The First Week

We are getting settled into a routine with two kids.  Ryan is so sweet, he basically sleeps and eats…and occasionally gives us these wonderful smiles 🙂  He can sleep through all kinds of noises…dog barking, mixer going, doors slamming, Malia screaming around the house.  It’s pretty amazing!  Malia would startle and wake up to any noise, so I’m totally not used to it.  She’s been a wonderful big sister…helping to change diapers, playing with Ryan and showing him how to use the toys, stroking his head and telling him not to cry…it’s so heartwarming 🙂

Ryan’s been sleeping up to 4 hour stretches at night, so I’m feeling pretty good these days!  I’ve also had help from my husband and parents, which has made all the difference.  My mom will pop over and take Malia out to play so I can rest or spend one-on-one time with Ryan.  We’ve actually been baking together quite a bit since the baby arrived…banana bread, lemon blueberry bread, bran muffins 🙂

An immeasurable amount of joy has been added to our lives with Ryan’s arrival!  He wasn’t due to arrive until next week Monday, but after spending a week with him, I can’t imagine our lives without him.

25 thoughts on “The First Week

  1. He can smile at one week??? that’s amazing!!! I want a baby that sleeps and eat!
    Everything seems going so well.
    Looking forward to read the birth story. 🙂

  2. Look at that smile!!! I don’t know much about babies (I haven’t really been around them much) but I didn’t know that they smiled so early! For some reason I thought it was a while. I can’t get over how cute he is 🙂

    • You’re totally right, Michelle…it’s usually around a month that they start smiling…so this smile may have just been gas 🙂 He gets these little grins when he’s feeding though, it’s the cutest thing. It’s like he’s dreaming about something really nice 🙂

      Hope you had a great day of classes!!

  3. O.M.G. He is so absolutely gorgeous!!!!!!!!! All the pictures are great, but … the photo of Ryan sleeping with his arms folded … do you not want to scoop him up and smother him with kisses. And Malia being such a wonderful big sister is a blessing. Gorgeous, simply gorgeous.

  4. he is so ADORABLE! I can’t believe it’s already been a week! He already looks so developed, especially in that last picture. YEY! 🙂 and a good sleeper too?! What a champ! glad to hear how well it’s going.

    • Wow, you are reading blogs already too?? Lily must be a very good girl 🙂 Hope you are getting some rest in the hospital! How are things going? Wish we could have a picture of Ryan and Lily together, haha 🙂

  5. What great pictures! He’s sooo adorable and I love to hear stories of little “big” siblings helping with a new baby 🙂 I always wanted to help with my sister… it was like having a real live baby doll! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

