Healthy Apple Cinnamon Muffins

Malia’s been distraught ever since we forgot to make Kona a “cake” for his birthday.  This girl seriously loves celebrating birthdays.  Her most frequent comment centered around Kona wearing a birthday hat, so I finally obliged.  Kona looks so thrilled 😉

Instead of making a cake, we decided to make these healthy apple cinnamon muffins that are actually based on a doughnut recipe from Prevention RD.  Since I don’t own a doughnut pan, I decided to make them into muffins instead.  They come out incredibly moist and dense from the applesauce and whole wheat flour.  I actually like denser muffins as opposed to light and fluffy ones, somehow it seems more substantial.

It’s such a simple recipe and very kid-friendly…Malia mixed the whole thing by herself and I just added the ingredients to her bowl.

Healthy Apple Cinnamon Muffins

Adapted from Prevention RD

Makes 12 muffins

12 oz unsweetened applesauce

1 egg

1 Tbsp canola oil

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 cup whole wheat flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp kosher salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp vanilla

Topping:

Melted butter

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 cup sugar

Preheat oven to 375 F.

Combine applesauce, egg, oil, and sugar in to a large bowl and mix well.  Then add the flours, baking powder, baking soda, and vanilla.  At this point, you could also fold in some raisins.  Place into greased or lined muffin pan.  Bake at 375 F for 15 min.  Brush tops lightly with melted butter and dunk tops in the cinnamon and sugar mixture.

Do you celebrate pet birthdays?  

14 thoughts on “Healthy Apple Cinnamon Muffins

  1. My mouth just started watering… promise!! MMMMM gotta try these. Let me know if you ever wanna borrow my doughnut pan. I haven’t even used it yet!

    • Jackie, I might take you up on that sometime! I have several doughnut recipes bookmarked to try 🙂 I was wondering if I should buy one (debating b/w a doughnut pan or mini-muffin pan), but can’t bring myself to buy another kitchen item right now!

  2. Hehe! I love that you turned a doughnut recipe into a muffin :). Clever! I’m not a big muffin person. Well, scratch that. I only LOVE the muffin tops. No wonder Tim eats his in secret. ANd you bet we celebrate Kona’s birthdays!! I make him turkey meatballs, his favorite 🙂 I feel so accomplished!

  3. These look ridiculous! Like, in a good way 🙂 And you are killing me with your adorable dog and adorable baby girl! They’re giving me puppy/baby fever 😉

Leave a Reply

