PB and Banana Chocolate Chip Granola Bars

I’m always on the lookout for recipes that call for over-ripe bananas and oats.  Somehow I seem to have an excess of both at all times!  These healthy chewy oatmeal bars from Sally’s Baking Addiction contain no flour, oil, or butter!  They are delicious and so satisfying.  The oats and peanut butter give these little guys real staying power, while the peanut butter chips and chocolate chips give it that decadent factor that make them perfect for breakfast, snack, or dessert.  I wanted to put these in my daughter’s lunch box, but they contain peanut butter, and that is not allowed.  You could substitute with a sunflower seed butter or even cookie butter (!)

peanut butter banana chocolate chip oatmeal squares

Plus, it’s a one bowl recipe, my favorite kind…just add all the ingredients and stir.  Oats, dark brown sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, milk, vanilla extract, egg, mashed bananas, and peanut butter.  I use Skippy Natural Creamy Peanut Butter…my husband doesn’t like the natural peanut butters where the oil separates on the top, and the Skippy one does not require stirring!

IMG_7490

Don’t forget the best part – peanut butter chips and chocolate chips!IMG_7491-001 IMG_7492

Press the mixture into a greased 8×8 pan and bake at 350 for about 20 minutes.  There’s endless variations you could do with this!  Next time I think I’ll add in some chopped honey roasted peanuts or pretzels for that sweet/salty combo!  White chocolate chips and cranberries would be great, or dark chocolate chunks and dried cherries…I could go on and on :)

IMG_7493

PB and Banana Chocolate Chip Granola Bars

From Sally’s Baking Addiction

2.5 cups old fashioned oats

1/4 cup dark brown sugar

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp ground cinnamon

2 bananas, mashed

1/2 cup 1% milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 large egg

1/3 cup creamy peanut butter

1/2 cup semi sweet chocolate chips

1/2 cup peanut butter chips

Preheat oven to 350F degrees. Grease an 8 x 8 pan.

In a bowl, mix the dry ingredients together: oats, brown sugar, baking powder salt, and cinnamon.  Add in the wet: milk, vanilla, egg, and mashed bananas.  Stir to combine.  Fold in the chocolate and peanut butter chips.  Place the mixture in your prepared pan and bake for 20 minutes.  Cool before cutting.

What’s your favorite nut butter or non-nut butter?

What’s your favorite kind of chocolate?

If it’s a square of chocolate, I love dark.  If it’s inside of a dessert or melted, I prefer white chocolate :)

20 thoughts on “PB and Banana Chocolate Chip Granola Bars

  1. I prefer natural peanut butter that’s nothing but peanuts and maybe a little salt. It takes awhile to master stirring the oil back in. I had been buying Smuckers, but recently found a store brand that is much less expensive. My favorite chocolate — dark.

    • Yes, I love natural peanut butters too. When we lived in Philadelphia, we used to buy homemade peanut butter from the Amish…I loved their honey roasted version. I made it at home recently using just the honey roasted peanuts whirred up in the food processor, and it was good, but not quite as good as the one they used to make :) I’m glad you’ve found one that is less expensive, sometimes the prices are really high!

  2. I think you’re missing the bananas in your ingredient list. How many do you use?

    This recipe looks great! As soon as I have some really ripe bananas, I’m going to make these!

  3. Pingback: Better n’ Oats Jar | Silk & Tofu

  4. We are officially a Sunflower Seed Butter family. We’ve nicknamed it “Sunny Butter” which made my kids like it even more. It also requires the stirring of the oil, but I’ll live with that.

    One weird thing about sunny butter which I’ve probably told you already: I made those peanut butter cookies with the Hershey’s Kisses pressed into the top of them (know what I mean?) and I substituted the PB with sunny butter. The cookies came out GREEN! Tasted fine, but they were as green as a shamrock! Funny….

    As for chocolate — I’ve never met any that I didn’t like. I love them all!

    • I thought of you when I was suggesting Sunflower Butter :) I remember you telling me about your sunflower butter baking experience!! How surreal. That would be good for St. Patrick’s day though!

  5. I LOVE granola bars. But then again, I love anything that’s portable, delicious, and healthy. Although there’s chocolate and pb chips, hey, it could be a lot worse, right? hehe. I’m really loving cashew butter these days. Almonds are my favorite nut, but I realized I like eating it raw rather than as a spread. I def prefer dark over milk chocolate. Tim gave me a piece of his milk chocolate the other day, and I told him it was wayy too sweet. Your comment about white chocolate made me think of my mommy. Her FAV is Hershey’s white chocolate cookies n cream.

  6. Ok, the time has come to incorporate the peanut butter into my usual cookies! Your pictures are so compelling, Maura, I just wanna leave my office straight away and go to do some baking! :)

      • Hi Maura,
        yesterday I made this recipe of yours, without peanut butter chips and without the peanut butter part as well, (it’s not always easy to find peanut butter products here in Europe), nevertheless the result is delicious. I put also rice flakes instead of oat flakes because of my gluten intolerance, but the whole things worked out great. Keep inspiring us :)

      • Thank you so much for the feedback, it makes me so happy to know that you enjoyed it :) I’ve heard from other people that live in Europe or Australia that it is hard to find peanut butter products too…glad it still came out even without the peanut butter! Where in Europe do you live? You made my day with your post, thank you!!

      • Hi Maura,
        I am happy to hear that my comment made your day :) The next thing I’ll be trying is your banana bread recipe.
        I wish you a great day (from Luxembourg :)

  7. Hey Maura!

    Nice to meet another Asian blogger, especially from Hawaii! I know a vegan food blogger that is based in Hawaii :)

    I love peanut butter and banana. These are the two major sweet ingredients I love in a dessert, and of course granola bars!

Leave a Reply

