Happy Birthday…

to my sweet husband!  With all the drama lately, it’s nice to have a reason to just relax and celebrate the birth of one of the best men I know 🙂  We met in medical school in Chicago, but didn’t really get to know each other until we were randomly seated next to each other on an 8 hour flight from Chicago to Nicaragua.  We were going on a medical mission, and were assigned to the same team.  We talked non-stop on the way there, bonded over our work while we were in Nicaragua, and have been inseparable ever since!  I can’t imagine my life without him…he is my perfect complement in every way.  Now that we have a daughter, I have even more reasons to love him as I see what an amazing father he is!  

We had a small family celebration at home with delicious Hawaiian food (clockwise from top right): kalua pork and cabbage, ahi poke, lomi lomi salmon, fresh pineapple, sweet potato, and laulau (meat and fish wrapped in taro and then steamed in ti leaves).  It was all SO delicious (except I couldn’t have the ahi poke because it’s raw fish, but I will have some after I deliver!)

Patrick doesn’t like cake, but he loves apple pie, so we got him this apple tart.

When Malia saw the pie, she proclaimed, “I LOVE BIRTHDAYS!”  Her favorite part is blowing out the candles.

I love my little family 🙂  This evening, it was date night!  A nice dinner out, and now we’re settling into a movie at home on our new TV (Patrick’s birthday present!).  Hope you all have a great weekend 🙂

12 thoughts on “Happy Birthday…

  1. Birthday wishes for your husband. Those pictures of your daughter tickle me – so sweet. Have a wonderful day.

  2. 🙂 happy birthday, Patrick! glad you guys got there safely and that things are settling down with the move. What an adventure, to say the least! That poke looks *amazing.* oh and phi, o, and i stopped by the potbelly’s here in NYC and it was so good, reminded me of all the times I visited Phil in Chicago. Thought of you guys!

    • aw, eat a potbelly’s for me…patrick was just reminding me that it was my first request after I delivered Malia (there was one right across the street from the hospital). I love their hot peppers! come to hawaii so we can eat poke together with our babies 🙂

  3. Happy Belated Birthday to your husband! That apple cake looks delicious, and I love the expression on your daughter’s face! We also celebrated my husband’s birthday on Saturday. No lau lau, but I made turkey! 😀

  4. Aww! Happy belated birthday, Patrick!! Love how you guys connected while on the way to missions! God orchestrated everything from the beginning ;). The food looks so wonderful and yummy! Love the preportioned method hehe..Must get a tray for Tim now that we are back from our eating extravaganza. Malia is such a cutie!!

    • Thanks, Min! Yes, God definitely had a plan to mature and prepare us for each other 🙂

      Patrick doesn’t like his food to mix, so that paper plate was perfect for him, haha! I’m totally the opposite, I love mixing all my food and putting my hot ingredients on top of my salad, I think it totally grosses him out 😉

Leave a Reply

