Weekend Eats!

Patrick and I felt so lucky to have a date night two nights in a row this past weekend…thank you Mom and Dad!  We went to Panya Bistro, a restaurant with a diverse Asian and American menu set in a Japanese bakery.  We enjoyed one of their signature dishes, Laksa, a Malaysian inspired noodle dish with shrimp, fish cake, aburage, bean sprouts, corn and aromatic herbs.  The broth was amazing, it had  a delicious creaminess from coconut milk and a hit of spice.  I would love to eat this on a cold night, it’s pure comfort food!

We also had their chicken pad thai, very different than a normal pad thai with a creamier sauce and thicker noodles, but still very enjoyable!  I love Thai food, it’s definitely one of our favorite take-out cuisines.

The restaurant is part of Ala Moana Shopping Center, so we were able to walk around after dinner and window shop.  Ala Moana is the biggest outdoor mall in the United States, and it’s really fun to see all the new stores and how it’s expanded since I was a kid.  One of my favorite stores is still Shirokiya, a Japanese store/market/food court.  We picked up some peanut butter mochi for our daughter, she is a mochi fiend!

The other night we went to a fun, Southern restaurant called Kiss My Grits.  Although we didn’t love the entrees we ordered for dinner, we both agreed that the best part of the dinner was dessert!  I’m a sucker for bread pudding.  This one was made with both pound cake and buttermilk biscuits, topped with a bourbon sauce…and vanilla ice cream of course.  It was delicious!

We also got to see The Dark Knight Rises…it was SO good!  Definitely worth seeing in the theater.  The movie is 2 hours and 40 min, but it didn’t feel long at all.

Patrick started his job yesterday, so our extended family vacation is over 😦  I loved spending so much time together, and hope that Patrick’s first few days at work will be exciting and fulfilling!

What were some of the highlights of your weekend?  What are your go-to take-out cuisines?

8 thoughts on “Weekend Eats!

  1. Sounds like you had a fun weekend! And lots of yummy food!

    We also saw The Dark Knight Rises. Sooooo good! Probably the highlight of my weekend. 🙂

  2. Ooh!! Thanks mom and dad! I’m glad you and Patrick got to spend some quality time together! Oh that bread pudding…a la mode…drool…I haven’t met a bread pudding that I didn’t like! And pb mochi? Never had it before! Yum!
    Tim really really wants to see the movie..I told him I don’t want to watch another batman movie, and he was crushed..I’m considering watching it with him if he’s a good boy 😉

    • It’s just like regular mochi, except there’s creamy PB in the center along with the red beans, SO yummy!

      I highly recommend the batman movie! Maybe you can compromise and have Tim watch something that he wouldn’t normally choose to go to 🙂

    • I love take out too…sometimes more than going out because it’s much less of a hassle. There aren’t a lot of places that will deliver in Las Vegas or Hawaii, so sometimes we’ll just pick up food on the way home. I bet the take-out in NYC is amazing!! We love Indian too and pizza 🙂

  3. Ooh, I can’t wait to hear all your restaurant recommendations for when we come visit. 🙂 Now that Seth is in preschool and my mom can get her work done during the day, I’m hoping for some date nights too before this new baby arrives!

    • You know, it’s funny because I always ate my mom’s cooking when I would come home, so I never really had good recommendations for places to go out and eat, until now 🙂 I hope you guys do get some date nights in before the baby comes!!

Leave a Reply

