Sweet Bread Pumpkin Baked French Toast

How is your week going?  Mine has been messy.  My son started eating solids, and while it’s been so fun watching him enjoy new tastes and textures, it’s doubled his baths and changes of clothes ;)  Our dog couldn’t be happier, though!  So far, my son has willingly ate anything I put in front of him…tofu, bananas, sweet potato, carrots, smashed edamame, cucumbers, even irish soda bread for St. Patrick’s Day…I can tell he’s going to be a good eater!  This is my little kitchen buddy when I’m preparing dinner :)

IMG_7406We had a brunch a few months ago for my daughter’s 3rd birthday, and I served this Hawaiian sweet bread pumpkin baked french toast.  This recipe actually started out as a bread pudding recipe, but I call it baked french toast so we don’t feel bad about eating it at 10 in the morning :)  Usually when I think of bread pudding recipes, they have a ton of butter, cream, and sugar, but I’ve made changes over the years to this one such that it has only 1/2 stick of butter, uses 1% milk instead of cream, and yet still tastes absolutely decadent and delicious…trust me!

hawaiian sweet bread pumpkin bread puddingStart with a loaf of Hawaiian Sweet Bread.  When I lived on the mainland, I was able to find King’s Hawaiian Sweet Bread in most grocery stores.

IMG_7297 Break the loaf into small pieces and place them in a 9×13 baking dish.  I love this part because I get to snack on some of the pieces of bread :)IMG_7300Next, in a saucepan, heat up your milk, butter and sugar, until the butter is melted.  Whisk in your eggs and pumpkin, and finally add some vanilla extract.

IMG_7299Pour the mixture over your bread pieces and allow the bread to soak up all that wonderful flavor.  Sprinkle ground cinnamon all over the top, and bake in a 350 degree oven for an hour and fifteen minutes, or until a tester comes out clean.  Allow it to cool a bit before slicing.

IMG_7338This is one of my go-to recipes for brunch parties or dessert…it’s always a hit!  It’s very custardy and perfect with some maple syrup (if you’re serving in the morning), or vanilla ice cream or whipped cream if you’re doing a “bread pudding” :)  I love making it with pumpkin in the fall/winter, and with fresh fruit or chocolate chips in the spring/summer…customize it to whatever you like and have on hand!

Hawaiian Sweet Bread Pumpkin Baked French Toast

Serves 10

16 oz loaf Hawaiian Sweet Bread, torn into small pieces

5 cups 1% milk

1/2 stick butter

1 cup sugar

5 eggs, beaten

1/2 cup pumpkin

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp ground cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 350 F.

Break the bread into small pieces and place them in a 9×13 baking dish.  Add your milk, butter, and sugar to a saucepan over medium heat and cook until the butter has melted.  Whisk in 5 beaten eggs and pumpkin.  Stir and cook over medium heat for about 2 minutes.  Stir in the vanilla extract and pour the mixture over the bread pieces, allowing the bread to soak up all the liquid.  Sprinkle ground cinnamon over the top and bake in a 350 degree oven for 1 hour and 15 minutes, or until a tester comes out clean.  

26 thoughts on “Sweet Bread Pumpkin Baked French Toast

  1. I’m thinking this is the very recipe we need for a Sunday morning — maybe even Easter. Sounds delish, and I think I have a stray can of pumpkin that never found its way into bread.

    Your little guy is a charmer! And what with all this amazing food around, it’s no surprise that he’s a good eater.

    • I stockpile pumpkin at Thanksgiving time so I have enough to last me until the next fall…it does seem kind of wrong to serve people pumpkin flavored things in the summer, though :)

      We’ll be making this for Easter brunch, what do you have on your Easter menu??

      • Smart to save some pumpkin for when you can’t readily find it. And I don’t see anything wrong with pumpkin year-round. Just shows how prepared you are! :)

        Easter dinner is the big meal for us this year. So far, it’s ham, big salad, grilled asparagus, some sort of potatoes. My husband usually throws in a dish or two that I did not plan for. :)

        I’m thinking this recipe would be a great breakfast to serve as the kids go on their scavenger hunt. At our house, the Easter Bunny leaves plastic eggs with poem-clues as to where little gifts (books, excellent pens, etc.) are hidden.

      • Your menu sounds so yummy! We are having ham too, along with a green salad, scalloped potatoes, and flaky buttermilk biscuits :)

        The scavenger hunt sounds SO fun, what a creative idea! And I love that you do non-food gifts…I’ve been trying not to buy the Easter candies, but I couldn’t resist getting a Reese’s peanut butter egg for myself, haha.

        Hope you have a very blessed Easter, Joan!

  2. I’m going to make this with chocolate chips and fruit for Easter! Hope you, Patrick, Malia, and Ryan are doing well! Ryan is such a big boy already:)

  3. Hello my beautiful friend! I remember vividly your post on bread pudding made with Hawaiian sweet bread…it was so so delicious!! Tim and I ate it for breakfast, afternoon snack, after dinner snack…We licked it clean ;). I can’t wait to try this recipe. I am very surprised by the absence of cream. Not complaining though. Less guilt = more in my tummy hehe. Now back to working on my paper.. It’s been raining all day here so I’ve been hibernating ^^. Kona got a haircut and he looks quite handsome yay! Hope you are having a wonderful day!

    • Oh, I’m so glad you and Tim liked it :) Good luck on your paper!! I think rainy weather is perfect for writing and reading.

      How often do you take Kona to the groomers? The only thing we’ve ever done for our Kona is take him to get his nails trimmed once, haha.

      I’m at home with the kids today because both are sick. Poor Malia, she actually fell asleep on the floor while I was playing with Ryan, because she wasn’t feeling good. Luckily, I was able to take off work, and hopefully they will feel better tomorrow! Hope you enjoy the rest of your day, Min :)

Leave a Reply

