Pregnancy Update – 37 weeks

We made it to 37 weeks (full term)!!

At my last appt, I was 2 cm dilated.  My Ob proceeded to tell me that I was probably going to deliver “any day now”.  I hadn’t registered at the hospital, packed a hospital bag, installed the car seat, or mentally prepared myself to deliver “any day now”!  She also said that I was measuring small, so I would need an ultrasound to check on baby’s size.  All of this thrown at me at once contributed to a mild freak out moment.

This week, I am registered at the hospital, hospital bag is packed, car seat is installed, and I am mentally prepared for my Ob to tell me that I am imminently about to deliver.  Of course, I am still 2 cm!  I couldn’t be happier though, I’d like for baby boy to stay in there for as long as he needs to.  Our daughter was born only 2 days early, so I’m hoping he will follow a similar trend.  We got our ultrasound today and saw this view of his sweet face!  Whose lips are those?!  They said not to worry about measuring small because he’s already almost 7 pounds, and if I went to my due date, he would be over 8 pounds!  What a relief 🙂

One of my friends from high school sent me an audio clip from her baby hypnosis class, called “Baby Stay In”.  There have been numerous studies looking at how hypnosis reduces the perception of pain, such that people have been able to undergo surgery using only hypnosis.  It’s pretty amazing, and speaks to how powerful the mind/body connection is.  The audio clip definitely relaxed me, such that I’ve fallen asleep almost every time I’ve listened to it.  And baby is staying in (at least for now)!

Thanks for all your support through this pregnancy!  I will keep posting with updates until delivery, and have saved up some fun recipes to post during those busy first few weeks 🙂

22 thoughts on “Pregnancy Update – 37 weeks

  1. good luck with the homestretch maura…..before the real marathon begins:) i’m so excited for you guys. i listened to some of my sister’s hypno-birth cds before i delivered sebi and i thought it helped too. didn’t really use it during labor but i think the preparation was helpful.

    • Haha, you are so right! I’m trying to give Malia as much one-on-one time as I can now, and will have to try to keep it up once baby boy is here! So excited for you guys too 🙂

  2. So so excited for you and your family. I can’t wait to see you (Malia, Patrick, and Kona) and meet the lil guy in just a few weeks! Hang in there!!! Keeping my fingers crossed for a smooth & fast delivery and a quick recovery for you!

  3. It’s getting so close!!! I am wishing you and your family all the best for a smooth delivery! I absolutely CANNOT WAIT to see pictures of him once he’s here!

  4. Sending good vibes your way. He’s so sweet. Best wishes for an easy delivery and recovery and best wishes to your family.

  5. Oh wow! Maura!! He’s soo adorable! Look at those lips hehe. I just got really teary reading this. I think I’m just really emotional…Just the whole anticipation and joy that you must be feeling right now..I can only imagine! I’m praying for you!

  6. Maura, you are still one of the cutest pregnant ladies ever! My thoughts and prayers are with you as you hit the final days. Congratulations and good luck =)

Leave a Reply

