St. Patrick’s Day Treats

Happy St. Patrick’s Day to you all!

My sweet mother-in-law gave me this beautiful shamrock.

 

The shamrocks open during the daytime and fold down at night…I had no idea they do that.  There’s also some dainty white flowers blooming.

 

I’m a notorious plant killer, but I hope to keep this one alive for a while!  These shamrocks remind me of how green and beautiful Ireland was when we visited.  I’ll have to do a separate post on our Ireland trip.  We drove from Shannon all the way to Dublin and stopped at small towns along the way.  Incidentally, this was Patrick’s family vacation, and I had never met his parents before, so it was a great way to get to know each other!  We mostly stayed at B&Bs, which was definitely the way to do it!  You experience the Irish hospitality and get an amazing Irish breakfast each morning, fresh brown bread with orange marmalade, yum!  I’ll never forget how friendly the Irish people were or how beautiful the countryside was, pictures and recap to come!

I had a long work day yesterday, it was quite busy in the office!  I was at a different office than I normally practice at, but it was still a really fun day seeing all the kids and families.  As I was getting ready to leave, I was browsing through nearby restaurants and saw that Retro Bakery was only a mile away.  I’ve been dying to try their cupcakes, since everyone raves about them.  Bakerella did a nice review of their cupcakes when she was visiting Las Vegas.  These are the ones I got yesterday:

 

Apple cider on the left (cinnamon swirl cake topped with apple cider buttercream dusted with cinnamon and sugar). Milk and cookies on the right (chocolate-chip cake topped with vanilla buttercream and a freshly baked chocolate-chip cookie).  Everything’s better with a cookie on top!

 

Hopscotch on the left (vanilla cake topped with vanilla buttercream dipped in butterscotch ganache) – their number one seller!  Pucker Up on the right (raspberry cake topped with lemon buttercream) – I loved the raspberry cake, so moist and full of fresh raspberries!

The surprise favorite was the apple cider cupcake!  The cinnamon cake was so delicious and it paired perfectly with the not overly sweet apple cider buttercream.  It’s weird, but I found myself preferring to eat the cake part rather than the frosting on these cupcakes.  Not to worry, I had a frosting monster on my hands…

 

Don’t forget to try this Irish Soda Bread recipe for St. Patty’s Day!  Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

