Beach Day – Kailua Beach

One of my favorite beaches on the island is Kailua Beach Park.  It’s got a sandy bottom, pretty calm waves, and beautiful blue water. You can kayak to the flat island in the distance, stand up paddle board, kite-surf, or just relax on the sand.  It’s about a 30 minute drive from Waikiki, and you have to rent a car, but it’s totally worth it.  Or go just down the street and visit Lanikai Beach, consistently voted as one of the best beaches in the world!  Just standing on shore and looking at the blue-green expanse of water always puts me in awe of God’s creation.

People bring their dogs here to play in the waves, so it’s nice to be able to have Kona along!  He loves bounding into the ocean to retrieve his ball 🙂

Malia loved swimming in the ocean, riding her boogie board, and making sand castles.  I enjoyed watching her delight in the “big waves”!

Can’t wait to come back after delivery and go kayaking or stand up paddle boarding!

We worked up an appetite on the beach, and picked up sandwiches from Kalapawai Market on the way home.  I loved their kalua pork sandwich with melted cheese, homemade coleslaw and guava BBQ sauce…so yummy!  All in all, a great beach day 🙂

What are some of your favorite outdoor activities in your state?

6 thoughts on “Beach Day – Kailua Beach

  1. Wow. Definitely a very beautiful area you’re living in! I admit I’m a little bit jealous. 😉

    We have a beach that’s about a half hour away from where we live that we try to go to once or twice a week. You can walk for a like a mile out before it gets deep. So, of course it’s very popular for people with kids. We love it!

  2. Oh, Maura..I wish I was there right now!!..Today’s been just one of those days… The water’s soo clear..the way it should be ;). That sandwich sounds delish! Last time we went to Hawaii, we ate at all the big chain restaurants (against me and Tim’s wishes..my family’s not very adventurous). We want to go back for one of our anniversaries and are def going to check out all the amazing local eateries!!

  3. Guava bbq sauce sounds so delicious! I would probably not have said that 2 years ago. It’s strange how our palattes change when we get pushed to be a little adventurous. Last vacation, I played it safe and went for all the classics (In-N-Out, Potbelly, fresh fruit and spinach salad, etc.). This year I’m planning to stretch my taste buds, so I’m looking to you for some suggestions. You haven’t let me down yet (Strawberry halves, stuffed with cream cheese topped with cracked pepper? Yum!).

    • I imagine you’ve been pushed to be much more adventurous than the average person 🙂 I love trying new and different foods! We’ll have a blast tasting things together in Hawaii 🙂 Those strawberries sound amazing…a little balsamic vinegar on there (reduced on the stovetop to make it sweeter or straight up) also makes a surprisingly good combination with strawberries.

Leave a Reply

