Thyme and Cheddar Buttermilk Biscuits

Biscuits are definitely a big comfort food for me…slathered in good butter and maybe some sausage and gravy 🙂  I wanted to make some that were a bit healthier than the usual, but still with great texture and flavor.  Since I’ve been growing herbs, I thought thyme seemed like a good choice, especially as a side for pork chops.

The dough comes together quite easily.  Mix together the flour, salt, baking soda and baking powder.  Cut in the chilled butter with two forks or a pastry cutter.  I just got my first pastry cutter (I know, I’m behind the times), and I love it!  It makes the process of incorporating the butter so easy.  Stir in the thyme and cheddar cheese.  Add in the buttermilk.  You will have a soft dough, turn it out onto a floured surface and knead lightly.

Fold over on itself about 4-5 times and then pat into a rectangle about 1/2-3/4 inch thick.  This recipe makes 6 small biscuits.  I don’t have a biscuit cutter, so I just cut mine into squares.  I love the flecks of thyme and cheddar you can see throughout the dough.  Brush with extra buttermilk, and bake in a 400 degree oven for 10-15 minutes, until golden.

These came out very savory from the thyme and cheddar, perfect as a side for our pork chops!  Hope you all have a great weekend!  I’m about to brave the grocery store with both Ryan and Malia, hoping we don’t have any meltdowns 🙂

Thyme and Cheddar Buttermilk Biscuits

1 cup flour
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1.5 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
2 T butter, chilled and cubed
1/2 tsp chopped thyme
1 slice cheddar cheese
1/2 cup buttermilk plus extra for topping

Mix together flour, salt, baking soda and baking powder.  Cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs.  Stir in thyme and cheddar cheese.  Finally, add buttermilk.  Turn the dough out onto a floured surface.  Knead, turning dough over on itself 4-5 times to create flaky layers.  Pat into a disk or rectangle.  Cut out with biscuit cutter or just cut with a knife into squares.  I made 6 small biscuits.  Bake at 400 degrees F for 12-15 minutes.

56 thoughts on “Thyme and Cheddar Buttermilk Biscuits

  1. Those biscuits look delicious and just in time for the fall season. Yum! You cracked me up with the meltdown statement – how did the grocery shopping go?

    • Haha, thanks Carol! As predicted, Malia had a meltdown right as we entered the store. She threw herself to the ground, screaming and crying for no apparent reason, and then threw up her granola bar. The funniest part was that everyone ignored her, no one paid her any mind or shot me a dirty look! After a couple minutes, she pulled herself up and started gleefully pointing out all the fruits and veggies – that’s a 2 year old for you! 🙂 Ryan slept through the whole excursion, and we made it home in one piece 🙂

  2. Those do look good. Sage might be very nice too… it alwys goes with pork and there is an English cheese vey like cheddar that is made with sage leaves in the blend 🙂

  3. I should probably get a pastry cutter too, but having managed this long without, will probably never get round to it!
    This looks like a good recipe; I’ll probably double it as we are pretty bread-obsessed in my family. Thanks for sharing!
    Wendy

    • Thanks! You can make your own buttermilk by adding 1/2 tablespoon of white vinegar or lemon juice to 1/2 cup of milk. Let it stand for 5 minutes. You could also use 1/2 cup of plain yogurt instead. Hope this helps! Let me know how they turn out 🙂

    • Do you have access to double-acting baking powder? You can substitute 2 teaspoon of double acting baking powder for every teaspoon of baking soda, and then instead of using buttermilk, you use regular milk because you don’t need the acidity from the buttermilk with baking powder. In this recipe, I would just use 3 teaspoons of double acting baking powder instead of the baking soda and baking powder, and substitute regular milk for the buttermilk. Hope this helps!! I didn’t know you couldn’t get baking soda in the Netherlands!

  4. I’m so jealous of your herb garden! And I don’t have a pastry cutter yet..Am I really behind the times? I’ve never made biscuits before! I find it rather intimidating. I always associate biscuits with my dad..My dad’s fav dish at IHOP is biscuits smothered in gravy..such fond memories there..

  5. Pingback: Thyme and Cheddar Buttermilk Biscuits « MyBlissPoint

  6. mmmm! jesus i am so hungry now haha. these look amazing! would be good with a savoury-ish jam. like a chutney. or slathered in butter. but then again, most things would be delicious slathered in butter.

  7. Pingback: Honey Rosemary Grilled Pork Chops « My Healthy 'Ohana

  8. Pingback: Thyme and Cheddar Buttermilk Biscuits (recipe) « Live, Laugh, Love

  9. Pingback: A Grow Box Giveaway!! « My Healthy 'Ohana

Leave a Reply

