Creamy Santa Fe Chicken in the Slow Cooker

I love it when a meal doesn’t require a ton of prep and tastes amazing!  This recipe is so simple and perfect for a weeknight dinner.  Just place corn, black beans, and salsa on the bottom of your slow cooker.  Top with chicken breast, cumin, garlic powder, chili powder and more salsa, then cook on high for 3 hours or low for 7 hours.  If you are using chicken breast, I would err on the side of less time, because you don’t want the chicken to get dry.

Whenever I cook in the slow-cooker, I think “why don’t I do this more often?”  I love that it doesn’t heat up the kitchen, and you can set it and forget it.

When the chicken is cooked through, you add the most important ingredient…cream cheese.  This really makes the dish special, it creates this beautiful creamy sauce.  Unfortunately, this dish is not very photogenic, but trust me, it is delicious!!

Top with avocado, cilantro, cheese, and fresh tomatoes.  I used the cilantro from my garden, it’s actually thriving now that I’m cutting it back regularly!  You can either eat this with rice, or make tacos or taco salads out of it!  We made tacos with local, fresh avocado.  Isn’t this avocado huge?  Perfectly ripe and creamy on the inside 🙂

This is definitely my kind of comfort food!  Hope you give this one a try!

Slow Cooker Creamy Santa Fe Chicken

Serves 4

adapted from Recipe Girl

2 pounds chicken breasts or thighs

1 15 oz can black beans, drained and rinsed

2 15 oz cans corn, or frozen corn

1 cup salsa, divided

1/2 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp garlic powder

dash of chipotle chili powder or 1/4 tsp regular chili powder

4 oz light or regular cream cheese, cut into cubes

Layer black beans, corn, and 1/2 cup salsa in bottom of slow cooker.  Top with chicken breasts, cumin, garlic powder, chili powder, and 1/2 cup salsa.  Cook on low for 7 hours or high for 3 hours (check to make sure chicken is cooked through).  Remove chicken and cut into bite sized chunks, put back into the slow cooker.  Mix in cream cheese to make a creamy sauce.  Enjoy!

Do you have a slow-cooker?  What are your favorite ways to use it?  

23 thoughts on “Creamy Santa Fe Chicken in the Slow Cooker

      • i made it more mexican style. I spoon it over a few tortilla chips with a small scoop of rice, salsa, lettuce, tomatoes and more sour cream! (I added chili beans to my turkey in the crockpot too with almost the same seasonings as yours). MMMMMMMMmmmmmmm good! somewhat diabetic friendly and lowish on carbs

    • Me too! I used raw chicken, but I’m sure you could use cooked and just reduce the cooking time by a lot. Actually, I used raw individually quick frozen chicken breasts, so I was a little worried it wasn’t going to be done in time, but it was fully cooked within 2.5 hours on high. So I would err on the side of less cooking time. It’s really yummy with cilantro and avocado on top!

  1. cant agree more on using more the slow cooker. I think I don’t use it as often because I tend to cook a lot whenever I cook in slow cooker, and I don’t like leftovers. but I think when the baby arrives , it would be realy useful to have some leftovers for days with no cooking! 🙂

    your chicken recipe seems realy easy and tasty! 🙂

  2. This looks wonderful! I just defrosted some chicken for dinner tomorrow night, but I wasn’t sure what to make. I think I’ll try this with the corn salsa I recently made. I even have a ripe avocado on hand and some Greek yogurt that might work for the sauce.

      • It came out great with the Greek yogurt! I’m guessing the flavor of the cream cheese would be a little stronger, but we all loved it. Nice job making your own yogurt. It’s so easy once you get the hang of it.

      • I’m so glad, thanks for the update!! I’ll have to make it with greek yogurt next time. I agree, the process of making the yogurt was so much easier than I anticipated!

  3. Do I use a slow cooker? all the time!! esp during school season. Throw everything together in the morning before I leave for school, and it’s done when I get home! It’s def a life-saver! No, that’s an understatement!
    I love to make chills, fajita, pot roast, soups, bread pudding..I’ve even made lasagna! Endless possibilities!
    Now I’m going to add this to the list. I’ve made something like this plenty of times have never added CREAM CHEESE before..now that I didn’t know about, and I am very eager to try it!

  4. One of the best things about slow cookers is that clean up is pretty easy. Leftovers go in tupperware; crock-pot goes in sink. And when it’s time to wash it, everything just comes right off, not like baking pans where you have to let them soak and then scrub. Though, maybe I’m being a little over-dramatic. I think there’s a future for me in infomercial acting.

    Maybe sometime you could share a pic of your cilantro plants. I started some in my garden, but I don’t know how much to let them grow first before I start cutting them back. Where on the stem do you cut?

    Keep on cooking!

    • Haha, you could definitely be a sales-person for Crock Pot 🙂

      I read online that it’s important to cut your cilantro plant back at least once a week, and not more than 1/3 of the total height of the plant, so that’s what I’ve been doing with good results 🙂 I don’t cut it in any specific place. Hope yours flourish, it’s so nice to have fresh cilantro. Going to plant my green onions today!

Leave a Reply

