Baby O #2 – 10 week ultrasound

 

We are so excited that we’ll be welcoming our second baby in August!  This ultrasound was taken at 10 weeks, and it was an amazing moment to see our little one bouncing around in there and moving his/her arms and legs.  Seeing the heartbeat is always such a reassuring moment for me, it fills me with such joy!  I had two miscarriages before giving birth to our daughter, so I was definitely concerned that everything was going smoothly with this pregnancy.  We visited a great place in Las Vegas called Miracle in Progress.  They offer heartbeat checks for only $25, and they will also do gender checks starting at 14 weeks, and 3D/4D ultrasounds.  They have a very comfortable, large area where they do the ultrasounds…I can imagine having a bunch of family and friends coming to witness either a 3D/4D ultrasound or celebrating finding out if it is a girl or a boy!

They let Patrick take a video during our ultrasound, and he immediately came home and put this video together!  He spent quite a while finding a good song to go along with it….warmed my heart 🙂  I married a good man.

 

The first trimester has been very rough.  We found out we were pregnant right away, and even at 6 weeks, I was starting to feel nauseated.  The nausea peaked around 9-10 weeks, along with reflux, which I hadn’t had with my first pregnancy.  This worked against me, because whenever I ate, I would feel a lot of burning and uncomfortable bloating, but an empty stomach was a surefire way to trigger the nausea.  Also, a lot of the foods that I normally enjoyed, were just not appetizing at all.  I couldn’t eat salads, ice cream, and anything with onions or garlic.  I craved fresh fruits and tortillas with cheese.  The hardest part of the first trimester was the fatigue, especially since I have an active two year old to take care of!

 

People sometimes ask me what helped with the nausea.  I think having small meals more frequently helps, as an empty stomach can make the nausea worse.  Also, with my daughter, I always had Lemonheads on me…something about that sour/sweet combo helped soothe my stomach.  My Ob prescribed me a pill that had vitamin B6 and ginger combined, but I never tried it.  I gave it to a friend of mine, who said that it helped her.  Ginger is supposed to help with the nausea, but I couldn’t handle the potency of ginger chews or hard candies, it was just too strong for me!  Try to get as much rest as you can and drink lots of fluids too!

Ever since hitting 12 weeks, I’ve been feeling better everyday.  The nausea has faded, the reflux is almost all gone, and my energy is slowly coming back.  Also, I ate a couple of salads, which was a breakthrough for me 🙂  One of our friends in Philadelphia made this amazing salad using Cindy’s Kitchen balsamic vinaigrette enhanced with omega 3s…I was on a mission after that to find that dressing (it is available at Whole Foods)!  I’ve still been able to eat cooked vegetables including asparagus, brussel sprouts, carrots, and green beans.  I even had kale chips for the first time this past week, with some kale from our farmer’s market, and loved it!

I am so enjoying this part of the pregnancy, seeing my body changing, and waiting to feel those first movements!  More to come…

If you’ve been pregnant, what were your pregnancy aversions/cravings?

What helped with first trimester “morning sickness”?

Leave a Reply

