Weekend Fun and Bouchon Bistro

It was quite a weekend!  Hope yours was fun 🙂  When Patrick found out that The Shins were coming to Vegas, we knew we had to get tickets.  It’s been unseasonably warm here, but of course the night we go to an outdoor concert, it starts to rain!  Luckily, it didn’t rain too hard or for too long, and we loved the venue.  The concert was pool-side at the Cosmopolitan hotel, with great views of the strip!  Here we are, so happy to be out by ourselves for a night 🙂

 

The Shins were awesome, and although Patrick is a much bigger fan than I am, I really enjoyed it!

 

Before the concert, we had dinner at Bouchon Bistro in the Venetian.  I’ve been wanting to  try Thomas Keller’s restaurant for a while now.  Everyone talks about their brunch…chicken and waffles, croque madame, pastries…but the wait can be LONG, so we were happy to go for dinner.  The poulet roti was seriously the best chicken I have ever tasted.  It was so flavorful and moist, even the white meat was just so tender.  I used their Epi bread to soak up all of that wonderful sauce!

 

Patrick had the lamb, which was equally delicious.  I wondered how Thomas Keller made this wonderful chicken, so I googled the recipe online last night, and found out that the process is so simple, I can’t wait to try it out!  We thought about getting dessert there, but instead opted to walk downstairs to Bouchon Bakery and pick up a strawberry croissant to eat on the way to the concert.  It was a flaky croissant topped with strawberry jam, almond cream, and buttery crumble…best decision!  I would definitely recommend Bouchon for a special night out, and am looking forward to going back for breakfast sometime!

The rest of the weekend was spent running errands, and doing lots of baking.  I have had a Williams-Sonoma gift card for over a year now, and finally spent some of it on a cast iron skillet, a Silpat, and a new spatula.  I am so excited about the cast iron skillet!  Williams-Sonoma was definitely not the best deal for this item: we paid $32, but you can buy it for $22 on Amazon, and we saw it at Target for $19 today.  I hate not getting the best deal, but I figured spending my gift card money is better than spending my actual money!

We also went to visit Patrick’s grandparents, so I made a couple loaves of Irish Soda Bread.  It doesn’t have to be St. Patrick’s Day to eat this bread, especially if you put some softened butter on it and make it breakfast, or dessert 🙂

I hope your Monday is off to a great start!

One thought on “Weekend Fun and Bouchon Bistro

  1. Pingback: Solar Eclipse and Bouchon’s Famous Roast Chicken « My Healthy 'Ohana

Leave a Reply

