Good to be home

It’s so good to be home, even though it’s not technically my home (we are currently living with my in-laws)!  Home is wherever my husband and daughter are 🙂  For the next week, we’ll be living with my in-laws because our things needed 3-4 weeks to get shipped via cargo boat to Hawaii.  An added bonus is that my brother-in-law is also living at their place, so we get to spend extra quality time with him before we move!  He’s a great uncle 🙂

I think I’m finally recovered from the jet lag/flight.  I took the red-eye both ways (my first flight left at 2 AM from las vegas and arrived at 5 AM in Honolulu, and the return left at 10:30 PM from Honolulu and arrived at 7 AM in Las Vegas).  I don’t sleep well on airplanes, so this was probably not the right choice for a 4 day trip!  The first day back was just a haze, but after sleeping for 12 hours, I’m back to normal 🙂

There’s been pool time with my little sweetie…

and doggy playing time (Kona is our dog on the left, and Max is my in-laws 8 month old pup on the right).

Thank you guys so much for your comments on my post about house hunting, your support and words of encouragement were really helpful!!  We just heard that we got the house we were hoping for!  I’m SO happy and relieved, and can now start imagining what our life would be like there.  One of the best parts of the house is the outdoor space…it’s got a great fenced yard for Kona, and this amazing pool that we will all enjoy!  Those are banana trees in the background (the tallest ones) and they actually had green bananas growing from them!

I hope you are all have a great weekend!!

26 thoughts on “Good to be home

  1. congratulations maura! where is your house located? we look forward to visiting you the next time we’re in hawaii.

    • thanks, liz! it’s actually right next door to my parents’ house in waialae iki. there are obvious pros and cons, but we’re thinking it will help a lot with the second baby…and we had no other options, haha! it was really hard to find a place that was dog friendly, especially with a 70 pound lab.

      can’t wait to see you and the family, do you have any trips planned yet??

  2. A banana tree?! So jealous. Looks beautiful and wonderful!

    I can’t wait to “visit” via your blog, so make sure to take lots of beautiful pictures. 🙂

  3. It looks beautiful – such an inviting pool. I purchased all the fixings for my mango cheese pie and will be making it this weekend. I hope it tastes half and wonderful as the picture you posted. Enjoy your family.

  4. Congrats! I am so happy you found a beautiful home. I’m sure you are feeling much better having a house to get ready for your baby boy. I bet Kona is going to love her new yard;).

  5. Yay Maura!! I know I’ve told you before, but CONGRATS!!! And it’s actually really nice that you get to spend some time with your in-laws before your big move! There’s nothing in life that matters more than family, wouldn’t you say? =) I hope our two Konas will meet someday =). Get plenty or rest!! You deserve it!!

    • Yes, I totally agree…family is so important!! It makes me heart happy to see how close Malia is to her grandparents. Only one of my grandparents was still alive when I was born, and she is so lucky to have all four grandparents, plus great-grandparents!

      I hope our Konas will meet someday too, how fun would that be?? 🙂

  6. I love Kona! We had a golden lab when I was growing up, and I miss her 😦 but we have chocolate Coco now and she just lights up the room. The photo of the two dogs together is awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

