Strawberry Jam Day

It’s been a busy Monday already!  Malia went to swim class this morning, we did some grocery shopping, and then took Kona for a walk to the park.  We were all excited to get outdoors, it’s just lovely outside today!

At the grocery store, strawberries were on sale…4 pounds for $3.99 and I knew I had to make some fresh strawberry jam.

I used to only eat the store-bought stuff, until my mother-in-law offered to teach me how to make my own jam.  I can’t go back!  There’s something wonderful about eating something that you canned yourself, and I love having these little gems in our pantry.

Patrick eats an english muffin with PB and jam or honey almost every single day, so I need a big stock on hand!  This recipe made 2 small jars, 3 large jars, and a little extra for the cook 🙂  First, wash your jars and bands/lids in warm, soapy water.  Set a large pot of water on the stove to simmer, and then place your jars and bands inside.  In a separate small pot, place your lids and pour some of the simmering water over and set aside.

Next, wash and hull your strawberries, and then mash them with a potato masher.  Go ahead and get your aggression out!  You can use a food processor, but be sure to not puree it too much, you want some chunks of fresh strawberry in there.  Measure your strawberries after crushing, you’ll need exactly 5 cups of crushed strawberries and 7 cups of sugar.

Place your crushed strawberries, Sure Jell, and a small pat of butter over high heat and bring to a full rolling boil, which means that it’s still boiling even while you’re mixing it.  Then add your 7 cups of sugar and stir constantly until it comes back to a full rolling boil. Now set your timer for exactly one minute and stir, stir, stir!  Then take your pan off the heat.

I love the bright red color of the jam after it’s cooked.  Now take your jars, bands/lids out of the water (I used tongs to do this) and set on a clean kitchen towel.  Ladle the hot jam into your jars until it reaches 1/8 inch from the rim.  I may or may not have spooned jam straight from the pot into my mouth after finishing all my jars 🙂  Wipe the jars clean and then place the lids/bands on, tighten, and put back in the simmering water for 10 more minutes.  Set on your kitchen counter to cool, and hope that the lids will seal when it cools 🙂  I check them every so often and press down on the lid, just in case it helps.

Now sit down and enjoy the fruits of your labor!  This jam made the perfect afternoon snack…french bread topped with butter and slathered with still warm strawberry jam…it’s so delicious, you have to try this!

And then teach someone else once you’ve got it down…it’s a lovely time to chat while you make something delicious for the ones you love.  I can’t wait for my mother-in-law’s apricot tree to ripen so we can make some fresh apricot jam!

Hope you have a great day!

8 thoughts on “Strawberry Jam Day

  1. Wonderful post! Nothing is much nicer than having your own jam. My mom-in-law made all kinds of jams especially when she and my father-in-law were still in their old home with a huge garden and have all kinds of fruits. 😉

  2. Pingback: Homemade French Bread « My Healthy 'Ohana

  3. Pingback: Homemade Strawberry Champagne Jam « My Healthy 'Ohana

  4. Pingback: Homemade Cashew Butter « My Healthy 'Ohana

Leave a Reply

