Homemade Mango Sorbet

I love mangoes, especially the varieties in Hawaii that are so flavorful and creamy in texture.  My mom had saved me some mangoes from my uncle’s tree, and since I’ve been experimenting with my ice cream maker, I decided to try making mango sorbet.  Oh my goodness, this was so refreshing and bursting with fresh mango flavor!  Plus, it’s very simple with only three ingredients.  In a food processor or high powdered blender, blend together mangos, cooled simple syrup, and lime juice until it forms a smooth puree.  I made my simple syrup by heating 1 cup water and 1 cup sugar in a medium saucepan over low heat until the sugar is dissolved.  This will make slightly more than the 1 cup you need, but you can use the extra to sweeten your iced tea or coffee the next day 🙂

Chill mixture in refrigerator and then place in your ice cream maker and freeze according to manufacturer instructions.  I put mine in for 25 minutes.

Place in an air-tight container in your freezer to harden, and then remove to countertop or refrigerator to soften before serving.

This is the perfect summery sweet treat!  It’s too bad my husband is allergic to mangoes, poor guy.  I’m going to make it up to him by making peach ice cream this week 🙂  You can use frozen, thawed mangoes if you don’t have access to fresh, or substitute other fruit if desired.

Homemade Mango Sorbet

From Allrecipes.com

4 mangos, seeded and cubed

1 cup simple syrup

3 T lime juice

In a food processor or high powered blender, puree mangoes with cooled simple syrup and lime juice.  I made my simple syrup by mixing 1 cup water and 1 cup sugar in a medium saucepan over low heat until the sugar is dissolved.  Chill in refrigerator for 1 hour.  Pour into your ice cream maker and freeze according to manufacturers instructions.  Mine took 25 minutes.  Put into an air tight container and store in the freezer to harden. If it is too hard to scoop, leave it in the refrigerator for 20 minutes before serving, or on the counter for 10 minutes to soften.

19 thoughts on “Homemade Mango Sorbet

  1. yum! i wished i had a mango tree! my husband thought he was allergic to mangos too, but it turns out he’s only allergic to certain kinds. he’s okay with the ones from the Philippines.

    • that’s good to know! my husband had mangoes all his life without any problems, it’s only the one he had in Hawaii and a package of dried mangoes (but I’m not sure where they were from) that caused a reaction.

  2. Oooh…Yum! Mango is my favorite sorbet flavor! I liked the ice cream also but def not as refreshing! I actually have Zoku, a popsicle maker, that’s just been collecting dust somewhere..Do you think I can just pour the liquid in there and freeze? I don’t have an ice cream maker..that’s what I should’ve purchased instead..

    • Ooh, I have been drooling over those Zoku makers for a while now! I don’t see why it wouldn’t work to make popsicles, that would be a really fun way to eat it 🙂 How was your first day?? I’m dying to know!

      • I really wanted it, but now that I have it, I don’t use it nearly enough! Funny how that happens. First day of school was quite overwhelming. Parking was horrendous and just walking around campus with my heavy backpack in triple digit weather was just brutal. But the classes sound really interesting so that’s good! A lot of writing involved though…and research..ahh here I go..

Leave a Reply

