Strawberry Banana Smoothie

I’m one of those people who never wins anything, seriously.  So I was totally shocked and excited when Reini Days told me that I had won one of their giveaways for a Ninja Frozen Treat and Drink Maker!!  I’ve been drooling over Reini Days’ smoothie and coffee drink recipes.  When this came in the mail last week, I couldn’t wait to break it in and make a smoothie 🙂

 

Strawberry Banana Smoothie

1 cup frozen strawberries

1 banana

6 oz vanilla greek yogurt

1 T honey

1/2 cup milk

This was so refreshing and delicious with my breakfast this morning.  I am going to be experimenting with a pineapple and mango version very soon!  I also want to try incorporating spinach into my smoothies, since many people have told me that you can’t even taste it.  That would be a great way to get my daughter to eat her spinach 🙂

What are some of your favorite smoothie combinations?  Do you use veggies or protein powder in yours?  

 

18 thoughts on “Strawberry Banana Smoothie

  1. I’m like you. I feel like I never win anything. So glad you did! 🙂

    We have some sort of fruit and spinach smoothie almost morning for breakfast. Add a handful of spinach to your smoothie, you won’t be able to taste it at all!

  2. Yay!! Congrats!! What an awesome giveaway ;). You def must incorporate spinach! I was skeptical at first also..how can you not taste it? but you seriously can’t..and if you do, it’s very subtle! I do add protein powder bc I often drink it right after my workout. My usual combinations – Strawberry, banana, protein powder, spinach, almond milk, and PB2, honey.
    Oh and btw, I’m really loving that flower that’s been featured in several pictures..adds a very nice touch 😉 Lovely like you!!

    • Aw, thanks Min…you always say sweet things that brighten my day 🙂

      Ooh, tell me your honest opinion of PB2! I’ve been debating whether to try it. I heard that it’s good when mixed into things, but not necessarily as a peanut butter spread substitute. Your smoothie combo sounds yummy 🙂

      • I agree! I actually have a hard time getting it to thicken into a spreadable consistency. I love it in smoothies! It adds that amazing nutty flavor that we all can’t seem to get enough of 😉 Oh, and I also like to mix it into my yogurt! Aparently there’s a chocolate PB2 now also!! Can’t wait to try it!!

  3. This smoothie looks great!!! I have been away from blogging for a while, but I promise I have been reading when I can 🙂 I’ve missed interacting with my blog friends!

    I love putting spinach in my smoothies – I’d love to try it with some!

  4. Maura, I have added spinach before and also kale. You can’t really taste either so it’s a great way to sneak in those veggies. I’ve also experimented with adding silken tofu as a protein source. I don’t really follow a recipe. Just throw in whatever fave fruits we have. Seth really loves them!

  5. Congratulations on the new Ninja. My hubby just bought me the big Ninja blender. Still playing with it but so far so good. I don’t have the nerve to try adding greens to smoothies yet — maybe someday. I don’t use protein powder but i do like to add flax seed meal to mine for an extra nutritional boost.

Leave a Reply

