Honey Rosemary Grilled Pork Chops

I love pork chops, and this grilled version with a simple honey and rosemary glaze is perfect for these summer nights and Labor Day weekend!  The flavors are brightened by a little bit of lemon juice, and made spicy with some freshly minced garlic.  Rosemary and garlic are a match made in heaven 🙂  I made these as a main dish to go with my thyme and cheddar buttermilk biscuits.  I love using the fresh herbs in my garden!

Season your pork chops with olive oil, salt and pepper.  Then, brush both sides with a mixture of honey, olive oil, lemon juice, rosemary, and garlic.  If you have extra time, marinate the pork chops in the mixture for about 30 minutes before cooking.

Heat your grill or saute pan to medium.  Brush the grates with vegetable oil so your chops don’t stick.  Cook the chops until the internal temperature reaches 160 degrees, about 6 minutes per side.  Allow them to cool before slicing so the juices have time to redistribute.  Enjoy!  These were delicious with biscuits, but I imagine they would go great with some roasted potatoes or an herbed couscous.

Hope you all have a wonderful Labor Day weekend!  We are going to be watching the Notre Dame vs Navy football game very early on Saturday morning.  They are playing in Dublin, Ireland and because of the time difference to Hawaii, the game will air at 3 AM!  Luckily, my husband is going to DVR it and wake up at 5 AM instead, so we can catch up to real time by the end of the game.  You can tell how important this is to him 🙂  My dad and brother are just as obsessed with Notre Dame football as my husband, so this was an instant bonding point for them.  I’ll be lucky if I’m conscious at 5 AM…I definitely treasure my sleep!  I’ll be making these for breakfast for my hungry football fans 🙂

Honey Rosemary Grilled Pork Chops

1/4 cup honey

2 Tbsp olive oil, divided

2 T fresh lemon juice

2 Tbsp chopped fresh rosemary

2 cloves garlic, minced

4 6-ounce boneless pork chops, each about 3/4-inch thick

Salt and pepper

Heat your grill to medium and brush the grates with vegetable oil.

Combine the honey, 1 T of olive oil, lemon juice, chopped rosemary and garlic.  Season the pork chops on both sides with the remaining tablespoon of olive oil, salt and pepper.  Brush with the glaze on both sides or if you have extra time, marinate the chops in the mixture for 30 minutes to an hour ahead of time.  Cook on the grill with the lid closed for about 6-8 minutes on each side, checking to make sure they don’t burn.  You can check that the internal temperature reaches 160 degrees to make sure they are fully cooked.  Allow the chops to rest for 5 minutes before slicing.

What are your plans for Labor Day weekend?

20 thoughts on “Honey Rosemary Grilled Pork Chops

  1. I actually have pork chops at home that I need to do something with tonight. I hadn’t put much thought into it. I do have Rosemary and thyme, so maybe I’ll do both recipes, and some herb-roasted Yukon potatoes! Yummo! Our plans for the weekend are still up in the air. In the Salt Lake City area right now there are about a dozen different street fairs and festivals going on. I guess we’ll just pick one and go!

    • Ooh, I bet it will go perfectly with those herb roasted potatoes…I love Yukon Golds, they’re much more buttery than regular potatoes!

      I’ve always wanted to visit Salt Lake City…we love Utah and all the hiking around Zion. Street festivals sound like a great summer activity 🙂

  2. Tasty. I agree with the rosemary and garlic heavenly match. Truth be told, I find it difficult to cook without garlic. Love it – gives such a great flavor.

  3. Guuurrrl how do you grow that rosemary?! There’s something about me and not being able to keep it alive, lol. This recipe sounds amazing – gonna save it for later! 😉

    • Haha, I just put it in a sunny spot, water regularly, and hope for the best 🙂 This is the first time that I’ve been able to keep plants alive, I normally have a black thumb! We really enjoyed these pork chops, so simple but really yummy. Hope you had a great labor day weekend!!

  4. Oh my goodness, I have to make these next time Craig comes!! It is all things he will eat 🙂 I get pretty excited when I find recipes that Craig will like and they’re easy. THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!

  5. Pingback: Balsamic Maple Glazed Pork Chops | Anythingfood. Recipes, Restaurant Reviews and More!

  6. Pingback: A Grow Box Giveaway!! « My Healthy 'Ohana

Leave a Reply

