The Birth Story

The night before I went into labor, I told Patrick that I felt different.  It’s hard to place exactly what that feeling was.  Motherly intuition?  The start of contractions?  Patrick packed his bag, just in case.  It’s a good thing he did, because when I woke up the next morning at 7 AM, I was having contractions that were about 3 minutes apart!  At first, I wasn’t sure if they really were contractions, but it became apparent within half an hour that I was definitely going into labor.  Cue the big breakfast…I was not about to go into labor starving!  The contractions were increasing in intensity, to the point where I had to stop what I was doing until they passed.  By the time I got to the hospital 2 hours later, I was 7 cm dilated and 95% effaced!  Patrick met me there…I was so happy to see him, just his presence made me feel calmer 🙂  When they wheeled me onto the labor floor, they said that our daughter could be present for the delivery.  I couldn’t have been more thrilled!  Some people have wondered if that was traumatizing for her, but in fact, I think she loved being a part of that moment and welcoming her baby brother!

My parents were there for the delivery too!  Here’s my dad and I.

I had an epidural with Malia, and had a wonderful birth experience!  It had been a given that I would have another epidural with this pregnancy, but at the last moment, when the anesthesiologist arrived, I had a change of heart.  The contractions were manageable, and for a brief moment, I thought, “I can handle this!”  My nurse convinced me that once I reached the pushing stage, I would be begging for an epidural and they might not be able to get me one.  Since I hadn’t made any preparations for a natural birth, I agreed.  We decided to use the least amount of medication as possible, so they turned the rate down on the epidural to very low.  I was able to feel him descending lower, and knew when it was time to start pushing.  This was absolutely the right decision for me, but I can completely understand why women would want to labor on their own for many reasons!  I loved the pushing stage of labor with Malia and felt the same way with this pregnancy.  With Malia, I pushed for almost 2 hours, but with this little guy, it took less than 10 minutes!!

Everyone told me it would be faster the second time around, but I had no idea it would be this quick!  Before I knew it, I was holding baby Ryan in my arms 🙂  He was a little blue when he first came out, and Malia was there waving a sponge stick at him, and telling him to “pink up”!  It was a very sweet moment.  I can’t adequately describe how I felt when I first saw him, it was a mixture of joy and awe and immediate bonding love!

His first big cries!  Look at all that hair!

Proud mommy and daddy.  I love this man…truly 🙂  He was wonderfully supportive throughout this whole pregnancy, and kept me laughing throughout the labor and delivery.  He even made a last minute trip to get an SD card for our camera (I had left it in the computer in my rush to get to the hospital), and picked up some treats for after I delivered!

The hospital staff were wonderful.  As soon as I delivered him, they put Ryan skin to skin on my chest.  Some hospitals will take the baby right away to get cleaned and weighed, but I definitely wanted Ryan to be with me from the second he was born 🙂  They also encouraged me to start nursing him right away…it’s amazing how instinctual that is for babies.

Here he is all cleaned up and cozy 🙂  Ryan definitely takes after Patrick more, and we also think he looks a lot like his sister!

My parents took Malia home to have a nap, and then brought her back that evening so they could all spend quality time with baby Ryan!  Ryan is the third grandchild for my parents (my brother just had a baby girl a month earlier), and the fifth grandchild on Patrick’s parents side.

I was a little nervous about how Malia would react to a new baby.  We’ve been talking about baby brother for months now, and she’s always been excited about him, but I didn’t know what the reality would be like.  From the moment she met him, she has been absolutely loving and welcoming to baby Ryan!  There hasn’t been a hint of jealousy.  She loves holding him, giving him lots of hugs ands kisses and helping to change his diapers.  Even though I feed him every two hours, she hasn’t gotten upset about the loss of attention at all.  We feel so blessed that she has immediately accepted him as part of our family 🙂

 

She adores him!

First of many kisses for baby brother 🙂

 

We stayed in the hospital for two days, and are now happily settled at home.  The recovery process has been very smooth, thankfully!  Now I just have to get used to waking up every two hours at night again!  Sleep deprivation leads to lots of forgetful moments these days 🙂  Although Ryan’s due date was only 2 days ago, we couldn’t imagine our lives without him the past two weeks!!

26 thoughts on “The Birth Story

  1. I’ve been waiting for this!!! Such a great birth story, I wish mine would be so quick and easy like yours. And it’s wonderful that Malia could be there too and that she loves him without any jealousy! so happy for you all!!! 🙂

  2. what a wonderful story of your family growing. makes me so happy and excited for you guys. we definitely owe you a visit on our next trip to hawaii – i’m thinking maybe in june for our punahou reunion!

  3. What a beautiful story! What beautiful parents! What beautiful grandparents! Two beautiful, beautiful children. Many wishes to you and your entire family.

  4. OH Maura…This post is soo touching..I was so emotional reading this. And those pictures…priceless..I can tell Malia adores her lil brother! Look at how she’s looking at him! Such a beautiful family! Congratulations again! God is good!

  5. Yay, Maura! I hope Seth will take to his little sister as immediately as Malia has taken to Ryan. We can’t wait to see you in less than two weeks!

  6. HE’S SO CUTE!!!! I can’t believe how similar our whole motherhood experiences have been, down to the scarfing down that last meal amidst painful contractions! haha! My hospital also put Lily right up on my chest as soon as she was out and I thought I would be squeamish but I actually loved it too. 🙂 Congrats again, Maura! More pics!

  7. What a sweet birth story!:) It brought tears to my eyes! I’m so impressed that Malia and your family were able to be there during the birth. I’m glad you are all settling in well there. We miss you in Vegas!

Leave a Reply

