Patrick’s favorite apple crisp

It’s been SO long since my last post, please forgive the long hiatus!  When I started back at work, I found that the time I usually set aside for sitting down at the computer and writing my posts was gone!  I have really missed it though, and have been storing up lots of pictures and recipes to share with you all :)

Lake Tahoe 2013 - 3We traveled to Lake Tahoe a couple months ago for my husband’s family reunion.  We spent the week relaxing at the pool, mini-golfing and bowling with our kids and their cousins, going fishing for crawdads, and just spending quality time together.  It was really wonderful, and I hope we can make it a yearly tradition.  My husband’s family used to spend a lot of time there as kids, so it was fun to hear them reminiscing about things they used to do, that now our kids can enjoy!  There’s something about the natural beauty and the pace of life in Lake Tahoe that really resonates with me!

Lake Tahoe 2013 - 4One night my in-laws had their friends over for dinner, so we made my favorite chicken parmesan recipe and apple crisp for dessert.  I had never made the apple crisp recipe before, but Patrick said it was amazing!  I actually made it for him again a few weeks later for his birthday (instead of cake!)

ImageThe topping is what really makes this apple crisp special.  I doubled the topping, so that every surface of the apple would be covered in crisp :)  It’s so buttery and delicious!

ImageStart by peeling and slicing 5 medium apples (I used a combination of Granny Smith and Gala apples).  Place in a pie plate or casserole dish.  Mix sugar, flour, and cinnamon together and combine with the apple slices.  Pour water over the top.

ImageIn a separate bowl, combine the oats, flour, brown sugar, baking powder, baking soda and melted butter.  This will make a nice crumbly dough.  Sprinkle over the top of the apples and bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.

ImagePerfect served warm with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream, or eaten cold for breakfast :)  If you have an apple pie or fruit crisp lover in your life, you have to make this!

Image

Best Apple Crisp

slightly adapted from allrecipes.com

5 medium apples, peeled and sliced

1 cup granulated sugar

1 T all purpose flour

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 cup water

1 cup old fashioned oats

1 cup all purpose flour

1 cup packed brown sugar

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 cup butter, melted

Place sliced apples in a pie plate or casserole dish.  Mix granulated sugar, flour, and cinnamon together.  Combine with the apples and pour water over top.

In a separate bowl, combine the oats, flour, brown sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and melted butter until it forms large crumbs.  Top the apples with the crumb mixture, making sure to cover the whole surface.

Bake at 350 degrees F for 45 minutes.

Please share what’s new in your life!  What have been the highlights of your summer so far?

24 thoughts on “Patrick’s favorite apple crisp

  1. Hi! So glad you’re back! I was just thinking about getting back to blogging also!!

    This apple crisp looks perfect! Makes me want to make my own recipe! Yum!

    • Thanks, I’ve missed your posts too! Seems like you guys have a had a busy and really fun summer :)

      I feel like I’ve already transitioned into fall foods…this week’s menu has chili with cornbread and split pea soup! Hope you and your family are doing well :)

  2. Nice to have you back! I missed you! I have been looking for a great apple crisp recipe because I bought a bunch of apples at the apple orchard recently. Thank you! ~Thea

    • I’ve missed you too, Thea! Can’t wait to get caught up on your posts :)

      Getting apples from the apple orchard sounds lovely, that was one of my favorite things to do in the fall when we lived in Philadelphia…that and get some hot apple cider and apple cider doughnuts! Hope you and your family are doing well!

  3. So happy to hear from you once again! Almost gave up on you. The apple crisp is perfect for the coming season and your children … what can I say but adorable. They put a smile on my face.

  4. Maura!! Yay! Welcome back ;). I can’t wait for you to fill us in on all the fun you’ve been having. I’ve never been to Lake Tahoe, but you’re right! There’s nothing I love more than soaking in God’s amazing creations. You look so beautiful! Purple is a great color for you ;). Double the topping..I like how you roll. That way, TIm and I don’t have to fight for it hehe. I’m officially beginning my clinical rotations this week after 2 weeks of MNT review, orientation, training, etc. I just purchased the ugliest looking non-skid shoes (but they’re mighty comfy) today. I think I’m all set to go now. Wish me luck! ttys!!

    • I’m SO excited for your first clinical rotation!! Will be praying that God’s peace and comfort will calm your nerves. Please call or text me and let me know how it goes :)

      p.s. I can’t imagine that anything you wear could possibly be ugly, you have the best fashion sense! In residency, I tried wearing Dansko clogs, because so many people swore by them, but for some reason they didn’t agree with my feet :) I always admire your outfits – I need to find some good work clothes, if you have any suggestions for places to go, please share!

      • I will def keep you posted! Thank you for your prayers! I need them..desperately. I purchased my shoes from Walmart bc I didn’t want to spend money on ugly shoes haha. Trust me..they are ugly! I’ve been shopping a lot at Loft lately. They usually have really great sales so I take full advantage ;).

  5. Hi, lovely to see you back in blogland! :) I’ve also struggled with finding time to blog anything after having started back at work! That apple crisp looks delicious, similar to my apple crumble only a LOT more delicious by the looks of it! And look how your gorgeous kids have grown! :)

Leave a Reply

