crying/whining/pouting.
    5. How relaxing bath and bedtime used to be when it was just yourself you were taking care of.
    6. You would rather get hurt 100 times over than see your child hurt.

    • I love this one! My brother and I were always constructing forts. One time we made a really good one that didn’t let in any light, and so we decided to make lights with candles. We made paper candle holders and taped them to the pillows with the lit candles inside. Needless to say, we burned the couch pillows. The house remained intact, thank goodness! I hope my kids will use their creativity to build forts, but no matches or candles for them 🙂

  2. I don’t have kids yet, but I’m with you on the iron – really I look at it and I just think, “why?” =p

    The picture of your two little ones is adorable!

  3. Haha! This post made me laugh! I’m with you..I only buy clothes that doesn’t require ironing…And dry clean only? Forget about it! No thank you!
    Your husband sounds so wonderful! Way to go, Patrick! And again, LOVE the picture of your precious children!

    • Thanks, Min…now I don’t feel so bad 🙂 I try to avoid dry cleaning too, it’s way too expensive! My mom uses Dryel, it’s dry cleaning that you can do at home in your dryer. But then you have to iron…haha!

      I got really lucky with Patrick 🙂

Leave a Reply

