Chicken Pot Pie for the ones you love

I hope you all had a wonderful Easter weekend!  We went to church, hunted for Easter eggs, and spent time with the kids at the park :)  There was way too much candy consumed, but who can resist a Reeses peanut butter egg on Easter?  I’m all about peanut M&Ms right now, too!

IMG_2054It was my parents’ anniversary recently, and I wanted to make them a special dinner to celebrate!  I posted recently about reading Dinner, A Love Story, and was inspired by her story of making individual pot pies with her children’s first initial on each one.  I thought it would be cute to have my parent’s initials and a heart for their anniversary, and they loved it!  This chicken pot pie is perfect for a cold night…the buttery pastry and the warm, creamy filling is just so comforting!

IMG_7537My daughter is having so much fun learning her letters, so the job of rolling and forming the letters and hearts for her grammy and papa was really fun for her!  You never know where you’re going to find letters too.  We were walking through a parking lot recently, and she stopped and said excitedly, “Look Mom, an L!!”

IMG_2038This recipe is really decadent tasting, but it’s actually pretty healthy.  It’s filled with good for you sweet potatoes and carrots, and the creamy filling contains only a tablespoon of butter and no cream, just 1% milk.  First, place sweet potatoes, carrots, fresh thyme and chicken broth in a saucepan.  Bring to a boil, cover and simmer until the potatoes and carrots are just tender.

IMG_7532In a separate pan, saute the onions and butter until the onions are just translucent.  Add in flour and cook for a couple of minutes, just to take away the raw flour taste.  Add in milk and stir until the mixture becomes a thick paste.  This is going to be the thickener for the sauce.

IMG_7531Add this paste to the vegetables and broth, stirring until the mixture becomes a creamy sauce.  Fold in the cubed chicken and frozen peas. I took a shortcut here by using rotisserie chicken, which added a nice smoky flavor to the filling.

IMG_7533I could have eaten this as is, it’s so creamy and delicious!  I think this little pup agreed :)  Place the mixture in a 9 inch pie plate or individual ramekins.

IMG_7534Take your pie dough and drape it over the top, sealing the edges with a fork.  WIth the excess dough, roll out your family’s initials or create fun shapes!  Cut some vents in the top of the crust, so that the steam has a place to escape.

IMG_7536Lastly, brush the top with some beaten egg, so that it bakes up nice and golden.  This recipe was really fun to do with my daughter..she helped me crimp the crust, roll out the letters and brush the top with egg wash :)

IMG_7535This meal was perfect served with some crusty bread and a nice green salad!  It has a few steps, but by using rotisserie chicken and refrigerated pie crust, this took me very little time to make.  I was a little wary about using the refrigerated pie crust, but it turned out perfectly and is so handy if you’re in a hurry.  You could always substitute your favorite pie dough recipe, though!

homemade chicken pot pie

Chicken Pot Pie

Serves 5

1 sweet potato, peeled and chopped

2 cups baby carrots, cut in half

1 can chicken broth

3 sprigs fresh thyme

1/2 large onion, minced

1 T butter

1/3 cup flour

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

2/3 cup milk

1/2 rotisserie chicken, skin removed, meat chopped into large dice

1/2 cup frozen peas

1 9 inch pie crust (I used Pillsbury refrigerated pie dough or your favorite pie dough)

1 large egg, beaten

Place sweet potato, carrots, thyme and chicken broth in a saucepan.  Cover and bring to a boil, cooking until the potatoes and carrots are just tender.

In a separate pan, saute onions with butter until just translucent.  Add flour, salt, pepper and cook for about 2 minutes.  Add in milk, and stir until the mixture is a thick paste.  Add this to the vegetables and broth, stirring constantly until it forms a creamy sauce.  Fold in your chopped chicken and frozen peas.

Place the mixture in a 9 inch pie plate or individual ramekins.  Cover with the pie dough, sealing the edges with a fork.  Remove the excess pie dough and roll into individual letters or fun shapes :)  Brush the top of the pie dough with beaten egg.  Cut several vents in the top to allow the steam to escape.

Bake at 425 F for 20-25 minutes, or until top is nice and brown.

What are your favorite Easter candies?

What are some of your favorite comfort foods?

31 thoughts on “Chicken Pot Pie for the ones you love

    • Joan, I love sweet potatoes!! I could eat them everyday. We have some different varieties in Hawaii…a yellow one that has a firmer texture, and an Okinawan purple sweet potato that is a bit starchier and perfect for snacking with a little bit of salt on top :) But I love good old orange sweet potatoes the best, baked as a side with some butter and cinnamon!

      • Purple sweet potatoes?! No. Way. Have you ever seen them outside Hawaii? They sound amazing.

        In the past year or so, I’ve become a big sweet potato fan — I like them baked like you would a regular russet potato with a spot of butter and that’s it. (I’m not a fan of the “whipped with marshmallows on top” recipe — my kids are, but I find it’s too sweet). I’ll bet a plate of roasted yellow, orange and purple sweet potatoes would be gorgeous and delicious.

      • I haven’t seen the Okinawan variety outside of Hawaii, but I have seen purple potatoes! Actually, when we lived on the mainland, I used to buy a bag from Trader Joe’s that had purple potatoes, yukon gold, and red potatoes.

        That’s so funny that you mentioned putting the yellow, orange, and purple potatoes together, because that’s exactly what my mom does every Thanksgiving. She layers the different colors in a dish and bakes them with a very yummy maple and orange butter, it’s one of my favorite dishes (and no marshmallows)!

  1. This looks so good! I love that you added your family initials with the excess dough! Your daughter is adorable in that picture! :-) glad to hear you had a great weekend with your family!

  2. I haven’t had chicken pot pie in SUCH a long time! Surprising, since it’s one of my fav comfort meals. I like your version much better than the traditional ones with lots of butter and cream. You are such a sweet, lovely daughter. I LOVE the addition of your parent’s initials…It’s always wonderful to receive something that’s been personalized. Happy belated anniversary to your parents! Malia sure looks excited in that picture hehe. And hello, Kona. I see you are eyeing the pie too. I don’t blame ya. My Kona would be doing the same thing. Hope you have a wonderful week, my dear sweet friend! xoxo

    • Haha, she loves to “paint” with the basting brush! And yes, Kona is always hovering about hoping for something to fall from the counter, does your Kona do that? Our Kona has been getting a bit portly ever since Ryan started eating solids, because a lot more scraps fall from the skies these days :) Hope you’re having a great Monday, Min!! Love you!

    • Beth, I’m so glad you liked it!! Let me know if you try any more of her recipes! Thanks for recommending Ruth Reichl’s books too. I’m hooked! Finished Garlic and Sapphires over the weekend, and reading Comfort me with Apples now (I read them out of order).

  3. Pingback: Turkey Pot Pie – This Hungry Kitten

  4. Pingback: Easy and Healthy Linguine with Clam Sauce | My Healthy 'Ohana

Leave a Reply

