Smashed Basil Red Potatoes

Patrick is a huge lover of potatoes, and so I’m always looking for new ways to prepare them!  When I saw this Pioneer Woman recipe (love her blog!), I couldn’t wait to give it a try.  You take boiled red potatoes, smash them with a potato masher, coat liberally in olive oil, salt, pepper and herb of your choice and then bake in a high heat oven so it gets those really crispy on the bottom and tender on the inside.  Delicious!  Next time, I think I would add either parmesan cheese or fresh mozzarella cheese on top to create a cheesy crust!

I just started growing an herb garden…so far only basil and cilantro, but I’m hoping to add many more soon!  Rosemary, thyme and green onions are on my list.  I have a serious BLACK thumb, so if I can keep these alive, it will be a miracle 🙂  Since the growing season is pretty much year-round here, I’m trying to take advantage of it.

I’ve been so grateful to my mom for preparing all of our dinners since we arrived, so that we wouldn’t have any extra stress.  This was the first meal that I prepared for our family in our new home!  It felt really good to be back in the kitchen 🙂  Garlic and rosemary pork tenderloin with smashed potatoes, green salad, and homemade rolls (courtesy of my mom’s friends at work).

Smashed Basil Red Potatoes

From Pioneer Woman

10 small red potatoes

Olive oil

Salt

Pepper

Herb of your choice (basil, rosemary, chives)

Cheese of your choice (optional – parmesan, mozzarella)

Boil potatoes in salted water until just fork tender.  Place on a sheet pan, brush liberally with olive oil.  Add salt, pepper, and herbs.  Bake at 450 degrees for 20-25 minutes until nice and crispy on the outside.

Any suggestions for herbs/vegetables/fruits that grow easily?  Any favorite potato recipes?

Right now, I only have potted herbs, but I’m hoping to create a raised garden bed at some point this year!

14 thoughts on “Smashed Basil Red Potatoes

  1. These look so tasty! I’ll have to remember this recipe when I’m looking for a new way to do potatoes.

    I also kind of have a black thumb. The only things I have gotten out of my garden so far are some herbs, and there’s a red pepper growing. I’m hoping the rest of my stuff are late bloomers. 😉

    • You can’t go wrong with PW 🙂 I loved the crispy, salty bits on the bottom that were like french fries!

      You’ll have to let me know what else grows in your garden. I just learned that cilantro needs to be harvested (cut by 1/3) every week to grow well. Guess I will be making something with cilantro tonight 🙂 What other plants are you waiting on?

      • Love PW! She’s got some really good recipes. Today I got her second cookbook from the library. I’m excited to sit down and look through it.

        That’s good to know about cilantro. I have a cilantro plant, but I don’t think I harvested it enough, maybe only twice. Oops. Now there’s a ton of white flowers coming out the top. I went into this gardening thing knowing pretty much nothing about any of the plants. And for whatever reason, I haven’t done much research online, which would be pretty easy to do.

        This is the first time I’ve had a garden, so I think I went overboard. This is what I have: cilantro, basil, broccoli, onions, watermelon, little pumpkins, cantaloupe, cucumbers, red peppers, and squash. Everything is blooming though, and I’ve heard that’s a good sign. 🙂

  2. I love smashed potatoes! My favorite way to make them is to drizzle them with chipotle olive oil (salt and pepper) and serve them with steak. I will have to try your ideas. Sounds like you have a good start on your herb garden. The only one of those herbs I always have trouble with is cilantro. It’s one of my favorites, but I can’t seem to keep it growing very long. Hope you have better luck in Hawaii, I’m sure the rain will help:).

    • Ooh, chipotle olive oil sounds great, especially with steak! Do you season the olive oil yourself?

      Yes, I’ve heard that about cilantro too, that it doesn’t last very long. I read that I’m supposed to harvest at least once a week to help it keep going, hoping it works!

  3. I love that potato idea, especially with the crispy goodness going on! I also had problems growing plants on our balcony in Makiki. The sun was too hot for the pots, so the roots got overheated and I barely grew anything. For some reason, I also got bugs…on the 9th floor! I’d suggest protecting the roots by placing your pots in a larger pot or basket so the roots don’t get overheated by direct sun. Use fertilizer in the water (like Miracle Grow) to keep your plants healthy and check for bugs every now and then. Some lettuce varieties tolerate heat, and you can give tomatoes a try (they need a deep bucket for their roots.) Spinach might be good, too. Have fun with your gardening!

  4. Oh boy.. I wish I can give you some useful suggestions, but I, too, have a black thumb…as dark as it comes..The list of casualties are endless – cilantro, rosemary, basil…I don’t want to list anymore..so sad :(. Why do I have the urge to water them so much?!?!

    Aren’t moms so sweet? I don’t know if I have that kind of selfless, sacrificial love in me. Makes me teary every time I think about all the things my parents had to go through to raise me.

    Tim LOVES potatoes also! What is it with men? haha. Bet he’ll love this recipe! just wish I had my own herbs. I don’t like to buy them just to use for one recipe. Wouldn’t it be so great if I can just snip some off from my nonexistent herb pot?

  5. That looks so yummy! I’m a total black thumb too and so far I’ve managed not to kill my green bean plants or my blueberry bush, so those might be good bets (though I think the blueberries need a cold northern climate).

  6. Pingback: A Grow Box Giveaway!! « My Healthy 'Ohana

Leave a Reply

