Refrigerator Bran Muffins

My aunty recently made these for me, and I loved them!  Usually when I think of bran muffins, I assume they are so healthy to the point of being not very tasty, but these are seriously delicious.  The best part is that the batter makes enough for 60 muffins and you can keep the wet batter in the refrigerator for up to 3-6 weeks and just bake off what you need.  It’s perfect for when you just want to make one or two in the morning, or are looking for something easy on hand to take to friends or family.

I made this batch for a mom that just had her third child…it’s something healthy she can give her kids in the morning, and I guarantee the kids won’t be complaining about eating them 🙂  You can mix in raisins, chopped banana, nuts, dried apples, dates, or whatever you have on hand!  It’s a great breakfast treat that will keep you full and satisfied.

Refrigerator Bran Muffins

Makes 60 muffins

2 cups boiling water
2 cups Nabisco 100% Bran, or Bran flakes or buds
1 cup shortening or butter
2 cups white sugar
1 quart buttermilk
5 tsp baking soda
4 beaten eggs
5 cups flour
1 tsp salt
4 cups Kellogg’s All Bran cereal

Mix water with Nabisco bran and let stand to soften.  Cream shortening or butter with sugar and eggs – add buttermilk and scalded Bran.  Sift flour, soda, and salt, then add to the mixture.  Fold in Kellogg’s Bran til moistened.  Bake in greased muffin tins 2/3 full for 20-30 minutes at 375 degrees F.  Makes 60 muffins.

Note: batter may be stored in the refrigerator for 3-6 weeks in an airtight container and bake as needed.  May add chopped dates, raisins, bananas, dried apples before baking.

What are some of your favorite health foods?

19 thoughts on “Refrigerator Bran Muffins

    • Yes! And it keeps for so long in the fridge, so you can make a big batch and just bake a few or a dozen off as you need them 🙂 They taste really yummy too, I just baked some yesterday with chopped up bananas in them, and I’ve also done it with raisins.

  1. HI, Maura! I’m back from HLS! def have a lot of catching up to do! I’ve been feeling very frantic all day, but reading your post always puts a smile on my face 😉
    How are you? How are you posting? You’re truly a supermom! Wow 60 muffins? I love that! As my life is about to get very crazy, having extra batter on hand will be so awesome! Have you thought about joining pinterest? I would totally pin your recipes! 😉

    • Welcome back!! I’m actually doing really well…Ryan is a very calm baby, loves to sleep and eat 🙂 He’s sleeping up to 4 hours stretches at night, so I’m not really sleep deprived! Patrick and my parents have been really wonderful, and I just feel so blessed and thankful to have them. How are you doing now that you’re back at home? Why is your life about to get crazy??

      • OH that’s wonderful! HLS was def fun, but I’m glad to be back home with my boys ;). My school and job starts on Monday so going to try to make the most out of what little time I have left!

      • Yes, definitely get in some good quality time with Tim and Kona!! Thinking of you and praying for your first days at school and work. What will your schedule be like? Can’t wait to hear about it 🙂

  2. Great photos, these look so awesome! The 1 cup of butter scared me, but then you said it makes 60 muffins so that’s totally fine. Maybe I can make these and mix it up at breakfast for a change, instead of my usual toast with peanut butter and bananas, which is nice, but have had it almost everyday for the past few months..

    • These make a great breakfast! I eat almost the same thing every morning too, except it’s PB and banana on an english muffin, or sometimes I’m really crazy and put some kind of jam on top instead 😉 Creature of habit! Yes, the 1 cup of butter gets distributed over 60 muffins and they’re actually pretty healthy!

  3. Pingback: The First Week « My Healthy 'Ohana

  4. Pingback: Freshly Pressed! « My Healthy 'Ohana

  5. Pingback: Sunday Seven (plus 1) Shout Outs!

Leave a Reply

