Honey Whole Wheat Oat Bread

Things are starting to come together over here!  I just have a few more rooms to go through to see if there’s anything I want to donate instead of moving (namely, my closet/dresser).  I’m slightly ashamed to admit that I still have shirts from highschool/college…anyone else? 🙂  We’ve also had a couple showings on the house, so hopefully someone will want to rent it soon!

You all know that I’m on a homemade bread making kick!  This bread is so simple and delicious, I want it for breakfast everyday from now on 🙂  It has an awesome texture, soft and chewy inside and crispy on the outside.  It’s got a sweetness from the honey, and a nuttiness from the whole wheat flour and oats.  It’s best warm out of the oven with some butter, or top it with peanut butter or strawberry jam.

I found this recipe on a great site called 101 Cookbooks.  She calls it “Easy Little Bread” and that’s exactly what it is, so easy!  The recipe is from a cookbook called Gran’s Kitchen, a compilation of 76 tried and true recipes from a 95 year old grandmother 🙂  I love the idea of cooking a grandma’s recipes!

In one bowl, mix together warm water, yeast, and honey and allow to bloom for 5-10 minutes.  Combine your all purpose flour, whole wheat flour, old fashioned oats and kosher salt in one bowl.  Once the yeast has bloomed, add the wet to the dry ingredients and mix well.

 I had my favorite mixer on hand 🙂

Place your dough in a buttered loaf pan, cover with a towel, and allow to rise for 30 minutes.  Before and after pictures 🙂

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.  After the bread has risen, I brushed the top with a little more melted butter and then baked the bread for 35-40 minutes.  Remove the bread from the loaf pan and cool on a wire rack.  Immediately cut yourself a slice of this warm and nutty bread!

We couldn’t wait and topped a slice with butter and dug in…my husband I both said “mmm” right away!

Honey Whole Wheat Oat Bread

1 1/2 cups warm water

1 packet active dry yeast

1 T honey

1 cup all purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup old fashioned oats

1 1/2 tsp kosher salt

1 T butter, melted

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Mix together warm water, yeast, and honey in one bowl.  Allow this mixture to sit for 10 minutes to allow yeast to bloom.  In another bowl, combine flours, oats, and salt.  Add wet ingredients to dry and mix well.  Brush your loaf pan with melted butter.  Place your dough into your loaf pan, cover with a towel, and allow to rise for 30 minutes.  Bake for 35-40 minutes.  Serve warm immediately out of the oven with some more melted butter! 🙂

Nutrition Info: Serving (1/10th of loaf), Calories: 125, Fat: 1.7g, Carbs: 24g, Fiber: 1.1g, Protein: 3.1g

17 thoughts on “Honey Whole Wheat Oat Bread

  1. This is so funny because a couple of days ago I printed off her Easy Little Bread recipe. I love her blog! 🙂

    This bread looks great. I’ve seen a lot of homemade breads out there lately, which means I should probably get back to making my own again…

  2. I’m definitely saving this one for later – I hardly ever make homemade bread, and I’m not sure why. It’s so delicious, comforting, and smells wonderful!

    • Totally agree – love the whole process of making homemade bread, especially how the house smells when it’s baking 🙂

      This bread is actually super easy, I think you’ll love it!

  3. oh my! this looks fabulous! i feel the need to make this ASAP. Contains some of my favorite things; whole wheat, oats, honey, and yeast. thank you for the recipe 🙂

  4. Wow, that looks tasty and so easy! And yes I still have t-shirts for college, tehee. I wear them to work out and to sleep. Sadly they’re starting to look worse for wear =(

  5. Enjoying your blog. Honey whole wheat bread is in the oven. Can’t wait to taste it! Next, I’ll try the muffins!

  6. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  7. Pingback: Tempting Tidbits Trials – Honey Whole Wheat Oat Bread « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

