Cream of Mushroom Pork Chops

This is a simple, homestyle recipe that my mom used to make all the time when we were growing up.  She says I used to gobble it down as a toddler 🙂  I think there’s something about the foods you ate when you were a child that makes you nostalgic.  This is comfort on a plate for me!

It’s really simple and I think you and your family will love it!  Simply season your pork chops (or chicken) on both sides with either Lawry’s seasoning salt or salt and pepper.  My mom always used Lawry’s, so that’s what I do 🙂  Brown on both sides in a nonstick or cast iron skillet.  When pork chops are almost cooked through, add in one sliced onion and one package of white or baby bella mushrooms.  Cook until onion and mushrooms are softened.  Add in one can of Healthy Request cream of mushroom soup, half a can of milk, and some fresh thyme (or dried thyme).  Cook until the sauce has thickened, and is bubbly and creamy.  Serve hot with some more cracked black pepper over the top!

We used to always eat this over rice when I was growing up, and I loved spooning the extra sauce all over my rice.  My mom says I would gnaw on the pork chop bone I loved it so much…don’t tell, but I still might do that to this day…just not in front of company 🙂  This was a quick and easy weeknight meal with a fresh salad, baked potato, and steamed asparagus!  What are some of your childhood favorites that are still your favorites today?

Cream of Mushroom Pork Chops

1 pound of pork chops (bone in or boneless)

Lawry’s seasoning salt (or salt and pepper)

Olive oil or canola oil

1 onion, sliced

1 package white or baby bella mushrooms, sliced

1 can Healthy Request cream of mushroom soup

1/2 can 1% milk

2-3 sprigs fresh thyme leaves or 1/2 tsp dried thyme leaves

extra cracked pepper for serving

Season your pork chops on both sides with Lawry’s seasoning salt or salt and pepper.  Brown in a nonstick or cast iron skillet until almost cooked through.  Add in sliced onion, mushrooms and cook until just softened.  Add in cream of mushroom soup, milk, and thyme.  Stir to combine and allow sauce to thicken and get really bubbly and creamy.  Serve hot with extra cracked pepper on top!  Enjoy!


7 thoughts on “Cream of Mushroom Pork Chops

  1. I can’t even tell you how much I love the cream of mushrooms sauce, my grandma makes some with potatoes and dill and its to die for, my faborite childhood meal!

    • really? i think it’s a perfect combo 🙂 the other thing we used to have regularly was eggs and rice, two fried eggs on top of hot rice and a little soy sauce on top, all mixed together so the runny eggs mixed with the rice 🙂

  2. Oh yes! same here, fried eggs, runny yolks, rice, soy sauce, and spam or chinese sausage! really salty and oh so healthy, right? hehe 🙂 but so good!

Leave a Reply

