Caramel Apple Dutch Pancake

When I was in college, there was a restaurant called Clark’s that served an amazing apple pancake, brimming with buttery sugary apples atop a thick custardy pancake.  I loved going there for breakfast and late night…oh, the days of eating breakfast foods at 1 AM!  I was thinking about how to recreate that pancake, and this is what came about…a caramel apple dutch pancake…it’s lighter than the version I had in college, but equally as satisfying!
My favorite part (besides eating it) was smelling the apples caramelizing away in butter, brown sugar, cinnamon, and half and half.  I used these beautiful Pink Lady apples…they’re the perfect balance of tart and sweet!
Put the rest of the pancake ingredients in the blender and pour over the top of the caramelized apples.  Put the pan in a 450 degree oven for 15 minutes.  Here it is straight out of the oven in all its puffy glory 🙂
This would make a great dessert too!  The pancake has a crepe like texture, and with the caramelized apples, it would be perfect served warm with a big scoop of vanilla ice cream on top!  I won’t tell if you top it with ice cream for breakfast either 😉  This morning, I just did a sprinkling of powdered sugar and some pure maple syrup, yum!
Everyone loved it!  Here’s little sweetie working on finishing her pancake…I think her favorite part was the apples 🙂
Caramel Apple Dutch Pancake
Serves 4
2 T butter, melted
1/2 tsp cinnamon
Dash nutmeg
2 T brown sugar
1 T half and half
2 apples, sliced
Preheat oven to 450 degrees F.  Melt butter in a 12 inch oven-proof skillet.  Put 1 T of the melted butter into the blender.  Add cinnamon, nutmeg, brown sugar, and half and half to the skillet.  Top with apples and allow to caramelize and soften, about 10-15 minutes.
1 T butter, melted
1 cup flour
1 cup milk
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp kosher salt
4 eggs
3 T sugar
Combine all ingredients in the blender.  Blend briefly until just mixed.  Pour over caramelized apples and place entire pan into the oven.  Bake at 450 degrees F until puffed and golden, about 15 minutes.  Serve immediately topped with powdered sugar.
What were some of your favorite late night foods to eat in college?  
20 thoughts on “Caramel Apple Dutch Pancake

  1. Oh my deliciousness at its best! I LOVE caramelized apples also! Well, I love anything caramelized ;). I’ve never tried pink lady..I always gravitate towards fuji. And I miss those midnight doughnut runs or bfast extravaganza also. My metabolism was quite active and a live hehe. I really need to spend some extra time in the kitchen in the mornings. I think Tim’s getting tired of his usual yogurt, hardboiled egg, banana or toast combo.

    • I usually buy Fuji too! These pink lady apples were really perfect for cooking though. You never know, maybe Tim likes the comfort of familiarity…I mostly eat the same thing for breakfast everyday and I hardly ever get tired of it!

      Haha, yes I think my metabolism was much different then too! It’s amazing what your body can handle when you’re young 🙂

  2. what a great idea to combine pancake and apple pie! I also love the smell of apple caramelizing! 🙂
    I have no memory of food when I was a kid or teens…. I guess my parents never focus on food. I hope I can install some food memory to my daughter! 🙂

    • Isn’t it the best?? Apples plus butter and brown sugar is so good 🙂

      Given all the delicious and interesting foods you eat, I think your daughter will have a lot of fond food memories 🙂

  3. Pingback: Honey Rosemary Grilled Pork Chops « My Healthy 'Ohana

  4. Pingback: Merry Christmas Eve and Christmas brunch ideas! « My Healthy 'Ohana

Leave a Reply

