Pregnancy Update – 35 weeks

I can’t believe that we’re in the home-stretch and in just 4-5 short weeks, we’ll have a baby boy in our lives!  It seems kind of surreal to me, perhaps because we’ve been so busy with the move.  But I can’t wait, of course!  At 35 weeks, I’ve definitely noticed a decrease in my energy levels and I’m starting to waddle a bit, but otherwise feeling great 🙂  At this point in my first pregnancy, I was suffering from sciatica on my left side, and although I’ve noticed some ligamentous laxity on the left, I haven’t (knock on wood) had any persistent sharp pains yet.  I credit the yoga hip exercises that Erin Motz posted, thanks Erin!

I’m grateful to still be really active, taking Malia to the beach, zoo, and park.  She seems to embrace the concept of having a little brother.  Just the other morning, she noted that there are four chairs around our kitchen table, and said that baby brother would sit in the fourth chair when he got here!  It was completely unprompted, and it made me so happy that she’s thinking about him 🙂

There are still some uncertainties: I haven’t met my Ob here in Hawaii yet and haven’t registered at the hospital where I’ll be delivering (pretty important things).  We are hoping to get those things crossed off the list sometime next week!  The nursery is set up, although we’ll have him in our room in the beginning.  We tried to keep Malia in our room, but she was so sound sensitive that every little noise we made woke her up.  We quickly realized that for sanity’s sake, we had to put her in her own room!  I could go into detail about how poorly she slept those first few months, to the point where we were eating off of paper plates because the clink of our utensils on regular plates would wake her up….but I’m not sure I want to relive that 🙂  I wouldn’t trade Malia’s personality for the world…she is a firecracker and I love that about her, but hopefully little brother will be less colicky!

Any recommendations on ways to make the transition to a younger sibling or two kids easier?

18 thoughts on “Pregnancy Update – 35 weeks

  1. I can’t help you with the sibling issue but it’s nice to hear you are feeling well and things are coming together for you. Your daughter is so sweet and can’t wait to meet your son. Have a happy day.

  2. Maura, you look fabulous! Again, I feel like we’re about the same size (and I’m only 20 wks). 😛 Can’t wait to meet your lil one when we’re there in Sept. Malia is going to be a GREAT big sis!!

  3. Glad things are going well for you all. 🙂

    When we had Julia (our youngest), we made sure to get a present for each of the older kids from her, so they also felt special. They all seemed to like that. All I can say is try to spend lots of one-on-one time with her once the baby comes. And one piece of advice that’s stuck with me is to remember that even though Malia is the oldest, don’t forget she’s still a baby, she’s still a little one. I always try to remember that about our oldest. It’s really easy to forget that she’s still little. I try not to treat her as older than she really is. 🙂

  4. Thanks for the great advice from an experienced mom!! 🙂 I love the idea of getting a present from the baby for Malia, I’m definitely going to do it! Will have to figure out ways to get one-on-one time with her, maybe after my husband gets home from work, or during the day if my parents can watch the littlest one. Thanks for the reminder that she’s still a baby too, I don’t want her to feel like she has to grow up just because we have a younger child!

  5. I am so excited for you, not much longer! My only advice is give Malia special “tasks” for the baby to keep her involved (getting a diaper ready, finding a burp rag), kids love to be helpful. With Declan, he loved having a stool to follow me around and get up on so he could see the baby better where everheI was and watch what I was doing with the baby or just watch the baby sleep. You look great!

    • Great ideas, Amy! Malia loves to feel useful. We just got her a stool too, so I’ll have to encourage her to use it to see what’s going on 🙂 Hope Declan and Kellen are doing well!!

    • Thank YOU! Those exercises have really helped 🙂 I’m starting to get some spasm/cramping of my left inner thigh muscles, mostly since I noticed the laxity in that joint…any ideas? Hope you’re doing well!!

  6. Aww..Maura, this post made my heart leap for joy! I can feel the excitement and joy in your writing! What a blessing from God..this gift of life! Just hang in there!! He’ll be in your arms in no time! Just the imagery of having four chairs around the table is so heart warming. Malia’s so sweet and smart! Tim and I are praying for you and your family!!

Leave a Reply

