Forgiveness Project

I was reading our local newspaper and was struck by an article about the Hawaii Forgiveness Project.  It was started by a group of businesspeople and lawyers who meet once a month during the busy workweek to step back and encourage forgiveness, gratitude, and compassion.  What an amazing concept!  Anyone can attend their meetings for inspiration on letting go of the past and moving forward in life.  One of the quotes in the article really spoke to me,

“If you don’t forgive someone, at some point it is like taking poison and expecting the other person to die”

How different would your life be if you forgave the small annoyances (that person that cut you off in traffic, someone who was rude to you on the phone) or let go of the hurt and pain of long-standing grievances with family members or friends?  I know my life would be transformed.  There are some hurts that I don’t even realize I’ve held onto, until something or someone triggers a response.  I’m really good at “forgetting” or sweeping things under the rug, until they rear their ugly heads.  I’m going to try to practice active forgiveness in my daily life, along with prayer to help keep me on track 🙂

You can learn more about the Hawaii Forgiveness Project at http://www.hawaiiforgivenessproject.com

Is forgiveness something that comes naturally to you or are you one who holds a grudge?  What are some areas in your life where you would like to forgive?

10 thoughts on “Forgiveness Project

  1. Wow…that’s a powerful quote…I never thought about it that way. I totally understand and can relate to what you mean when you say you hold onto hurts without even knowing it.

    As for me, I battle with myself bc I have a hard time forgiving my past mistakes and errors. Over time, I’ve learned to ignore them, but from time to time, I’m reminded of what a mess I am.

    That’s why I was so shocked and hit to the core by my biofeedback experience, when I was told what my body wants to hear the most is, “I forgive myself for all of my past errors.”
    For a long time, I hid from God like Adam and Eve because I felt so ashamed and naked. However, I’m reminded over and over again that God’s grace is enough.

    Thanks Maura for this reminder…

    • Wow, that must have been so powerful to hear that when you had your biofeedback! I’m definitely my harshest critic at times, and it can really change my attitude and bring me down. Thanks for the reminder to go easy on ourselves too! You were fearfully and wonderfully made, and are truly perfect in God’s eyes…I see God’s beauty and grace in you all the time!!

  2. What a beautiful post! Forgiveness is definitely essential – holding a grudge is toxic. I read recently that it’s like drinking poison expecting the other person to die. So true!

  3. If I can give myself credit for something, this will definitely be forgiveness, I always try not to judge other people’s actions, even if they hurt me really bad, so yes, maybe its not naturally but I am working on it every day!

  4. Good for you! Forgiveness is better than ignoring something or pretending what happened didn’t hurt you (or bug you, at least!) There’s nothing wrong with getting upset, we’re entitled to our feelings because they’re genuine, but I do love the idea of forgiveness. It means we’ve accepted what happened and are ready to let it dissolve and move on. 🙂

Leave a Reply

