Strawberries and Cream Oatmeal Squares

This is my new favorite recipe for baked oatmeal!  I love the combination of sweet strawberries and cream cheese, with all the goodness of oatmeal.  There is no added oil or butter, but you won’t miss it, trust me!    This makes the perfect breakfast, snack, or even dessert if you topped it with some ice cream or vanilla Greek yogurt!  It’s a great one for the kids too, as they can help with the whole process, and you can feel good about giving them this sweet treat 🙂

This is a variation on the peanut butter banana oatmeal squares I made last week from Gingerbread Bagels, and I think I might actually like this version better!  It’s so simple…just mix oats, brown sugar, baking powder, salt and cinnamon in a bowl.  Then add in wet ingredients: vanilla extract, milk, strawberries (either fresh or thawed), and softened cream cheese and mix until well combined.  The cream cheese bits should be distributed throughout, no one wants to miss out on those creamy bites 🙂

I had my trusty helper, of course 🙂  Place in a greased 8×8 baking dish, and bake at 350 degrees F for 25-30 minutes.  Do not over bake as it will get dry, I like it better a little creamy on the inside.  Cut into squares and enjoy!

Strawberries and Cream Baked Oatmeal

1 1/2 cups old fashioned oats

1/4 cup light brown sugar, packed

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 cup 1% milk

1 cup strawberries, sliced

3 ounces light cream cheese, softened

Mix together oats, brown sugar, baking powder, kosher salt, and cinnamon in a bowl.  Then add in your milk, vanilla extract, strawberries, and softened cream cheese, blending until cream cheese is well mixed.  Place in a greased 8×8 pan and bake at 350 degrees F for 25-30 min.

Nutrition Info: Serving size (1/9th of pan), Calories: 115, Fat: 5g, Carbs: 15g, Fiber: 2g, Protein: 3g

7 thoughts on “Strawberries and Cream Oatmeal Squares

    • I think you will love this oatmeal then!! I used to eat instant oatmeal almost every morning as a kid…my favorite flavors were the strawberries and cream and the brown sugar one 🙂

  1. Mmm, they look like cereal bars! I’ve never had baked oatmeal (I’m more of an overnight oats kind of girl) but I should try this… it looks like something you can just grab-and-go.

    • You could definitely take this on the go, although it’s a bit more crumbly than a typical granola bar! I love baked oatmeal…sometimes I pour some milk over the top and mix it all up 🙂

      Do you have a good overnight oats recipe? I tried it one time and didn’t like the texture, but I’m willing to give it another try 🙂

Leave a Reply

