Mango Cream cheese Pie

As promised, here is the recipe for mango cream cheese pie!  This is one of my favorites from childhood 🙂 My mom would always make it during mango season when my uncle would give us some from his tree.  There is nothing like fresh mangos, especially the varieties in Hawaii that are super sweet and not stringy at all.

During one of our visits to Hawaii, my husband couldn’t wait to try some fresh mangos.  He ate the whole thing for breakfast, and we immediately took off for a hike up Diamond Head.  Halfway up the crater, he started to feel lightheaded and asked to lay down on the side of the mountain.  This was highly unusual, and I got worried thinking about how I was going to get him back down the crater, if need be!  Could I carry him?  Would someone help me?  Being stubborn and determined, he insisted on continuing up to the top!  By the time we got there, his body had broken out in a rash.  We hurried back down, got him some Benadryl, and went and laid on the beach.  For the next 24 hours, his body slowly recovered.  He had never had a reaction to mango before, but of course he’s allergic to the variety in Hawaii!  Since then, he has had another rash when eating dried mango, so he now stays away from the stuff completely.  It’s so sad, no mango cream cheese pie for him 😦  I hope you’re not allergic to mangos, but if you are, you can always substitute a different fresh fruit in the topping!  This dessert is so amazing…it’s got this wonderful buttery shortbread crust, a light cream cheese layer, and finally the sweet mangos on top…so delicious!   I hope you give this one a try this summer!

Mango Creamcheese Pie

CRUST

2 CUPS FLOUR
1/2 CUP POWDERED SUGAR, SIFTED
1 1/2 STICKS BUTTER

FILLING

1 EIGHT-OUNCE CREAM CHEESE, SOFTENED
1/2 CUP GRANULATED SUGAR
1/2 TEASPOON VANILLA
1 EIGHT-OUNCE CONTAINER COOL WHIP, DEFROSTED

TOPPING

2 PACKAGES KNOX UNFLAVORED GELATIN
1 CUP WATER
1 CUP BOILING WATER
1 CUP GRANULATED SUGAR
1/4 TEASPOON SALT
4 TABLESPOONS LEMON JUICE
4 CUPS FIRM-RIPE MANGO, DICED AND DRAINED

TO MAKE CRUST:  MIX TOGETHER FLOUR AND SUGAR.  WITH A PASTRY CUTTER OR TWO KNIVES, CUT BUTTER INTO FLOUR MIXTURE.  PAT DOUGH INTO A 9 BY 13 INCH PAN.  BAKE 20-25 MINUTES AT 350 DEGREES.  COOL, SET ASIDE.

TO MAKE FILLING:  THOROUGHLY BEAT TOGETHER CREAM CHEESE, SUGAR AND VANILLA. FOLD IN COOL WHIP AND POUR OVER COOLED CRUST.  CHILL UNTIL FIRM.

TO MAKE TOPPING:  SPRINKLE GELATIN OVER 1 CUP WATER, MIX.  ADD BOILING WATER, SUGAR AND SALT, STIR UNTIL COMPLETELY DISSOLVED.  STIR IN LEMON JUICE, LET COOL.  ADD FRUIT, CHILL UNTIL MIXTURE GELS INTO EGG-WHITE CONSISTENCY, THEN SPOON OVER CREAM CHEESE LAYER AND REFRIGERATE UNTIL FIRM. CUT INTO 15 SQUARES TO SERVE.

Do you have any food allergies?  

I don’t, although sometimes cantaloupe and watermelon will make my lips itch.

28 thoughts on “Mango Cream cheese Pie

  1. Maura, I have missed this mango cream cheese pie and since we have a box of mangoes at home right now, this is what I’m doing this weekend! Hope we get a chance to chat soon – miss you & can’t wait to catch up!

  2. Yikes – what a terrible thing to be allergic to! Luckily I’m not allergic to magoes (or any food!) so I’m going to have to try this. Looks like the perfect summer dessert!

  3. Oh my goodness! I’ve totally had an allergic reaction to mangos in Hong Kong before, but never in the US. I thought that was strange, but I guess it can happen!

    • Really?? We don’t know what varieties he is allergic to, because he had that second reaction to a dried mango product, so he just stays away from them altogether! Do you still eat mangos in the US?

      • Well, maybe because of the allergic reaction, I naturally just don’t have a taste for mangoes like I did when I was a kid. So, I’ll eat pieces of mango sometimes when they happen to be in a dessert ordered by someone else, but I never eat it by itself just to eat it.

  4. Ooh la la!! You didn’t forget!! I just wrote down this recipe!!
    I went to Diamond Head last year!! It was a lot of fun =)
    I can imagine how scared you must have felt when your husband felt dizzy and ill! Tim actually fainted couple of times in front of me before due to his heart condition, and boy, I tell ya, I’ve never felt so helpless and frightened!!
    And he’s allergic to all kinds of melons except for watermelons. Poor guy! As for me, I am allergy-free and can eat just about everything! Muhaha

    • I hope you and Tim enjoy it!!

      It is really scary when your husband isn’t feeling well, is Tim okay? What kind of heart condition does he have? (sorry the nosy physician comes out in me sometimes!)

      • He has 2nd degree AV block, type 2.. He hasn’t had any fainting episodes as of late, Praise the Lord! It IS frightening!!
        He’s on this medication for life, but I would like to point out that his dosage got cut in half after a year of complete dietary change..thanks to moi hehe =) True testament – eating healthy does matter!!

      • Wow, that’s great to hear that eating healthy has had such a positive influence on his medical condition…well, and being married to you of course 🙂 Praise God that he hasn’t had many fainting episodes lately, will keep him in my prayers!

    • I’m totally confused by Twitter too! Confession: I had to google what all those things meant: RT, hashtag, etc. I’m still not very enamored with it.

      I did start following She Reads Truth, which is a totally amazing group of women reading a daily devotional together called Soul Detox (I finished it, but would totally do it again with you if you wanted to discuss)!

      • It IS confusing, right? Ok, it’s not just me then hehe..And I’ve actually never heard of She Reads Truth.. How does it work? I’m very intrigued.. Soul Detox – sounds powerful =).

      • It’s definitely not just you 🙂 If you type in “She Reads Truth” into the search field, it will show up under people on the left hand side. Click follow to start receiving tweets from the women who are participating. They have started a new devotional, so you could start with that one or go back and do Soul Detox too.

        Go to http://www.youversion.com and search for soul detox plan (I think you have to sign up to access devotionals). It really resonated with me…let me know if you find it!

  5. Pingback: Freshly Pressed! « My Healthy 'Ohana

  6. Have you tried a substitute for cool whip? The trans fats…. I always use real whipped cream for desserts or Redi Whip…

    • Hi Candace, I haven’t tried anything else, but I think substituting whipped cream or Redi Whip would be great! My grandmother’s old recipes for a similar pie called for something called Avoset, which was a type of whipped cream, that you then whipped yourself.

Leave a Reply

